Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 922 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,017 reviews
on November 18, 2013
This movie captures your attention from start to finish and is better than the first movie. A must see and I have already pre- ordered it.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2016
Awesome Movie But.......
there is too much profanity in this movie and most of all no one is considering the children. Adult speech should not be spoken in front of children like that. And as for Lance Sullivan he was always swearing but yet lifting up God. people need to know that the Lord is real and you can't get by in life claiming to be something that you're really not. I do admire yes.. That someone decided to bring the Lord into the situation or should I say into the picture but we must always have high regard for him. As one writer said this is not a movie for Christian. I mean Christians can watch this movie but you have to scroll towards the end pass all the foul language and sex talk. Sex talk and foul language should never and I mean never be exploited in front of little children. once you take out the foul language and sex talk the movie is awesomely touching and great. And most of all correct God in the film. if someone is going to be uplifting the Lord.. Then make them A True Believer not just a religious person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2016
A classic comedy-romance-drama film, The Best Man Holiday was far more better than The Best Man, somewhat became more of a Christmas holiday inspirational film. In accordance, to the previous film The Best Man Holiday picks up were it lift off and they used pictures during the introduction to give everyone clarity of what happened over the years. The inspirational parts came from healing old wounds, making time beautiful in the last moments, and sustaining a family of friends while inviting new one's. This film may be one of the greatest African-American films because of the inspiration, comedy and real-life drama it gives. In addition, I love the high definition of the motion picture for they've truly mastered a good picture clarity that looks more natural and the DTS 5.1-HD Master Audio. The actress that they've picked out were very well picked from The Best Man because in current years, Regina Hall, Melissa De Sousa, Monica Calhoun, Na Long, Sanaa Lathan, all still look beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2014
This is truly a remarkable movie with plenty of laughs, pathos, and more than a bit of sadness. All of the characters from the 1999 film "The Best Man," are present and each character has a time to shine in the movie. Terence Howard is very funny and his character shows the most growth from the 1999 original. Monica Calhoun is outstanding as the ill Mother of three children and wife to Morris Chestnut. Several of the characters are going through trials, most of all Taye Diggs character and Sanaa Lathan and Julian (Murch) and wife, Regina Hall. The movie ends on a positive note but there is truly a very sad part towards the end. There is plenty of cattiness and backbiting between the women and the men and it brings a clarity to their personalities and backgrounds. Sanaa Lathan who was not in the first movie as much has a much more pivotal role in this one.

It took 14 years for the Director Malcolm D. Lee to make this sequel but I must say that it was well worth the wait and the actors have grown as stars. What a great ensemble cast. The music in the movie also wonderful. I really enjoyed this movie and it is one that I would watch again and again. A sequel as good as the original. How amazing!

Watch this movie, recommend it to others and watch it with friends and be prepared to laugh a lot and also to cry. Try not to hold back the tears let them flow. Then watch it again. These women look better in their forties then they did in their twenties and thirties. Also the fashions look spectacular.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
The Best Man Holiday movie writer and director Malcolm D. Lee (Spike Lee's cousin) waited 14 years to do a sequel to The Best Man, 1999 of an outrageously fresh comedy of African-American love and backbiting film displaying wit, verve, spark, and surprise. The Best Man Holiday extends portraying character stories and filling in blanks left in the original, The Best Man. Malcolm D. Lee raises the stakes on characters cradling to their bosoms, adding a surprising amount of tragedy with a richer emotional palette. The Best Man Holiday sequel to The Best Man ensues Malcolm D. Lee is a better motion picture writer than well-known Tyler Perry.

The Best Man Holiday stars somewhat black ensemble cast, made with talented and likeable actors such as Taye Diggs, Morris Chestnut, Terrence Howard, Harold Perrineau, Nia Long, Regina Hall, and Sanaa Lathan, Melissa De Sousa, Monica Calhoun, Eddie Cibrian and among others. Lance Sullivan (Morris Chestnut) is now looking toward retirement, while Harper Stewart (Taye Diggs) is getting the boot from his professorship and a flat pan from his publishers in response to his latest manuscript. On top of this, Robyn (Sanaa Lathan), Harper's wife, is eight months pregnant, giving Harper reason to keep her in the dark about his troubles. I enjoyed the goofy rendition of New Edition's "Can You Stand the Rain?" of its fun by treating the cheesy lyrics with a certain measure of sincerity. The scant laughs come courtesy of hedonistic Quentin (Terrence Howard) and Julian Murch (Harold Perrineau), who's dealing with a scandalous online video featuring his wife, Candace (Regina Hall). As with the first film, the men indulge an off-putting jealousy in regard to women's sexual histories that Malcolm D. Lee plainly justifies as naturally masculine, and women on the whole here hardly matter outside of the men they're connected to. Even man-eater Shelby (Melissa De Soussa) is defined by her relationships with Julian (Harold Perrineau), her ex, and Quentin (Terrence Howard), her booty call; Jordan (Nia Long), a powerful businesswoman, is only noticeable for stirring up jealousy over Harper (Taye Diggs) and waiting for her new boyfriend, Brian (Eddie Cibrian) to forgive her. This was a great movie and I hope the next sequel does not take as long as 14 years later because t the end of this film Quentin (Terrence Howard) announced he was getting married.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
I loved the first "Best Man". Yeppers, totally loved it. "Best man's Holiday" brings everyone back with a few extras thrown in. We do get a little deeper into the friendship and relationships or all involved as we are all brought back together for Christmas, friends and foes alike. I won't say what the reason is but we do get a lot of terrific performances form all concerned but....this got way too serious and I love all these characters too much and want them to have fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2014
There are so many teachable moments in this movie. As the wife of a pastor, we see too many of God's people get stuck in life because of unforgiveness. The very candid manner in which emotions are balanced with God, family, and friendship makes this work relatable. It truly is a testimony of God's grace that leaves viewers with hope for overcoming life's most challenging situations. It also reminds us that none of us are best left alone...that we all need to call on God at some point in our lives...and that we must cherish the people He places in our path. And...to top it off, it is also a testimony of how beautifully God preserves and enriches dark skin, as all of the returning cast members are even more beautiful in this film than they were fifteen years ago in The Best Man. Very, very good work! Blessings!!!dck
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
Beautiful movie....commercials at beginning of movie....last 10 minutes sound went from 5 being the best to 2 9 very low volume).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2014
This is the most perfect depiction of unconditional love that I have witnessed on film in a very long time-- That in itself such as is love--makes this film timeless for me.

Love is expressed at its pinnacle between the Creator and the Created, between family--a mother to child, a father to child, between husband and wife, seasoned love--the relationships between friends, new love--the relationship between man and woman and the acceptance of new friends; there is love of life, love of the gifts of life, and while there are certainly trials--various storms that initially upset the balance of peace, at the close of the day, the one resounding truth is love--
Love that bares all, endures all, gives all, believes in all, and forgives all--unconditional love.

I thoroughly enjoyed this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2014
also a good movie ..but I find hard to understand, and i am not saying prosperity is not good or a college education is not important..It is and should be for all our children and for those of us out there who can ...I am saying that life is still sweet and delicious noo matter what your education level or income level. I don't see the regular every day family portrayed in these black movies..Instead i see that everyone has to play the part of a lawyer or a doctor or a "successful business person"..so what about the rest of us out there...I do see a new movie out now The Single Moms club...That to me is a good movie showing every day life...Lets see some more like those..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse