Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Prophets of Rage PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 57 reviews
on January 19, 2016
The stories are wonderful, but the production of the book quality is extremely poor, as though it were photocopied. Barely any typesetting at all, no table of contents, stories run together so tightly you have to hunt to find them, the text is so small you need a magnifying glass. I would not purchase from this seller again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2016
The font used for this book is as small as I have ever seen a book printed. A large black-box warning should have accompanied this offering. Without a magnifying glass, the book is un-readable. BTW, I have very good vision but will not chance losing it by squinting at this script.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
I love Russian Literature. There stories are full of philosophy, religion, psychology, drama, comedy, everything. Some of the deepest, most intellectually challenging works you can read. This collection has some greats and not so greats. Love prety much anything Gogol and Turgenev wrote. Has works by most of the greats --- Pushkin, Gogol, Turgenev, Dostoyevsky, Tolstoy, Saltykov, Korolenko, Garshin, Chekov, Sologub, Potapenko, Semyonov, Gorky, Andreyev, Artzybashev,and Kuprin. Missing some greats and selections are not always the ones I would have chosen. Worth a read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2015
opens the world of lit to you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2017
nyet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2011
I thoroughly enjoy the writing style of Russian literature of the 19th-century along with their artful use of our language. While there is an element of foreboding and deprivation, within the story there lies a rich cross-section of characters that transcend the stark landscape in which they reside. Language is deftly crafted in presenting compelling adventures that linger far beyond the last pages. The time frame in which these stories are told also lends a delightful flavor and charm as details are illustrated with such clarity that they become familiar to the times. It is a pleasant journey and one I highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2015
Most are good, some are mediocre. I particularly liked a short story about a lady trying to get a dress for a gala event, and wants the local taylor to copy the dress that her "friend" got in Paris. The description of a dress, half a page long, is adorable. It brings home globalization, and how the internet helps (does it?) w bringing home the latest fashions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
A few classics appear in this collection (Pushkin, Gogol, Chekhov) but otherwise a number of the later stories feel more like fragments of longer works than stories that can exist fully on their own. Occasional typographic problems don't help. If you are new to Russian literature, you can start here---but don't stop; there is much more to explore.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2014
I have read many of these stories before, but added it to my Kindle because it is nice to have collections of short stories to read while traveling. The translation in this book is OK, but does not make the stories sparkle as other translations (and I am assuming the original writings) do. BTW, Gogol's "The Cloak" is actually his well known "The Overcoat". See? Just that...

But it was free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2011
A great collection of Russian short stories. I happened to read all of them in Russian as well, and can say that this collection contains very good translations. Great value all around.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here