<Embed>
Buy used:
$10.00
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon or get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Bnservices
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Library pre-owned. Some wear is present but in good condition. Ships direct from Amazon.
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Betrayal of Trust: A Simon Serailler Mystery Hardcover – November 10, 2011

4.3 out of 5 stars 370 ratings
Book 6 of 10: Simon Serrailler Mystery

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$10.00
$22.99 $5.89

"Girl Gone Mad" by Avery Bishop
They say everything is fun and games until someone gets hurt. Well, someone did—and now the game has changed… | Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Compelling...Fans and newcomers to Hill's series (The Vows of Silence, 2009, etc.) will appreciate the characters' deep humanity." — Kirkus

"The updated plotlines of the cathedral town's residents will be part of the fun attached to watching Serrailler and his crew solve the two mysteries...this series has many devotees, who find in the enigmatic Serrailler the same appealing mix of intelligence and sensitivity that characterizes P. D. James' Adam Dalgliesh." — Booklist

"Not all great novelists can write crime fiction, but when one like Susan Hill does it, the result is stunning." - -Ruth Rendell

"Thoughtful mysteries...elegant prose." — The New York Times Book Review

"It's the intelligence of this brooding series that rivets a reader's attention." — Maureen Corrigan, Washington Post

"Eagerly awaited by all aficionados of crime fiction." — P.D. James

"If you like your crime fiction with strong overtones of serious literature, look no further than Hill . . . Some suspense novels are demonstrably character-driven and some are plot-driven, while others are atmospheric and haunting. Hill manages to combine all of those elements seamlessly, not favoring one over the other, all the while imbuing her narrative with a social conscience rarely displayed in genre fiction . . . As I wrote of Hill in a review of The Various Haunts of Men (2007): 'Fans of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell can rest easy, knowing that those authors' tradition of fine storytelling will move forward at least one more generation.' I stand by that 100 percent." — Bookpage (November 2011), Top Pick in Mystery

“Hill knows how to keep those pages turning.” — Chicago Sun-Times

"The Betrayal of Trust by Susan Hill is a superb mystery." — San Francisco Book Review

About the Author

Susan Hill’s novels and short stories have won the Whitbread Book, Somerset Maugham, and John Llewellyn Rhys Awards and the Yorkshire Post Book of the Year and have been shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. The play adapted from her famous ghost novel, The Woman in Black, has been running in the West End since 1989.

Product details

  • Item Weight : 1.35 pounds
  • Hardcover : 368 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1590202805
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1590202807
  • Dimensions : 6.34 x 1.22 x 9.27 inches
  • Reading level : 18 and up
  • Publisher : Harry N. Abrams; First Edition (November 10, 2011)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 370 ratings

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
370 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on June 2, 2012
Verified Purchase
22 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 31, 2017
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 19, 2011
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

ChrisT
4.0 out of 5 stars a lot of loose threads................
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 4, 2020
Verified Purchase
Ellie Hasard
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many themes - overall lack of balance
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 6, 2018
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Sandradan1
4.0 out of 5 stars A thought-provoking drama about the bonds between us
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 25, 2015
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
The Cosmic Whelk
3.0 out of 5 stars highly unsatisfying ending!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 29, 2013
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
MistyMoo
3.0 out of 5 stars The Betrayal of Trust
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 9, 2012
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Report abuse