Buying Options

Kindle Price: $4.99

Save $11.51 (70%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Beyond the Cliff and Courage by [Vanessa Bettencourt]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Beyond the Cliff and Courage Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 20 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$4.99

Virtual experiences for $15 or less
Amazon Explore Browse now

From the Publisher

adventure, fantasy, journey, novel, black & white illustrations, action, coming of age, good vs evil

With more than 150 illustrations

Illustrated journey of a large cast of characters and their adventures. It includes fully illustrated pages, half pages, inserts, and an appendix with Valia's collection of attacks and poses at the end of the book.

adventure, fantasy, journey, novel, black & white illustrations, action, coming of age, good vs evil

Black and White Illustrations

black and white half page and insert illustration on epic fantasy novel

Characters & Location

full spread black and white illustrations

Battle & Action Scenes

humor, spider, ninja, fighter, epic fantasy, coming of age novel

Appendix

Editorial Reviews

Review

Awarded 5 Stars by Readers' Favorite"

Reviewed By Kristine Zimmerman for Readers' Favorite

"Beyond the Cliff and Courage, written and illustrated by Vanessa Bettencourt, is an epic adventure. The story takes place in the Wild Lands which is the land of all sorts of bugs. We meet Aion, a young bug who is determined to run away during the festival celebrating his father. Things don't quite go as planned, and the menacing spiders show up and kidnap one of his closest friends. Aion is determined to rescue her and bravely starts on his way. As with any good adventure story, there are twists and turns along the way. He meets numerous creatures who both help and hinder him. He also learns that what began as a rescue mission has turned into something even more important. The story culminates in an epic battle. Will Aion and his companions survive?

Beyond the Cliff and Courage is an engrossing action story filled with interesting characters. It also serves as a coming-of-age story for our young bug Aion, who slowly recognizes who he is and what he can accomplish. Vanessa Bettencourt has included multiple illustrations throughout the book that greatly enhance the story. Each of her many characters is fully realized and brings added depth to this fantasy world. I love the humor that is included as well, especially with Sly the Snail. Fans of The Warriors and Redwall will love immersing themselves in the world of the Wild Lands. Beyond the Cliff and Courage is an enjoyable read, and might even make you appreciate bugs, even spiders, a little bit more."

From the Author

42 Chapters of an exciting adventure200 black and white illustrations to keep you company

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07MHFRSRL
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Violet West Entertainment; 1st edition (December 31, 2018)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ December 31, 2018
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 8455 KB
  • Simultaneous device usage ‏ : ‎ Unlimited
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 327 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 20 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Vanessa Bettencourt is the author, illustrator and comic creator of the biographical webcomic series Notfrombrazil. She's also the author and illustrator of the following graphic and fantasy novels.

Polly and the Black Ink Volume 1- 5 (completed)

Titans Island: Sally's Quests

Middle-Grade Novel: Beyond the Cliff & Courage

With a Masters of Arts and a Master of Science of Education Vanessa has dedicated her life to studying Portuguese and English Literature, writing and illustrating.

Official illustrator of Heir of Scars series by Jacob Falling.

Born in Lisbon, Portugal, Vanessa moved to the U.S where she now lives in Chicago by the lake with her husband Jacob Falling.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
20 global ratings
5 star
81%
4 star
10%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star
9%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on September 5, 2020
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Brave little one
By Without a name on September 5, 2020
There is something special about being able to see things through the eyes of a child. My daughter and I read this book together during mommy/daughter time, and it was enlightening to see how her 9 year old mind soaked up a story, and what she gathered from it. How she was able to tell me at the end, "You see mom, we can't be afraid to be brave." I laughed because when did her little mind develop to a stage that she finds meaning in stories? This book is fun at any age, but it was more special now because I was able to share it with my own special little person.
I love how Aion set off on an adventure that settled fear in his little mind, yet he was able face that fear and touch others in ways that would teach him that he is much bigger than what eyes have the ability to see. I couldn't have read this book at a better time in my life, and during a time that so many things are in question. This is a must read, or at least a nice gift to give to a little one to soak in.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
Reviewed in the United States on October 31, 2020
Reviewed in the United States on September 20, 2020
Reviewed in the United States on March 11, 2019
Reviewed in the United States on December 29, 2018
Reviewed in the United States on January 27, 2019
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Go Beyond the Cliff!
By Kindle Customer on January 27, 2019
I am absolutely adoring this book already! You can instantly see Aion's plight. And you want to root for this little bug. The story is captivating and Vanessa really pays attention to the details. With pictures nearly on every page my kids can't wait to see the next. Amazing job with this story, we cannot wait to see where it leads!
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer imageCustomer imageCustomer image
Reviewed in the United States on January 23, 2019
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and beautifully illustrated!
By Katie - PinkPolish Design on January 22, 2019
I got this book for my daughter for Christmas, and it did not disappoint. The story itself is well written and compelling. A bonus are the fantastic illustrations sprinkled throughout the book. Not only did my 11 year old daughter love it, I confess I read it cover to cover as well. I highly recommend.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer imageCustomer image
Reviewed in the United States on December 28, 2020

Top reviews from other countries

wCow
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun adventure with great characters
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 23, 2019
Becks
5.0 out of 5 stars A really great book for young readers.
Reviewed in Germany on August 9, 2020
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars A really great book for young readers.
Reviewed in Germany on August 9, 2020
A really great book for young readers with beautiful pictures painted by the author herself.

The story has a very good pacing and the chapters are a good length for young readers, so they can enjoy the book but by bit, if they want to. The illustrations help a lot to imagine the different bug-Charakters, even if some of them are not the most well nown bugs.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
Mafalda
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
Reviewed in Spain on April 28, 2019
Prakrathi
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for everyone
Reviewed in India on August 12, 2020
Patri
5.0 out of 5 stars La historia es genial
Reviewed in Spain on April 30, 2019
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?