Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 29 reviews
on January 27, 2011
I have given a copy of this book to Lay Leaders in the church to read and review. They have been impacted by it and we have begun a program in the church modeled after the book and fashioned for our particular small congregation. A Lay Leader in charge has developed a training program for committed team members of the "Welcome Wagon." As a pastor I am excited because the book puts practical steps within reach that will help us keep guests who come to church, especially from our mailings. Our congregation is mostly blue collar and is under 100 in attendance but this has potential for all shapes and sizes as it impacts the sociological perspectives of Laypeople regarding their church. It is like having a consultant talk to you for the price of a book. Blessings!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2016
It's been great for leading a discussion with our hospitality committee. Not everything in the book will be applicable, feasible or aligned with your vision, but it does force you to take a serious look at how welcoming your church actually is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2017
Basic and readable, it's a fine background book for church leaders at all levels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2008
I would definitely recommend Beyond the First Visit to those looking to systematically think through their process of welcoming & inviting new comers into your church community.

GOOD- It is comprehensive in scope, full of helpful ideas and information, and forces you to ask very helpful questions in a systematic fashion. It will fill your head with ideas and help you see how one set of ideas leads to another.

NEEDS WORK- Internet, email, SMS, Facebook- all these sorts of new technologies are largely untapped in McIntosh's practical examples. If you are familiar with these, McIntosh's framework will still likely give you many good ideas that you can adapt to these technologies. It is also not as aware as we need to be of not only the "Emergent Church", but even more of the general mindset of postmodern adults and how their attitudes would lead you to modify some of what McIntosh presents.

IMPORTANT CONSIDERATIONS- Be aware of your theological convictions and framework - e.g. on evangelism, nature of man, the Sovereignty of God, nature of the church, etc. - before you get too far into this book. This is not a theological work; it is a practical one. But all practice is controlled by theology, and if you are not thoughtful in reading this book, you can end up with a very man-centered, self-reliant approach to "assimilation" and church growth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2011
The book, Beyond the First Visit was good reading and with such clarity. It is good for us as a young congregation to prepare ourselves not only in a spirit-filled way, but professionally as well. We desire to be a people of excellence, and these guidelines has established a solid method whereby we can put into practice. We are excited to see the result of what God is going to do on our behalf.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2016
excellent quality and prompt delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2008
This book really makes you think about what you and/or are not doing at your church. We go through "church" without really thinking about guests/visitors. We often treat people like visitors - thanks for coming, come again if you want, but you're not really part of the "family". We should treat them like guests - we want them and want them to come back and most importantly, we want them to become part of the family.

The book makes you look at your church with new lenses.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2016
Well written, informative, common sense after you read it,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2015
This is an excellent book that addresses the importance of greeting church visitors warmly and how to be more effective in that process.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2015
Gift for my pastor but I am happy with the speed and ease in which I received.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here