Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Beyond the Grave (The 39 Clues , Book 4)
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$9.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 8, 2009
The Cahill siblings are at it again - this time in Egypt. Mysterious clues are hidden in some of the most famous tombs in all of history, but danger still abounds. This time around, though, Dan and Amy have some help from an old friend of Grace Cahill's - or do they?? This is the best book yet of the series.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2014
My favorite in the entire 39 Clues series so far. I love the educational adventure that these books bring for kids. I'm quite fascinated with Egypt's history, and since Amy and Dan Cahill find themselves in Egypt for this volume, I was happy to be reading this book. Although it doesn't come from from a Christian perspective exactly, this particular book infused something Christian-related into the plot---VERY, very good, Jude Watson!

Now, there may have been a comment or two that I didn't quite enjoy in the story, but it all must be taken in stride. It will be a while before I read another 39 Clues book that excites me as much as this one!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2016
I loved the riveting excitement in this installment of the series! My only tiny if not minuscule complaint was that Nellie (the au pair) kept disappearing & would just pop back up at random times with Saladin the cat. Overall I can't wait to read the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2011
Putting in CDs while my students read along individually has made leveled reading possible in a class of readers from 1st-9th grade levels. They are exposes to higher level vocabulary with correct pronunciation as well as modeled fluent reading. The multi- tasking of decoding and comprehension is gone and they experience success with reading(sometimes for the first time ever). Just make sure they have a book an ate following along.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2012
I'm impressed by these 39 Clues books thus far. Usually, a breakneck pace involves some sacrifice of plot and characterization but that hasn't proven to be the case so far. In addition the educational aspects of the series, the historical people and the exotic settings, have been so deftly integrated into the plot that the reader never feels lectured to.

I am also impressed by the talents of the authors so far. Each author has managed to keep everyone perfectly in character while maintaining their own peculiar authorial "voice". Very well done.

In this book, we visit various Egyptian locales in search of clues. Throughout the book the themes of loyalty and betrayal are explored. The Holts and the Kabras get the book "off" this time out. The main Cahill adversary this time is Irina but Jonah and Alistair make appearances while the mysterious Madrigals come into play.

One curious point: a clue left by Katherine Cahill involves half a gram of something. The gram is a metric measure that wasn't devised until well after Katherine's time. Is this a slip up by the authors or a "meta clue" of some sort? It will be interesting to see how this plays out.

Highly recommended. If you can't get your children into these books it's hard to imagine what books they could get into.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2015
Why I like this book is because of Dan's great sense of humor, Nellie's funny Scottish accent, and Amy's way to get out of things. Other than that, great book. People need to remember that every book can be good. I started this series thinking," I wonder what this would be like." So this series led me back to Rick Riordan and some other authors that I am waiting to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
This is the fourth book of the 39 clues series. In this book, Amy and Dan head for Egypt, with their au pair Nellie Gomez, to find a clue, hidden by Ekaterina founder, Katherine Cahill. They were tailed by Irina Spasky but escape to a store with an Egyptian goddess statue, the Sakhet. There, a man, Theo Cotter, shows up and convinces them it's a fake. Discouraged, they go back to Nellie. We find out how loyal Irina is to Amy and Dan when she saves them when Jonah puts them in danger.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
My 5 star rating is based on watching students read this book in the classroom. They love the story and try to read the book any time they have a free moment from doing regular classwork! As a teacher, I am always happy to see students reading which allows the mind to imagine the scene by using their imagination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2013
I think the book was a nice book. It had many things pulling you in, and so much action! I also like the secrets, betrayal, and mystery. Also, in the book, they start to find things out about Grace Cahill... (I will not spoil!)

Overall, when this book was over, I was begging for more!!!!!! Buy THE BOOK!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2016
A very nice focus on Egyptian history and powerful female figures. Could make an archaeologist a bit twitchy, since a recurring issue is damage to artifacts. But overall, you should be pretty interested in this book. While, of course, the Cahill history is falsified, and the sites arennot entirely accurate, Watson does a good job researching the actual people involved, so that should be a good starting point for research, if your child gets interested.

These books are a bit of fluff, not being too serious, but the main appeal is how they interest children in reading, and can possibly lead to their own research. Just let them keep going until they find something that fixes their attention.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse