Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Beyond Our Differences
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
77
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 20, 2009
Mr.Bill Moyers continues to be the moral and intellectual light of our times in journalism in all its forms. His essays are brilliant and giving of hope. He is impartial and a most reasonable, objective and honest person. I recommend his writings and programs wholeheartedly and without reservations.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2008
This film ran on Bill Moyers Journal on 26 Dec. 2008...a remarkable film that focuses upon the idea that religion(s) and mankind should make an effort to realize that all religions and peoples have much in common, and good reason to explore the positive likes and ignore the negative dislikes that cause wars and so very much suffering. The world would certainly be a much better, more positive place if this could be put into practice.
22 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2012
This video brings together the core beliefs of every major religion, showing the similarities and peaceful qualities of each. This knowledge allows you to feel more comfortable and even drawn towards different cultures and religions. We are all one, yet we are all unique. Follow the Golden Rule and you have satisfied all of life.

If you were thinking about watching this video, I urge you to risk the 70 mins of your time. You will reap much more than the time sowed.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2013
I loved this film; it cuts through common misunderstanding across faith communities. The Word of God, from many Holy Books, was skillfully used to affirm the common main teachings of all revealed religions: we are here to build love and unity among all people, not to use religion as a wedge to divide us.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2016
There are a lot of ways to be different in this world. This video looks primarily at religious differences and gives some excellent insights into how many religions are the same or similar, and continues beyond that to offer reasons and insights into why differences of thought and practice should not lead us to be killing each other, or even hating and misunderstanding. If you aren't familiar with other religions, their practices, and people from other lands, this film is a great introduction, or a good step in continuing your journey toward enlightenment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2015
Great video espoising the notion that all religions contain glimpses of God and are equal in many ways. Favorite quote from a Muslim cleric: A man went to look for God; First, he went to the church and did not find him there. Then, he went to the synagogue and didnot find him there. Then, he went to the mosque and did not find him there. Then, he went home and found God in his own heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
In a world torn by strife, this remarkable movie illustrates the beliefs, moralities and virtues that are commonly embraced by the world's prevalent religious ideologies. Therefore, if we are truly people who desire peace (no matter who "we" are), we are challenged to see one another through a lens that focuses on our similarities of needs and purpose. All politicians, regardless of party or governmental system, would benefit from exposure to this film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2014
A decent movie. The main premise can be boiled down to a few sentences. For religious or new age folks, more may likely be derived from the movie, but for a humanist and skeptic like myself, my time would have been better spent elsewhere. It would've been nice to see a humanist interviewed with all of the religious and new age people too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2012
This is both an interesting and intriguing film on the role of religion in many venues from a global perspective. The problems every society faces are brought together in this extensive production where people from a wide variety of backgrounds explore, debate and attempt to bring together the nature of being human in these difficult times where economic,cultural, political and even religious differences often collide. Kudos, once again to The Bill Moyers Journal series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2012
I watched this for the first time today. You should. Generation after generation everyone should as a reminder that we can co-create a world that strives for love, peace and compassion. Will our world ever be perfect? No. Should that stop us? No, not ever. If you have hope, then watch this. If you feel hopeless, then watch this. Whatever you feel, think or believe...please watch this. And please ask folks you know to watch it, then pass the message on. Let's live the message. We can do this. We must do this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.99

Need customer service? Click here