Shop Auto Winter Products Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. PCB for Musical Instruments $24.99 for a limited time only Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Three new members of the Echo family Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Just Dance 2018 Shop Now HTL17_gno



on October 6, 2011
Steve Hackett is amazing. The man has had a career resurgence in the 2000's that continues with "Beyond the Shrouded Horizon" This 2 disc set contains a wide variety-vocal & instrumental pieces, rockers, acoustic numbers, atmospheric numbers...the fact that he is still writing & releasing new material on a regular basis that is high quality and for almost 40 years, while most of his contemporaries only rehash the old...it certainly vindicates his decision to leave Genesis.
His electric guitar soloing is also more aggressive and flashier (in a good sense) than ever and his music continues to explore new horizons. He is the definition of a progressive rocker!
And the addition of Vocalist/guitarist Amanda Lehmann has brought about a quantum leap in the vocal harmonies the past 2 albums. And Steve's lead vocals are stronger than they've ever been.
Standouts for me include the fiery opening track "Lock Lomond" (not the folk standard); the bluesy "Catwalk", with an impassioned lead vocal & amazing guitar work; the epic "Turn This Island Earth", the Middle Eastern vibe of the instrumental "Two Faces of Cairo". And also a stronger version of an old favorite-"Reconditioned Nightmare"
Steve Hackett may have started with Genesis but he's turned into a Revelation.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2011
after about 30 seconds, I knew I was listening to Steve Hackett, and it felt good. After about 3 minutes, my excitement levels were rising. It sounded like this might be a great Steve Hackett CD. After 30 minutes, I was listening to more than just a Classic Steve Hackett CD. This was something special, and I was salivating. By the end, It was over too soon and I had to listen again.

This CD seems to bring the many sides of Steve's musical nature together like never before. Lush sounds, compelling rock and rhythms, beautiful harmonies, guitars that soar, and guitars that leave one's soul at rest, all woven together so seamlessly and beautifully. This sounds like not only an artist at his best, but a man who has found himself, at peace and at home. There is just so much joy and enthusiasm for life shining through here.

As good as Out of the Tunnels Mouth was, this is easily my favourite Hackett experience in years, if not ever. As many of his contemporaries struggle to be creative, it's hard to imagine that he could improve on this, but one now suspects that he can and will. Thanks Steve.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
I wasn't sure about this at first. I played the first few tracks and because it wasn't Genesis circa 1973, i dismissed it and left it on the shelf for a few weeks. Then I decided to give it another chance and put the whole thing on in the background while i was reading a book (Spring Snow by Yukio Mishima) and the music just came to life. It is a modern recording but don't let that put you off. it is wonderfully melodic with some incredible guitar technique (as you would expect). It reminded me a bit of On An Island by David Gilmour, only more varied and interesting. The whole album kind of reminds me of a travelogue and kind of whisks you off on a trip around the world. Mine has the bonus CD too, although I find this less interesting, with one track sounding identical to Peter Green's Supernatural (was this a cover? who knows?). Any way, if you aren't sure if Hackett can still Hack It, then think again and listen to this wonderful slice of prog!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
Je suis ravi: je viens de découvrir le nouveau groupe SQUACKETT (Chris Squire & Steve Hackett) et leur excellent premier CD "A Life Within a Day": il contient 3 morceaux que j'adore "Tall Ships", "Sea of Smiles" et "Aliens". Un album que je ne me lasse pas d'écouter.
Poussant plus loin mes recherches, je me suis ensuite offert le très agréable double album de Steve Hackett "Out of the Tunnel's Mouth" (Chris Squire y joue aussi de la basse sur 2 morceaux), un album qui contient des morceaux fabuleux comme "Emerald and Ash" (Anthony Philips à la guitare acoustique pour ce morceau), "Blood of the Rooftops", "Firth of Fith", "Every Star in the Night Sky".
Sur ces deux albums, Roger King seconde à merveille Steve Hackett. Roger King réalise un excellent travail aux claviers et aux arrangements musicaux, meilleur à mon goût que Nick Magnus. J'avais aussi aimé autrefois l'album "Cured".
Maintenant j'attends avec impatience le CD "Beyond the Shrouded Horizon". J'ai écouté la plupart des morceaux par Internet. Il s'agit d'un double album génial. Steve Hackett est aujourd'hui à l'aise aux vocaux. On trouve sur ce double album du sitar sur un morceau du premier CD, de superbes instrumentaux sur le second CD et la présence de Chris Squire sur plusieurs morceaux. Et bien sûr, Steve Hackett est une fois de plus exceptionnel à la guitare.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2011
I just received this album and am overjoyed. Hackett's classical influences are brought to a bright and meaningful modern light. As expected, the guitar work is impeccable, as is his vocal clarity and shine. Chris Squire's bass gives a reminder of Yes at their best. Numerous classical instruments such as cello, flutes, sax ond other instruments help give a timeless air. There are also Egyptian influences which help provide a rich variety to the double disc. The brief liner notes add to the pleasure and help place the pieces in a geographical context. Play this one LOUD as the mastering encourages the complete absorption of the listener into Hackett's dreams, visions and observations without losing sound quality (head phones are probably a good idea).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2012
Steve Hackett is amazing to me, year after year he continues to put out excellent music yet is sadly overlooked by most of the mainstream. Those still pining for the days of old, when Hackett was a member of Genesis, really need to check out the music he is doing today. In the past decade Steve has released some of the best music of his entire career, and "Beyond The Shrouded Horizon" is yet another stellar release that shows the that the 60 plus year old guitarist is still at the top of his game. This two disc set explores all of the many nuances of Steve's repertoire. Progressive rock, blues, straight ahead rock n roll, ballads, orchestral movements, it is all here. Steve continues to push himself and not rest on his laurels. He has once again put together a top notch band along with several high profile guests. The music is stellar with vocals and lyrics to match. This is another 5 star gem from a man who should have a much higher profile.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2011
This is an extremely enjoyable cd! The music covers many genres with instrumental and vocal tracks. While I wasn't a huge fan of Steve's singing at first, he's definitely improved alot, and this cd shows how well he's progressed in that area. As a guitar player, he's one of the best and his tell tale sound is featured throughout. Roger King's keyboards are also prominent and he's tremendous, as usual! This is a very enjoyable cd! Make sure you get the edition with the bonus disc as it features six new songs along with one of my favorites, "re"(air)conditioned nightmare! Most excellent and highly recommended!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2013
I'm not really sure why any Progressive Rock fan or Steve Hackett fan wouldn't like this album. Yes, he exhibits several different styles on the album and the songs sometimes change mood and pace abruptly, but the overall arch of his talent cannot be denied. So I guess most of the criticism of this release is about it's eclectic nature; most people seeming to crave some kind of singularity in theme. But IMO, Steve Hackett is one of the best guitarist, songwriters on the planet; so just go with that thought and don't worry about the construction of the vehicle, simply marvel in it's eloquence and handling.

Beyond the Shrouded Horizon is a winner!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2014
If you love Hackett you'll love this CD. Incredible guitar as usual. He is just amazing. Shook his hand once and was amazed by his long fingers. I have everything he has ever played on. His vocals have improved. One of the greatest signature guitarists ever! He playing style is like no one else. Love his acoustic guitar playing and he's also great on harmonica. Huge Fan
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2013
I have been a fan of Steve Hackett since he left Genesis. I have most of his work and my favorites include his classical guitar work. But I also love the rock on Spectral Mornings and the blues on faces. This album has it all, and it seems to be tied together like a theme. Another reviewer said to listen all the way through several times. I finally did and it was on the third time that it came together. A place called freedom is one of my favorites, but I cant say there's a bad number on the whole CD. This is an amazing piece of music that cover several genres. Add to that the fact that he is one of the best guitarists of our time and you have a sure bet.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here