Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 98 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 147 reviews
on May 26, 2014
As I've come to expect from Yancey, this book is well worth the time to read it. I do feel that the title is a little misleading. It sounds like it would be more of a historical look at the Scriptures during the first century, but it's actually a set of brief studies of selected books/sections of the OT. The way he does it, though, sets this book apart from other books of a similar nature. Yancey takes a look at some of the parts of the OT that are more often overlooked or neglected, most notably are Ecclesiastes and the Prophets. This book helps to give a different perspective of some challenging Scriptures which allows for a better understanding of them. I actually wish it were a bit longer so as to cover a little more ground. Overall, it's a good addition to your bible study library.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2017
This is an enjoyable read, but it's not an analytical discussion of the Bible, it's more of an autobiographical look at the author's own thoughts and experiences from his studies. Some interesting insights make it worth the time. Please note: Amazon has not listed this accurately. The MP3 audio book I received was ABRIDGED and read by the author himself, so it has only a 3-hour run time, which was disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2017
I wasn't sure what to expect from this book. But without a doubt i have gained some insight and a perspective of the Bible that Jesus read. I would recommend this to anyone who has struggled reading the old testament...which I have and still do.. but with this new perspective I have a new way of reading it. Enjoy!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2016
This book is a "must read" for anyone who is serious about understanding the Bible and their personal relationship with the living God Triune. Thank you Philip Yancey for another easy to read yet powerfull insight into God's involvement with the crown of His creation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2016
Yancey addresses the struggles Bible readers face in the Old Testament with candid honesty and the deep understanding of a scholar who has studied these books thoroughly. He brings the reader along with him in his experience of gaining greater understanding and vision. He does this all as a master teacher who cares deeply for people and who loves the Author of these Scriptures. I have never read anything more helpful for understanding the challenging parts of the Bible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2016
Great, easy read book. Loved it because it gives more insightful thoughts to my "least favorite" books of the bible. It really has me digging deeper in God word and it causes me to take another look at books of the bible I thought I didn't care for. Definitely a good book if you want to grow more in God Word and want a clear understanding of the certain books in the bible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2017
This guide to reading the Old Testament is an essential part of a bible studenr's library. Philip Yancey points out the relevancy of passages that fleshes out the references to OT writings that appear in the epistles of the New Testament. Bringing to life in a fresh manner does enhance one's bible study.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2016
Provides an excellent understanding of why the OT is important to us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2017
Philip Yancey is one of the finest writers out there today...I have read everything he has written..."The Bible Jesus Read" is a great look at the OT in a fresh light..So If you are like many who don't open the pages of the OT often this book is a great read...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2015
Loved going through the psalms with Yancey and other portions - he just brings out all the thoughts I've had while trying to "get into" the Psalms. He takes you along his journey,a style of teaching, writing, and preaching I realize I love.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse