Industrial Deals Beauty Silent Corner STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 76 reviews
on February 24, 2017
This is a smaller (7inch, 2Lbs.) BHS, Editio quarta emendata by Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft, 1990. Nice tan cover with beautiful cream-color pages and readable smaller font. I purchased this used copy because it was only $22 and small. Though pre-owned, it was flawless. Shipper UPSed package, and USPS did final delivery. I was glad to receive it in only five days.
Previously, I had bought the bigger BHS, which. comes with large font, but my backpack filled up rapidly and got heavier; Having to carry many books, including Kelley's large Biblical Hebrew Grammar, I needed a smaller BHS with a decent size, readable font, which I could easily carry and read on the go. This was it.
The footnotes are small but I can still read them. The format is clean and clear. I am trully satisfied.
review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2008
BHS is a scholarly edition of the Hebrew Bible, also known as the Christian Old Testament. The text is based on the Leningradis codex. It contains pointed Hebrew text with cantilations, masora parva with references to masora magna, masora finalis and critical apparatus. The critical apparatus notes textual variations from all major and significant manuscripts. The introductory chapter has a pretty good discussion of the text and various editions. It's all very useful and handy, making this edition the best value in a single package.

It is definitely the text of choice for scholars. It's scholarly content should not detract from student's or a lay reader's experience. The size of the book is standard for text critical editions like Aland's New Testament, LXX, Vulgata or others. Some folks like large fonts for their reading, but that should not be a problem either. BHS has pretty decent size font, except of course for masora parva and the critical apparatus where the fonts are pretty small. But the text itself is pretty reasonable size and readable. I personally rarely read from the book itself, but copy the passages I want to study (either 1:1 or sometimes enlarged) and then take notes on the copied pages. So I would recommend people who need large fonts to do the same. But I would definitely recommend this edition of the Hebrew Bible to anyone. It's a must.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2008
For students and scholars of the Old Testament and Biblical Hebrew, this book is essential for furthering one's personal knowledge and understanding. This is the revised Babylonian text of the Masoretes, considered to be the definitive and one of the more accurate collection of the OT Biblical texts, complete with accurate vowel pointing as well as various notes and study helps (Though you will need to know some Greek and Latin to be able fully utilize these). The text is rather easy to read with moderately sized font. As far as size and weight are considered, it is fairly light and comes in a small portable size. Now, here is the main catch: The binding appears to be very secure, but it is actually very prone to fall apart if not taken care of properly. Dropping it is not a good idea and if a person needs to carry it around in a back pack, make sure that it is placed securely so the spine will not be rendered crooked by other items in the bag(this will prove fatal for your BHS' cover if these measure are not properly taken). It is probably better to carry in a small book back or satchel than a back pack, as my Hebrew professor suggested to me (his fell apart).

Aside from that last draw back, this edition of the Hebrew Bible is a must have for scholars and is an excellent resource for Hebraic studies.
22 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2016
I'm an old person and the print is so small I had to get a magnifier to read it! Ha! I'm just learning Hebrew and I wanted a Hebrew Bible. This was recommended as the best one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2009
There may be another Hebrew Bible available than this one, but I am not aware of it; I know that there is a wide-margin edition that has come out recently, but the font-size remains the same as in the narrow-margin version I have. The marginalia are in what looks like about 6-point!! Considering that the diacritical marks for the consonants are already themselves sometimes difficult to identify without getting the book a half-inch from your face, a magnifying glass would be an excellent investment when purchasing this book. Other than that criticism, this is a beautiful book and it is a beautiful thing to be able to read these biblical books in Hebrew.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2016
It's the Bible. Amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2015
It is as advertised...Hebrew Bible for people who can read Hebrew or is studying Hebrew. :}
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
I bought this for a Hebrew class and ended up using it as a main text for a few other Old Testament classes. The print is small-ish but easily read. Beautiful binding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2013
This is as close to the original copies that are available today. It is just indescribable having the purist form of the Word of God in my hands. Awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse