Buy New
& FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Big Brother Is Watching Y... has been added to your Cart
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: IMS Distribution
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Big Brother Is Watching You: CBS Records Anthology Import

3.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, February 8, 2011
"Please retry"
$10.80 $24.99

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream millions of songs FREE with Amazon Prime. Start your free trial.
$25.49 & FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews

UK two CD anthology by the legendary Ladbroke Grove underground act. Formed in 1969, Skin Alley were part of the infamous Clearwater stable that included fellow acts such as Hawkwind, High Tide and Trees. Skin Alley's infectious fusion of Jazz and Rock was suited to the time and the band became a regular attraction on the underground festival and concert circuit. This anthology includes all tracks from their first and second albums, plus the entire unreleased Stop Veruschka! Soundtrack. Remastered from the original master tapes, Big Brother Is Watching You is a fine tribute to one of Britain's greatest underground acts of the early 1970s. Esoteric.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Living in Sin
  2. Tell Me
  3. Mother, Please Help Your Child
  4. Marsha
  5. Country Aire
  6. All Alone
  7. Night Time
  8. Concerto Grosso (Take Heed)
  9. (Going Down the) Highway
  10. Better Be Blind
  11. Tell Me (Single Version)
  12. Shower Music
  13. Sofa, Taxi and Sand Themes
  14. Cemetery Scene
  15. First Drug Scene
  16. Big Brother Is Watching You
  17. Take Me to Your Leader's Daughter
  18. Walking in the Park
  19. The Queen of Bad Intentions
  20. Sweaty Betty
  21. Easy to Lie
  22. Russian Boogaloo
  23. Skin Valley Serenade
  24. Sun Music
  25. Bird Music
  26. Snow Music

Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 8, 2011)
  • Imported ed. edition
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Esoteric
  • ASIN: B004EK3KS6
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #430,895 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Stuart Jefferson TOP 100 REVIEWER on May 16, 2014
Verified Purchase
Skin Alley came out of that late 60's Ladbroke Grove/free concert/people's band era. They were an underground/progressive band possibly in the truest sense. Miles away from Yes/ELP/Moody Blues/Colosseum/etc., their sometimes moody, jazzy, atmospheric music, combined with pretty strong vocals, was certainly idiosyncratic but not off-putting in the least. Skin Alley played concerts with other underground bands like Trees, Locomotive, (early) Hawkwind, Cochise, and others. This set floats somewhere between 3 and 4 "stars".

This 2 CD set collects the band's first two albums ("Skin Alley" and "To Pagham and Beyond"), singles, and a little heard soundtrack for the movie "Stop Veruschka", from 1970. Their sound was based on flute, guitar, and organ as the lead instruments, plus other keyboards and alto sax. Their music was a combination of jazz, rock, folk, and blues, with a few progressive flourishes mixed in to good effect. The remastered sound is very good--clean and open. The 15 page booklet has song/recording information, along with an essay on the band and the era. The first two album covers are also reproduced as well as period ads and photos.

The band consisted of: Krzrytof Henryk-Juskiewicz-organ/piano/Mellotron/harpsichord/vocals, Bob James-guitar/alto sax/flute/vocals, Thomas Crimble-bass/Mellotron/vocals, and Giles Pope-drums/percussion. Nick Graham replaced Crimble on bass/flute/vocals on the soundtrack material. The band's third album, "Two Quid Deal?" is along the same lines and is worth hearing too.

Skin Alley played their music their way across both these albums, and at times have an individualistic approach mixed with period sounds from other bands of the era.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Big Brother Is Watching You: CBS Records Anthology
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Big Brother Is Watching You: CBS Records Anthology

Look for Similar Items by Category