Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Book House Cleaning billions billions billions  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tackle Any Terrain with Cycling on Amazon STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 33 reviews
on July 8, 2013
I'm relatively new to the world of Big Data, so I can't say authoritatively that this is comprehensive and accurate. But it helped to shine light into a lot of shadowy corners for me, and it is chock-full of useful links. Well worth the time to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
This has two or three chapters that do a good job of explaining what Big Data is, and what the tools are to work with it. That was exactly what I was looking for. It does a good job of explaining in general terms what Hadoop is, and what programs like PIG and HIVE have to do with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2016
Amazing book to get clear understanding of big data. Specially hadoop and programs like PIG and HIVE and what they have to do with it. The book is not indepth a high level view but a must read before you delve into the nitty gritty of big data.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2015
Great survey of the big data landscape, tools, sites to check out, methods of analysis, etc. It is a pretty quick read and not deep in detail, but a great tool to get a broad, senior-level perspective of recent developments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2014
I am a college student and had to complete a 30 page report on big data. This was my most commonly used source. Great info, easy to follow and understand. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a basic start to understanding Big Data.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2014
Good overview of the what is going on with Big Data in different industries. Not technical but has lots of useful information about how people are applying technology to analyze Big Data and get value out of their data.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2013
Nice overview of what is happening in various areas with "big data". Does not get too deep into any subject but does try to offer definitions and discusses tools.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2013
The book gives a very open perspective including tools and comments from the people that is inside the topic (at least at the moment of the publication) wich I consider as an excellent starting point to dive into this amazing ocean of data.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2013
great as an intro from a business perspective. 'Big Data' being a relatively new phenomena needed such a publication so persons could be better informed about it. Really explicit without all the Information technology jargon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
This is by no means a definitive guide to operating in this field, but is a very good framework for helping figure out how the vastly different technologies of Big Data can help either your business or your career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse