Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Shop Popular Services henriettalacks henriettalacks henriettalacks  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 18 reviews
on August 15, 2005
Rob Jovanovic deserves tremendous praise for stubbornly promoting his idea of a Big Star bio to publishers for years until one thankfully and finally said "yes." The result is a well-crafted and highly-detailed account of the power pop pioneers from Memphis. Jovanovic interviewed just about anyone who ever played a role in the band's existence, other than (obviously) the late Chris Bell, and the dour Alex Chilton. Bell emerges as the tragic hero of the story, while Chilton ultimately appears amazingly detached both emotionally and professionally.

My assumption listening to the records way back when was that Big Star had probably lived the typical band story - four friends who grow up together, spend years forging their craft together, and finally getting the chance to make a record. It turns out that Big Star's real story was quite different...two members going to the same school, or two jamming with a certain friend for a while...but the quartet we know as the "classic" Big Star lineup basically just falls together, records an album and a few demo songs for a follow-up, and then ends, with a grand total of seven gigs together. As a long-time fan of their music, I'm a little disappointed to learn this, so the book leaves me better informed but inevitably sadder. But if you want the Big Star story and all the details, buy this book.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2006
Rob Jovanovic did an awesome job here. The is a great & well researched read - He's Interviewed basically everyone worth interviewing (except for Alex Chilton as Chilton wasn't gonna talk - But hey, that's why we like Alex... Right? Yep). If you wanna know about Big Star - this is your one stop shopping... Buy this book!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2006
This book covers just about everything you'd want to know about Big Star and all of the major players associated with the band. From Alex Chilton's beginnings in The Box Tops, thru meeting up with Chris Bell and company in Memphis and joining Big Star, to Alex's solo career is covered in quite a bit of depth. And Chris Bell's life and times is nicely covered, as well. Given that Chilton is basically a hermit and Bell died in a car crash almost 30 years ago, the depth of material in this book is quite impressive.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2013
This is a very interesting book for those interested in classic rock! My son, Rhett Nowotny, provided
some of the research material for the book.
He had his own band back in the early '90s and you can access his album on youtube by typing in RCN72,
then click on his photo at the top of the page and then click on anything with the Ravenhearst logo.
Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
This is one of the best music reads I've encountered. Settle down with some Big Star in the background, and you'll likely finish before you know it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2013
And I really enjoyed this book, though it is now time for an updated second edition, and time to put Big Star in the Rockk n Roll hall of fame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2013
If you are an Alex Chilton fan ... this is necessary reading material ... worth every penny of the cost and more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2014
A great true story to read, if you're a fan of Big Star, you'll enjoy reading about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2010
I recently purchased this book and I thought they were charging me the correct price. When the book arrived, I saw that they had charged me way more than what the book cost. I will never use Amazon or Javari books again. Although the book is well written, the list price is $16.95 and Javari books charged me $27.45. That's a $10.50 overcharge on a $16.95 item!
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2005
The book provides believable and sometimes fascinating information, and the author is to be commended for getting this hard-sell published. But the writing is stilted and surprisingly flat considering the writer is a professional music journalist with a growing list of book credits.

If the reader is looking for evangelical fervor - and a writing style that can inspire - they will not find it here.

As is always advisable to those who do seek to turn someone on to music - give that person the music of Big Star. Don't give them this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse