Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by Garth Brooks Electronics Gift Guide $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
A Biologist's Guide to Mathematical Modeling in Ecology and Evolution
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$70.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on September 23, 2013
This is a very clearly written, thorough, generally excellent guide. It was a great book in class, and I still use it as a reference regularly.
(I even used it at work today!)

The book explains everything very well, which I find rare for science textbooks. Its appendices are very helpful, and there are many examples. Well worth the investment!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 12, 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 28, 2015
A great way to learn about the topic. Useful for those with a math background and for bio-scientists who wish to learn relevant mathematics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 7, 2012
Good introductory book. Can be used as a textbook, or kept on the shelf for future reference. I bought second hand because this is not a collectible book nor something I will sell to someone else when I finish reading it. I see no point buying a new one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 9, 2012
This is a must-have reference book for any computational biologist. Even those who roughly work in the computational biology realm, need to master the skills introduced in this book to be effective at what they do. It's not overpriced, and it will reward you 10fold in the end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 31, 2011
This book introduces the mathematical models in use in various branches of biology and related fields. It is extremely well written and easy to follow. If you wish to own one book on this subject then this should be high on your list for consideration.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 10, 2014
mathematical tools are a must for modern ecology and evolutionary research. This is a good book for students to understand how we can use mathematical models to understand ecological and evolutionary processes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 1, 2015
This book is a comprehensive tutorial on math modeling in biology, from the biology perspective it is not complete, given that there are a number of somewhat classic models that are not covered; however, from a modeling point of view it offers a general state of the art.

The first chapters of this book are very gentle and easy to read. I found particularly useful the 2nd chapter, on How to Construct a Model, when writing my graduate research project on ecological modeling. I also thought the appendixes were very useful, because they make this book self contained. This makes it an advisable book for anyone starting in the modeling field and studying by himself. In the last chapters of the book, the authors address more advance models that are quite interesting but also more complex. I found that this part is the hardest to follow, specially the two chapters dedicated to stochastic modeling, it feels like there is a missing appendix here. This couple of chapters should be compared to Marc Mangel's The Theoretical Biologist's Toolbox, who also offers a fine introduction into stochastic modeling.

The biggest lack I found in this text is in the computational implementation of the analysis, the authors offer some supplementary material at their website and the scripts to generate the figures in Mathematica. Nevertheless, I found the scripts uneasy to follow and reproduce, not to mention that Mathematica is a expensive software.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 17, 2011
This gem of a book is terrific, not just for biologists but for anyone trying to get a handle on modeling in ecology and evolution. I teach an evolutionary game theory class to a law school class (yes, that's right, law school), and couldn't find a good textbook that would teach students with a basic math proficiency what they needed to know about stability, probability theory, etc. to be able to model some of the more interesting EGT methods. This book fit the bill. My notes all come straight from here, even when we are using other textbook problem sets. Highly recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 8, 2008
Although other books may have a better presentation of the models' use and context, this is the best presentation I have seen on stability analysis, plus it presents a good quantity of model examples. The presentation of the math used is ample and clear. I highly reccomend it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here