Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Shop Popular Services whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 52 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 69 reviews
on January 13, 2017
Perfect for Biology class
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2015
This book may be fine for an 18-19 year old kid who just had high school biology a couple of years ago, but for those of us who haven't had a science class in 10+ years it's borderline useless. Each chapter opens as if it is aimed at a grade school level audience, only to switch gears after four pages and diving into complex descriptions of chemical reactions, yet failing completely to explain or define many important points.
A fine example of this shortcoming can be seen in chapter 6 which deals with photosynthisis. The reader is introduced to NADP+ and NADPH, yet there is no definition of of what either are and it's not very clear as to what exactly they do. A simple web search, however, results in a succinct answer to both what they are and what they do.
I feel that for the price of this book (your first born child, plus an arm and a leg) that it should be more thorough and clear in its explanations.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2014
My favorite AP Biology text.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2013
Pictures and text clear and bright. Easy to find topics and highlight text. Just like the actual textbook version but not as heavy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2013
Great textbook, helps a lot with lectures and has in depth analysis. I bought the older book after comparing the two and finding no significant differences.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2015
Good price for the book. much less than campus book store.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
We didn't order this for a class, but for self-study and found it to be a nice resource for the price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
According to Amazon's textbook trade-in service, when I tried to trade-in the book after my son finished his course, this was the wrong textbook so they rejected it for trade-in. Even though the ISBN number matched Amazon's trade-in exactly, the book was rejected as the wrong item. They claim that it was the "teacher's/international edition". Since that is not the book that I originally ordered from Amazon, then either the seller sold me the wrong book or the textbook trade-in merchant is wrong. Either way, I am the one who loses the money that I should have received for trading in a used book in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2015
Item arrived on time and met description. I gave 4 stars because... well, its just a book I had to have for class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2016
Great book! Exactly what I was looking for!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here