Your Garage Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning billions billions billions  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 220 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 665 reviews
on July 15, 2016
About 12 years ago, I bought an XBOX 360 Arcade, set it up in the spare bedroom for my grandkids to play with when they came to visit. I bought a number of games at the time, and added to them over the years. Among those was "Bioshock". The kids wouldn't play it though because it was a "single player" only; no multi-player. So it sat there un-played, still new. The "Arcade" eventually suffered the "Red Rings of death" and passed away, so I replaced it with the newer (at the time) Xbox 360 S with 4GB. As the years went by, the grandkids got older, and didn't come by as often,
so I moved it into the great room and set it up with surround sound, and a 55" hd tv. By now most of the grandkids were grown, off to college, married, or into other interests as well they should. I, however; having never played any games, decided to try it out and see why they liked playing this thing so much. I found I had accumulated over 40 games, mostly new; and tried my luck with "Red Dead Redemption". Wow!! what a rush! I had no idea what I had been missing. Eventually I played through all 40 games, and came to the conclusion that among my favorites was "Bioshock".
At first I kind of stumbled through it because I had to keep the volume turned down so as not to disturb my wife. I started over , this time with a good set of headphones and a notebook and pencil. This game had me hooked! The reason for the notebook was to jot down certain clues or codes to open doors that can't be hacked. Now I'm nearly 70 years old, so give me a break kids! I have played though it several times, and the outcome depends on whether you "harvest" or "rescue" the little sisters that are protected by Big Daddy or as she calls him "Mr. Bubbles". Make no mistake about it, you cannot progress through the game without defeating a number of Big Daddys. As the game progresses, you will accumulate a variety of different weapons, and "plasmids" that give you extraordinary powers; but they both need to be upgraded because the enemies get stronger as the game goes along. It is not a pure RPG or FPS, nor was it designed to be; but that's what makes it so challenging and fun.
It is however, in my opinion; a true "Classic" game as is it's follow-up "Bioshock 2". Bioshock Infinate was fun, but does not measure up to it's predecessors.
Now that I'm a "gamer" (ha ha) Bioshock ranks right up there with my other favorites: Red Dead Redemption, Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare, Gears of War, 2 and 3, Portal, Portal 2, Half Life/2 , Condemned criminal origins, and both Left for Dead/2.
Fro those that have never owned an xbox 360 or ps3, but started your gaming on the xbox one or ps4, take heart in knowing that as of this writing, the "Bioshock Collection" will be available for both those consoles in September 2016. BUY IT!! and enjoy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2013
Bioshock is a transcendent piece of workmanship. It is a whole package of arts from many media: visual design, architecture, acting, literature, direction, music, sound design, choreography, narrative, pathos, humor, emotion, philosophy... In my opinion, all art, regardless of media, is judged by only one criterion: how well it immerses the audience. It is highly difficult for a videogame to work well with all of the artistic elements it must from other media, but when it can, results are breathtaking. For videogames have an artistry trump card should all other elements come together brilliantly -

The audience affects them.

I can't begin to say how much this can add to the immersive experience of art. Fallout and Deus Ex and a handful of other games have had a marriage of elements that made in-game actions true epiphanies and sometimes truly difficult decisions, but no game has had quite such a successful integration of the arts and interaction as Bioshock.

To start, the world of Rapture, the undersea self-governing utopia of the late 1940's, is as fully realized as a fictional arena can be. The narrative begins with a plane crash in the middle of the Atlantic. As the only apparent survivor, you swim to the only nearby shelter, a skyscraping spire jutting out of the sea. Upon entry, you're greeted by the larger-than-life bronze bust of the larger-than-life antagonist of the tale, Andrew Ryan. His austere face hangs just above a placard which succinctly states the vision of his that became reified with the construction of Rapture, "No Gods or Kings. Only Man." A later banner declaring "Altruism is the root of all wickedness" rounds out Ryan as a man whose will is singular and formidable and who believes that man's progress truly comes through serving one's self. I don't wish to divulge much more of him. He's somehow omnipresent. His dream world that became as abyssal as the ocean in which it sits, is clearly his world, a full manifestation of one man's vision. Ryan pulls off complexity in a singular character with aplomb. However much you might hate him, you admire him in equal measure. He's an iconic villain, who is actually able to perhaps shake your long held beliefs with surprising charisma, gaining with sheer will your empathy.

Ryan's dream is an art deco, mid-19th century cityscape with impeccable design. Neon signs with bold lettering mark every locale. 40's style public service announcements chime through speakerphones, littering propaganda from Ryan's mind and often featuring a domineering man speaking to an unsure woman as though she were a neurotic child. Heavy, steam-powered machinery powers the city, replete with worn and bulky looks of the period's real engineering. Posters of idealized men and women from the age paint the walls with advertisements for the newest products and services. A highly curvaceous and opulent architecture is present throughout; it's beautiful, beautifully realized and extremely cohesive. There are even cases in which period music plays, from Perry Como, Billie Holliday, and others, used to better effect than almost any feature film soundtrack.

The atmosphere is complete and compelling, but clearly crumbling. Hypnotizing trickles and even larger floods of water flow in through cracks of the foundation, most places are unkempt, or in ruins. There's evidence of a struggle between Ryan and an enterprising businessman named Fontaine. You find out about his smuggling ring whose importing of the "parasitic" ideals that Ryan so abhors caused a war between the two men over philosophical matters and financial ones. "Adam," discovered in Rapture and studied by parties supported by the two men, is a substance that changed Rapture, by allowing the grafting of stem cells that can radically rewrite DNA sequencing to give a man or woman virtually any characteristic they so desired.

A war over Adam is taking place. Fontaine and Ryan fought over its rights and nearly everyone else is fighting to obtain it, and as much as they can. Homemade weapons dot the underwater fortress. Genetically altered quasi-humans walk the city, ever searching the premises for Adam as though it a powerful drug, hurting and killing for it.

Inhabitants exhibit behaviors that are powerfully disturbing. They retain and relive memories of their former lives, giving hints of the trials and tribulations they faced before becoming hideously disfigured in every sense of the word. Some seem like they were broken of their former ways by force, some seem to have arrived by greed or the jealous need to usurp, some seem to have fallen in because of tragedy, and still others, such as the Little Sisters, were simply bred into their monsterhood.

Little Sisters are Rapture's Adam harvesters, and while the game allows for numerous and wonderful player choices in terms of evincing enemies, Little Sisters provide the moral choices. Your guide, a man named Atlas, encourages you to harvest them for the Adam they posses so that you might be better able to survive with the improved genetics by killing the filthy girls with glowing eyes, strolling through the halls with a syringe drawing the blood from corpses they call "angels." The woman scientist who developed the children asks you not to do so, but givesno immediate reward. The system creates a great dilemma both morally and from the virtue versus instant gratification aspect.

Though this is really the only immersive hinge in Bioshock, the story is so closely tied to the Little Sisters and the narrative so tight, this one recurring choice manages to be thoroughly compelling. Bioshock is the only experience I've had in recent memory, where I actually as the audience felt deceived, the effect of which I could hardly put into words. Suffice to say, it managed to find through a simple motif, a way to bring me to feel disgust, regret, hatred, and disbelief. Bioshock makes everything that occurs within it your real experience and it makes what is a brilliant social commentary into a frightening self examination.

Is it perfect? No. There are issues with immersion that remind you that you are playing a game. For instance, the penalty for death is nearly non-existent, which takes away from the feeling of fear and discourages tactical thinking. The physics, particularly in death animations, are quite wonky in some cases. There are clipping instances. Corpses twitch.

...That's it though.

Bioshock is truly Dynamic art and comes with my unequivocal recommendation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2010
Playing BioShock for the first time is an intense and very rewarding experience. Playing it for the second time is just as much fun, with a few more surprises to be found. After playing and beating this game three times, I can say that this is definitely one of my top ten XBOX 360 Games. We had come across this game by chance, and it had positive reviews, which could mean a good game or a group of people that have lost their collective minds together in a mass mental suicide. In the case of BioShock, I am happy to say that this game delivers. No spoiler here, so read on with safety of knowing the the characters are vibrant, the story is intriguing and engaging, and you will not regret this game at all. Minor things could have been left out, but overall 4 and 3/4 stars out of 5. The closest game to perfection that I have played in a while. For First Person Shooter / Sci-Fi RPG fans. This game is a must for your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2017
Excellent! In great condition and has been played over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2017
One of the greatest games and series of this generation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2015
Wonderful game, one of my all time favorites. the game play and story are excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2017
One of my favorite games
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2016
A Great game about government and free will
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2017
Excellent game...good quality pre owned
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
Exciting, eerie, creative, jaw dropping, terrifying, electrifying, memorable, fun. Bioshock is the rare game that perfectly blend all those elements together. The story engulfs you in Rapture, one of the most unique and awesome game locations I've ever played. As you progress, you'll discover and explore the ruins of Rapture and learn more about Rapture and what happened and your character's involvement on why he's here in the first place.
Combat works will blending survival horror elements, such as lack of abundant ammo, to great first person shooting mechanics. It also adds a new spin with Plasmids, giving your character the ablility to electrocute, set on fire, freeze, control, patronize, hypnotize, and among many others.

Such a game like Bioshock can perfectly combine everything that can shooters great. It's exciting, it's terrifying, keeps you on the edge of your seat, it sparks wonder and curiosity. The only thing that keeps this game from being perfect is the ending/ final boss. Ending is kind of out of place (meaning it's either warm hearted or a cold slap in the face that doesn't really conclude your character's journey.) and I didn't lean towards how the final boss was done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 13 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here