Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning _baw _baw _baw  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 228 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 246 reviews
on August 7, 2015
If bipolar touches your life in any way (or you just want more information) I can't recommend this book highly enough.

Written by a doctor with many years experience working with bipolar patients, he covers alot of facts and theory mixed with his real-life observations and patient examples. Fascinating, informative, readable, and yet hopeful...this is an amazing resource for people suffering bipolar AND their family, friends, co-workers, etc. Being diagnosed with bipolar can be a big (and scary) life changer, this book handles the subject by offering alot of facts and information you need to know...along along compassion and hope. What could be a dry and depressing book comes across as insightful and uplifting.

I don't often read non-fiction, but this book has been the happy exception. Easy reading with oodles of information, hope, and encouragement!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2017
This book was published in 2011, which is better than a lot of other books on the subject. It is important to note the publication date, because research and information changes a lot over several years.
This has good information. Using a reliable internet site would be beneficial to suppmement it, bu there again, one much check the year the site got its information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2016
Very informative. I like the inclusion of the worksheets. I have a family member who was recently diagnosed and I feel better prepared to offer help after reading this book. I especially appreciated the examples of "what not to say". I plan to pass it on to other family members.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2016
Comprehensive guide book for those afflicted with bipolar disorder and their family and close friends. Covers everything. Newer medications are not included, obviously, but the those listed are still in use. Don't forget the importance of getting outside in nature and the vital Vitamin D (sunlight). Also, meditation is always helpful to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2016
I wish that this book had come along with the discharge orders for my adolescent daughter when she left the hospital! The balanced approach gives both people diagnosed with bipolar disorder and their family members the necessary tools for communication about what many see as a frightening diagnosis. The author explains the pitfalls of a bipolar diagnosis (over identification and under identification) and guides the reader through exercises to set up safety plans and networks of support that will lesson the impact of recurring manic or depressive episodes. In addition, the author includes a chapter on how a bipolar diagnosis can impact women specifically. If you or someone you love has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, move this book to the top of your reading list.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2014
I wanted to find a modern, well researched, well written explanation and exploration of bipolar disorder and this book has been extremely useful. I honestly can say it allayed some of my fears, brought up questions, answered said questions and helped me understand more about this disorder. It has been tremendously helpful. It is anecdotal, providing many different experiences, but also concise and well layed-out. You can read it cover to cover or skip through chapters to find what you want to know about with ease. I can't say enough how much I appreciate having this book and understanding more about this disorder. I highly recommend it to anyone who has been diagnosed with any bipolar disorder, suspects they may have a disorder or who has a loved one struggling with it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2016
All selections were well worth reading. It took tremendous courage for each author to write their personal memoirs about their struggles with Bipolar Disorder. I am grateful that they took the risk in order to to help others better understand the illness and the volatile moods and often devastating behaviors of those who suffer with it, as well as the challenges and difficult decisions that those who love them must face. These personal stories help to further open the public conversation on what was once a hushed and even tabooed topic and, hopefully, they will provide greater compassion and understanding for all who suffer with mental illness.
For in depth knowledge of symptoms, diagnostic tools, distinguishing characteristics and symptoms of bipolar disorder in various forms, and contrasts with often misdiagnosed mental disorders, and appropriate and effective treatments, "The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide, Second Edition" by David J. Miklowitz, is indispensable to the patient and those who love them. Although the patient must acknowledge and take responsibility for seeking and complying with treatment, it also underlines the important role of family and friends in supporting and encouraging those diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder (Manic Depression), and it provides a guide for all who must make this challenging journey. For a balanced blend of courageously shared personal experiences and incredible medical and psychological knowledge, Kay Redfield Jamison's books are, to my knowledge, unparalleled. Her writing is fluid, poetic, and deeply moving. Each word seems to be carefully chosen to express her thoughts and feelings; each phrase is beautifully crafted, imbued with warmth, passion, and raw honesty. Her works are certainly scholarly in content and contribute greatly to both the medical body of knowledge and greater understanding for non medical readers. Moreover, Kay Redfield Jamison's prose draws you in in closer and closer, first speaking to your mind, but then, also touching your heart in a way that makes you feel that you are moving through her journey with her. To me it was so compelling that I could not put the book down until I had experienced the last page.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2011
A very insightful book. Well written but not overly technical. A great reference book for those who have bipolar disease as well as for those who love someone with the illness but need help understanding that person and what he is going thru.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2017
Brilliant book if it is within your interest. High quality and I recommend to anyone. Written very well and understandable. It's literally everything you could want to know about bipolar
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2014
I've now read two books by Dr. Miklowitz, one for mental health clinicians and this book. The Survival Guide is an excellently practical, fairly comprehensive, and highly accessible guide to understanding and dealing with the many facets of bipolar disorder. It is a great tool for those suffering from the illness, but it could also be useful for one's family members or friends. BD is complex and can be overwhelming; however, with some research, emotional support, and, usually, medication, it is a navigable illness that can often be very well treated. I make this claim to point out the potentially life-saving nature of the advice given in this book and others like it. In concise and clearly written chapters, Dr. Miklowitz explores the many ways that bipolar disorder can affect an individual and offers research-supported tips on how to manage the illness. I highly recommend this volume to anyone looking for a thorough but accessible guide to understanding bipolar disorder.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse