Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
How to return the item?
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Saturday, May 22 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Tuesday, May 18
Order within 23 hrs and 16 mins
Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app.
$$9.95 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$9.95
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon.com
Sold by Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: This item is returnable
In most cases, items shipped from Amazon.com may be returned for a full refund.
Birds in the Air has been added to your Cart
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Friday, May 21 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Thursday, May 20
Order within 21 hrs and 16 mins
Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Minimal signs of wear. Ships direct from Amazon!
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$6.25
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Omega Books and More Inc.
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Birds in the Air Paperback – September 14, 2016

4.6 out of 5 stars 139 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$9.95
$6.25 $3.04

Enhance your purchase


Yo-Yo Ma: Beginner's Mind
Hear an icon's life story, timeless music, and message. Listen free

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Birds in the Air
  • +
  • Margaret Goes Modern
Total price: $18.90
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

  • Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login now
  • Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

Review

"A truly enjoyable read! Quilters will relive their own first patchwork steps along with Emma as she searches for her place in a new community. Non-quilters will experience vicariously Emma's discovery of the power of quilts to connect, heal, and restore the soul." --Marianne Fons
 
 "What a delightful book! ... As I read, I was transported out of my chair and into the town of Sweet Anne's Gap and the lives of the quilters that I can understand so well."  --Annie Smith 

"Birds in the Air is a great book and quilt block -- it's as unusual as liking the book and the movie! It was such a pleasurable read. I cared about the characters and what happened to them. I enjoyed revisiting what it is like to be a brand new quilter." --Kathy Mathews, ChicagoNow

Booklist

"Emma Byrd has just moved to Sweet Anne's Gap, a tiny mountain town in North Carolina. Her husband loves his new job and her kids are settling in, but Emma feels adrift. She expects to work on the novel she's been mulling over, but she's quickly drawn into the close-knit community of quilters in town. Before she knows it, she's enlisted to help organize a display of historical quilts from around the state, which comes with a crash course on the town gossip. When Emma uses her fledgling quilting skills to help the local outcast make a big gesture, she realizes just how much heart is in the hobby. An uplifting story of a woman finding her way in a small town, this will delight experienced quilters and novice crafters alike. Author Dowell is best known for her YA fiction, and her experience crafting narratives around the power of female friendships transfers easily to more mature subject matter. With buoyant prose and an uplifting message, this will appeal to fans of Mary Simses and Erin McGraw." --Turza, Stephanie Copyright 2016 Booklist

From the Author

A Quilting Q&A with Author Frances O'Roark Dowell
  • Why did you decide to write about quilters? There's a rule of thumb for writers: Write the books you want to read. I'm so happy whenever writers like Jennifer Chivavirini, Marie Bostwick and Sandra Dallas come out with new quilting novels--I wish more quilters wrote books! So it makes sense that if I love reading books about quilting, I should write one.
  • What draws you to quilting? I've always loved quilts. For many years I was convinced that I'd never be able to make a quilt (I'm math phobic, for one thing), and when I finally realized I could, quilting became my new passion. I recently interviewed novelist Marie Bostwick for my blog and asked her why she made quilts. Her answer: Because I can't paint. I totally got it. Making quilts satisfies my artist soul (the one that can't paint, alas).
  • How are quilting and writing similar; in what ways do they differ? With both quilting and writing, I revise a lot. I find this especially true now that I'm designing more of my own quilts. I mess up a lot in both endeavors, but find that sometimes my failures lead to good, unexpected places. Neither books nor quilts always end up being exactly what you intended them to be -- for better and for worse. One thing that's different about making quilts is that you're constantly in motion, going from the cutting board to the sewing machine to the ironing board and back again. It's great to move while I'm making something instead of just sitting in front of a computer.
  • How did the "Off-Kilter Quilt" podcast come about? I'd been making quilts for a few years when I discovered quilting podcasts. For the most part, these podcasts were homey and conversational, and I loved listening to the hosts talk about their projects and guild meetings, and hearing about the books they were reading and what they were having for dinner. For me, starting a podcast was like joining an ongoing conversation with other podcasters, which then became an ongoing conversation with my listeners, who leave comments, send me emails, and sometimes even come through town and have a cup of coffee with me. It's a really wonderful, supportive community.

Yo-Yo Ma: Beginner's Mind
Hear an icon's life story, timeless music, and message. Listen free

Product details

  • Publisher : Milton Falls Media, Inc. (September 14, 2016)
  • Language : English
  • Paperback : 256 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1945354003
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1945354007
  • Item Weight : 10.4 ounces
  • Dimensions : 5.25 x 0.64 x 8 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 139 ratings

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
139 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on September 22, 2016
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 2, 2016
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 10, 2017
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 30, 2016
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 29, 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 8, 2017
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on May 17, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 8, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Christine
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for quilters.
Reviewed in Germany on January 3, 2021
Verified Purchase
Shamsa
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
Reviewed in Germany on October 2, 2016
Verified Purchase
Jodie
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Story !
Reviewed in Australia on October 4, 2016
Verified Purchase
Colleen
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
Reviewed in Canada on October 27, 2016
Verified Purchase
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars i really enjoyed France's book - a great mix of quilting information ...
Reviewed in Australia on September 23, 2016
Verified Purchase
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: contemporary quilting, friendship in literature, quilting fiction books