Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Birds & Harmony

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, September 16, 1997
"Please retry"
$62.41 $5.70

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. The Nightingale in silent night
  2. 'Nell piu fiorito Aprile'
  3. Bunny Sweet Robin
  4. 'Hort ich ein Kuckuck singen'
  5. The Earl of Essex's Galliard
  6. Heigh Ho Holiday- Noels Galliard
  7. Deux bransles de Champaigne
  8. 'Un jour je me allais cueillant des violettes'
  9. Pavane et Gaillarde
  10. Engels Nachtegaeltje
  11. 'En escoutant, le tant doulx rossignuex'
  12. Fantasia tres
  13. In minem zin
  14. Canzon, La Lusignuola
  15. 'Docissimo Uscignolo'
  16. Sellenger's Round
  17. 'Frau Nachtigall'
  18. II Lamento- La Sampogna
  19. 'La complainte de la tourterelle'
  20. Pavane
  21. Gentle Robin
  22. un nid d'arondelle...'
  23. Chorea-Proportio

Product Details

  • Audio CD (September 16, 1997)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Koch Discover Int'l
  • ASIN: B000002257
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,129,479 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Discophage TOP 1000 REVIEWER on February 18, 2016
Very entertaining program of “bird music”, from the late Middle Ages (Agricola, Cornysh, Janaquin) to the 17th Century. Had they pushed to the 18th Century, they could have included Vivaldi's Flute Concerto "Il Gardellino" and Papageno’s Vögelfanger aria - in fact, it’s Jakob van Eyck’s Engels Nachtegaeltje track 10, with its second flute responding to the first one in echo from a distance, that made me think of Mozart. And, hey, 19th century? The whole first movement of Mahler’s First Symphony. The recital combines instrumental and vocal pieces. This recording, made in 1995, was the first one made by the Swiss early-music Ensemble Terpsichore, an all-ladies (except for the tenor) consort of recorders, bombards, crumhorns, dulcimers and percussion founded in 1985. Apparently they disbanded circa 2000 after recording only two other discs on small Swiss labels, Gallo and Artlab. Their playing seems of the highest order.

The only drawback, but it’s a signficant one, is that Discover International doesn’t provide the texts of the songs, so you are left to hear all these songs with only the vaguest notion of what’s being sung. Sure, the gist is always ““ku-kuck”, but one would have liked for not so much to get lost in translation. Plus, in Track 8, a song by Giaches West (are you sure it isn’t Giaches de Wert? I’m pretty sure West is de Wert, I see no trace of a composer called Ghiaches West), words are so covered by the recorder that they sound like mere gargling. Flutes are indeed very prominent throughout – no wonder, given the topic of the program.

TT 62
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse