Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating FFII_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
13
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 13 reviews
on August 2, 2011
EDIT: July 17, 2013. In the below review, i compared this JSP set to the two Columbia discs of mostly the same music, giving a slight edge to the Columbia discs. But i now own the Mosaic set that contains most of these tracks, plus a whole bunch more Tram stuff. After comparing all THREE options now, i can whole-heartedly say that the Mosaic box is DEFINITELY the way to go. What the Columbia discs lacked, the JSP set had and vice-versa. Now, all problems are solved with the BEST way to hear this music...the Mosaic set. I actually sold both the Columbia discs and the JSP set on ebay once i listened to the Mosaic. It's that good. It's also more expensive. But watch ebay for a while, and you may find a deal. Now, on to the original review...

Let me first say this... if you want to listen to Bix Beiderbecke's short stint with the Frankie Trumbauer Orchestra on CD, you have two choices: the two Columbia CD's from the early '90s and this JSP box set. The JSP set does give you more tracks, but all the essential tracks are available on the Columbia set too. A number of the tracks in the JSP set don't even have Bix on them.

So which option wins out? I own both sets, and have compared extensively. Risking the anger of the John R.T. Davies fans, i'll have to give the nod to the Columbia discs. Read on for the differences you will hear (if you want to hear them).

The JSP set. This was re-mastered from very clean 78s by one of the best musical restorers of the last 30 years. There is a nice heft to the music, with strong bass present. Dynamic range is pretty good, but a little lacking in the upper register. You can especially notice when someone takes a solo, it sounds like you have your hands slightly covering your ears, and loses some of that upper-end definition. Still, this definitely sounds better than one might think for very early electrical (microphone) recording.

The Columbia set. This was re-mastered from the original metal and glass parts from the Columbia vaults. While there is a bit less heft, and could use a hair more bass, this definitely offers the music cleaner and more transparent. You can really hear every solo very smoothly and cleanly. It's more transparent and crisp than the JSP set.

So, both sets have their ups and downs. The problem with the JSP set is that no matter how talented the late John RT Davies was, he could only do so much, as he didn't have access to the original masters. He had to use consumer-level 78's. The problem with that is two-fold. For one, they are one generation removed from the master, so there is a slight degradation in fidelity. Second, a consumer-level 78 just can not hold the same quality of musical information as the original masters did. If they did, then masters would have just been made of the same material and process as the 78's. Again, no matter how talented a re-master is, if he's working with 78's instead of the masters, he has to work with a lower-quality medium. That said, sometimes masters are badly damaged or lost, and 78's are the only way to go. But not in the case of this music. Like most Okeh recordings of this era, the masters were recorded remarkably well, and have survived in pretty good shape.

That all said, i remind you that the Columbia set is not perfect. They were remastered more than 20 years ago, and technology has improved quite a bit. If it were re-done today, from the original parts, it would absolutely sound better than either of these.

So, what it all comes down to is taste. Neither set has much surface noice/scratchiness on it, so don't worry about that. If you want to hear more of the actual music, with Bix's trumpet in a clean tone, then get the Columbia set. It's definitely closer to what would have been heard in the studio. If you want more tracks, and aren't going to be critical with your listening, you will probably be fine with the JSP set. To me, it only sounds inferior when i compare it to the Columbia set.

NOTE!!! I forgot that there was also a Mosaic Records box set of all this. It came out about 5 years ago, and is out-of-print. I don't have it, so can't compare, but usually their stuff is mastered from the originals, and is likely the best-sounding you will get of Bix-Trumbauer material. Bear in mind, you may end up paying through the nose for it.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2016
I have a lot of Bix. The quality of the sound varies from CD to CD. I was excited about this CD set because it brought together a wide range of musicians, in different combinations, the one common ingredient being Frank Trumbauer. When you start to look at the other musicians who played or sang in his band over the range of these four CDs, it's impressive. On the first two CDs alone, there are Jimmy Dorsey, Eddie Lang, Hoagy Carmichael. Wingy Manone, Pee Wee Russell, and Bing Crosby. That speaks volumes about the respect that Trumbauer had in the twenties. There's also a delightful, shifting composition of musicians in the groups. A couple of recordings are just Eddie Lang, Trumbauer and Bix. I like the extra flavor that comes from the vocalists throughout the collection. I am no an audiophile. I just know what I hear. On that basis, I think the mastering is excellent. Add to that you get four CDs for this price, and my only regret is that I can't give six stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2016
This is a must own set for anyone a fan of the 20's sound . The quality and choice of material are beyond expectations. In fact I bought a second set just in case something happens to the original..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2015
Great CDs and excellent service!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2014
Simply magnificent. These CDs contain a cornerstone of early jazz. While there are allot of cheesy vocals that are held back by their comic lyrics, the instrumental numbers are all brilliant and the musicians make even the worst of the vocal numbers worth hearing. The best tracks, like Singing the Blues, I'm coming virginia, and Sorry, rank up there with Armstrong's Hot Fives and Sevens as the best early jazz has to offer. Bix and Tram were some fine musicians and were a match made in heaven. The liner notes were also informative containing a detailed Bix biography and sessionography.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2013
The above CD's purchased from Amazon are wonderful. The musicianship is highly polished and the recordings evoke wonderfully the atmosphere of the "roaring twenties". I would have no hesitation in recommending them to anybody who loves good jazz.

The delivery time for the 4 CD's was also very good.

Richard Vanderahe
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2010
I love music from this period and so enjoyed this collection. The only thing is I had already purchased a Bix selection a while back and my new purchase had some repeat performances. Had I really compared the selections, I would have noticed, but so what! So now I have more of a good thing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2013
Being a great Bix Beiderbecke fan, I found this collection very pleasing. I keep the discs in the car and play one of them where ever I go. Great quality of sound and a good assortment of pieceso
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse