Buy Used
FREE Shipping on orders over $25. Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: 3 CD set. CDs, case, booklet and artwork in very good condition with some very light disc wear. Ships FAST!!!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Black Brown & Beige


4.7 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Original recording remastered, October 25, 1990

Editorial Reviews

Following on the heels of the smashing, creative apex caught on The Blanton-Webster Years, Black, Brown & Beige encompasses segments of two suite-length works, Ellington's first long-form works. The segments from the set's title suite are rife with ambition, scoping historical motions while creating merely musical brilliance (small consolation indeed for not capturing the full flush of African American history's drama!). Billy Strayhorn's arranging and orchestration begins shading the Ellington band throughout this set, making it a gorgeously large unit that could spread its arms to embrace the richest melodies even while setting up soloists who tear the place up on their respective instruments. The bands are some of the best, featuring a well-built fullness that shows Ellington's complete awareness of each voice, from open-bore trumpet blasts to slack-toned saxophones. This is the Ellingtonian sound that Blanton-Webster sketched out and began to nurture. In its fullness, it's some historic big music, charting the ways bandleaders would use their sections for decades. And the creative successes taught Ellington that he could indeed proceed developing such large-scale, later works like The Far East Suite. --Andrew Bartlett

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Work Song (From 'Black, Brown And Beige')
  2. Come Sunday (From 'Black, Brown And Beige')
  3. The Blues (From 'Black, Brown And Beige')
  4. Three Dances (From 'Black, Brown And Beige'): West Indian Dance/Emancipation Celebration...
  5. I Ain't Got Nothin' But The Blues
  6. I'm Beginning To See The Light
  7. Don't You Know I Care (Or Don't You Care To Know)
  8. I Didn't Know About You
  9. Carnegie Blues
  10. Blue Cellophane
  11. Mood To Be Woo'd
  12. (All Of A Sudden) My Heart Sings
  13. Kissing Bug
  14. Everything But You
  15. (Otto Make That) Riff Staccato
  16. Prelude To A Kiss
  17. Caravan
  18. Black And Tan Fantasy

Disc: 2

  1. Mood Indigo
  2. In A Sentimental Mood
  3. It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
  4. Sophisticated Lady
  5. Tonight I Shall Sleep (With A Smile On My Face)
  6. I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
  7. Solitude
  8. Black Beauty
  9. Every Hour On The Hour (I Fall In Love With You)
  10. Balcony Serenade (From 'The Perfume Suite)
  11. Strange Feeling (From 'The Perfume Suite)
  12. Dancers In Love (From 'The Perfume Suite)
  13. Coloratura (From 'The Perfume Suite)
  14. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
  15. Tell Ya What I'm Gonna Do
  16. Come To Baby, Do!
  17. I'm Just A Lucky So-And-So
  18. Long, Strong And Consecutive
  19. The Wonder Of You
  20. Rockabye River
  21. Suddenly It Jumped

Disc: 3

  1. Transblucency
  2. Just Squeeze Me (But Don't Tease Me)
  3. A Gathering In A Clearing
  4. You Don't Love Me No More
  5. Pretty Woman
  6. Hey Baby
  7. Back Home Again In Indiana
  8. Blue Is The Night
  9. Lover Man
  10. Just You, Just Me
  11. Beale Street Blues
  12. My Honey's Lovin' Arms
  13. Memphis Blues
  14. I Don't Stand A Ghost Of A Chance With You
  15. St. Louis Blues
  16. Swamp Fire
  17. Royal Garden Blues
  18. Esquire Swank
  19. Midriff

Product details

  • Audio CD (October 25, 1990)
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Original recording remastered
  • Label: RCA
  • ASIN: B000002WA4
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #247,463 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Duke Ellington Store

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 3 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

June 5, 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 7, 2009
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
January 11, 2018
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: duke ellington jazz