BCA Month Salon Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Black Ice
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on September 3, 2016
Harry is hated by everyone, all the time, and forever and ever, or so it seems. AGAIN he is on the wrong side of every supervisor. He is a lone wolf and they can't stand it because they can't control him. They see a suicide, he sees a homicide and they despise that he won't let something go.
A cop goes missing, then is discovered and the scene had been set up by someone who didn't want the investigating officers to look any further. Of course, Bosch does just the opposite and when the case gets under his skin so deeply, he cannot and will not let it go. His supervisors should know by now that he will get to the bottom, no matter who is on top trying to cover themselves and their associates.
He begins to see several cases that are coming together as tied together in a way that would not be obvious unless a tenacious detective got his teeth in it. Black ice. Not that treacherous ice covering bridges and curves, invisible until you're spinning out of control. Black ice is a very dangerous drug that is making itself known and who gets the control is sitting on a gold mine.
A trip (unauthorized, of course) to Mexico to discover why a body found in LA has evidence of insects found only one place. This uncovers a plot that has tentacles stretching into Los Angeles and must be stopped.
I can't give this five stars because of the continuing (and BORING) theme of his being under scrutiny by IAD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2017
The crime, if it is one, is puzzling. Did narcotics officer Calexico Moore commit suicide by shooting himself with a shotgun? The physical difficulty of even doing in one’s self like that is daunting. Harry Bosch gets this case along with another one, seemingly unrelated at first. It involves a dead body found by a dumpster identified only as Juan Doe #67. Moore left a wife and Bosch often reflects how beautiful she is.
Lucky for Bosch he has a contact in the coroner’s office, one Teresa Corazon. She an attractive woman, available, and soon they are sharing some pillow talk at Harry’s cottage. Wonder if she’s whispering sweet details of the autopsies? Even worse, did Bosch fantasize about Moore’s wife during all this?
Bosch’s cases involve the drug traffic and require him to make a trip to Mexico where one of the most powerful drugs is something called black ice. It’s being made down there somewhere and somehow gets across the border in large quantities. Once he is south of the border, Bosch gets involved in various activities with Mexican police authorities, even taking time to see a bull fight. This kind of plot movement is a bit unusual for author Michael Connelly and seems to dilute the momentum of the story.
The most redeeming feature of this book is the surprise ending. I was tempted to give up the book earlier but I’m glad I persevered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Detective Hieronymus Bosch's motto is this - 'Everybody counts, or nobody counts'. Bosch cites it often in his work, to remind himself that going after a killer is just as important if the victim is a poor nameless person of little consequence to society, as it would be if the victim was the most famous or important person in the city.

Here, Bosch questions whether a death reported as suicide was not in fact a murder. It's particularly significant since the victim is a police officer himself, one of the narcotics squad who had been investigating a drug killing when he was found dead of apparent suicide. Bosch's persistence quickly puts himself at risk as he follows a string of murders in his efforts to piece together the puzzle and find the true killer.

This is one of the very early Bosch novels, written in 1993 and second in the series. To date there have been 23 novels featuring Harry Bosch, 21 with him as the main character, plus 2 Mickey Haller stories where he makes brief appearances. Following Bosch through all of the stories and becoming more familiar with him as he becomes an experienced veteran detective, it is very interesting read this story which fills in a great deal of history into Bosch's life and helps explain what motivated him to become a police officer and murder investigator. The ghosts and demons that haunt Bosch become much more clear. It's an excellent story and as a big fan of the Bosch books, one that I consider crucial in filling out my understanding of him as a character.

The Wrong Side of Goodbye is the next Harry Bosch novel, released on November 1, 2016.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2016
Harry Bosch, the maverick detective, stumbles into an amazing tale of deceit and drug cartels when one of his fellow officers supposedly commits suicide in a lonely hotel room in Los Angeles. This guy’s face was blown off, and there was some oddities surrounding the entire case that kept bugging Bosch. There was an unidentified murder victim that was left in a dumpster, there was a mysterious suicide note, and there was a complicated potential of drug smuggling via some biocontainment vessels that housed sterile fruit flies from Mexico. The fruit flies were legitimate, irradiated in Mexico and transported into the United States to be released into agricultural areas as an eradication technique for the ruinous fruit flies damaging millions of dollars worth of crops. The murder victim in the dumpster had signs of this laboratory in his nostrils which led Bosch to go investigate the plant in Calexico, the border town that has the Mexican counterpart of Mexicali, where the sterile fruit flies were created. All of these circumstances boil into one massive story of drug cartels, bullfighting, a drug lord who is very dangerous, and a mysterious suicide. This is an interesting tale, told through Harry Bosch, who is once again the lone wolf who follows his instincts, not the rules.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2017
I read this book after I read the series. It definitely wasn't one of my favorites and the books become more interesting to me as they go. This one is about Mexican drugs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2017
I am rereading all the Bosch novels because I am enjoying the TV series so much. Of course there are some significant differences between the novels and the TV scripts and there is a blending of the stories as well. But Connelly's writing is top notch and he obviously plays an important part in maintaining the integrity of the stories when translated to screenplays.

I don't think it would make a difference whether one reads the books first or sees the TV series first. Both are terrific!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2017
I have chosen to delve fully into the Bosch series...all 23 and counting. It will take awhile but as I dig into this persona, I can't help but feel Connelly has given his character a solid, real ( well, as real as fiction can get), texture....warts and all. I am reading them sequentially to follow the timeline of Harry's perslnal/professional life. Next up: The Concrete Blonde...sounds intriguing...recommend highly this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 19, 2011
Disgraced LAPD detective Harry Bosch is always in trouble. It's not because he is lazy or doesn't do his job. Quite the opposite - he does it too well, he is anti-authority and disregards the direct orders of his superiors, and sometimes he uncovers things that his superiors would prefer just stay buried. He is not trusted by his administration, and he takes actions that continue to promote that dysfunctional relationship because Harry Bosch doesn't care about promoting or making friends. Reassigned from his dream job in the elite downtown Robbery/Homicide unit after an internal investigation, Bosch lands in the Hollywood Division, not considered a plum assignment. When Harry investigates a routine case involving a drug, black ice, he has a meeting with narcotics officer Cal Moore, head of a narcotics squad. When Moore ends up in a motel room in Hollywood with a fatal bullet wound to the head and a suicide note stuffed in his back pocket, Harry Bosch is ordered to let it go (even though it happened in Hollywood and he was next up for a homicide call out) - and told to let the Robbery/Homicide guys from downtown take care of it. But as always, Harry disregards orders, and continues to work the case despite ongoing direct orders to let it go. All of this happens in the first few minutes, so don't worry - I have not spoiled the plot for you. The book is action packed without a dull moment. I did not read the Bosch series the first time around, and I am sure glad that I found them now. Start with the Black Echo. This is the second in the Bosch series and well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2014
I stand here, in front of the blank page and I am struggling to find anything, good or bad to say about “The Black Ice”. Well I guess that speaks for itself.
There is nothing really wrong here. The plot, while predictable is not terrible, just average and lacking anything to invoke any involvement from the reader, and I would say, even from Bosch. The writing is good and the ending is satisfying with not many loose ends.
Its just so terribly bland! Like the first book in the series, “The Black Ice” is just painfully average. The book moves slow, nothing happens for about two thirds and its a long read too which is not a good combination. Bosch seems to get involved in the plot because “the author wants to” because quite honestly he has no reason to risk his life and his job investigating the murder of a guy he once met for ten minutes. I mean the only reason the author comes up with is basically that the dead guy's wife was hot and Bosch wanted to get to know her “intimately”. Which he he does. For a lonely guy Bosch sure gets a lot of action, that's for sure. There's a bit of that “Marlowe vibe”, the more people tell him to back off the more he stays on the case but its all very flimsy as a motivation for taking on a drug cartel. The same lack of motivation happens to the reader.
Like in the first book there's not much to care about here. The victim is a dirty cop, pretty much in the cartel's pocket so why should I really care who killed him? Literally nobody in the book cared but Bosch. Even the guy's wife was more or less “eh whatever”.
The second half also seemed like a bad “Miami Vice” episode with Bosch in Mexico and the DEA and seedy undercover agents... its not bad but not really what I would expect from the series. It stopped being a sort of noir-ish loner cop investigating a murder to helicopters chasing drug lords, machine-gun battles and a fight with a bull... literally a bull!
So yeah... its a decent book but nothing more. Its long, slow and even the twist at the end was more than predictable. Maybe at the time, when the book came out, it felt fresh and entertaining. Today, for me, it just felt... eh... whatever...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
But after reading book one it was easier to read this one. I would say if I had started this book 1st, I never had bought the first one. But after the first one, the second one had more interest and was very well written with descriptive wording to assist in visualization of the story. If you like this genre, I think that you will really enjoy this writer..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse