Shop Auto Winter Products Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop STEM Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Despicable Me 3 available to buy Despicable Me 3 available to buy Despicable Me 3 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 4, 2015
You can be forgiven for thinking this is a Universal product in their 50's SCI/FI output, but it is a Warner film, released here in an excellent 16.9 ratio by Warner Archive, with clear B/W picture and good sound, and unusually, some extras, inc trailers and background to the film. No subs. The film is shot (mostly) on location, in Mexico with Mexican actors except for our leads, who graced so many films of this type they could probably do it their sleep (No jokes here please). I refer to Richard Denning and the wonderful Mara Corday, looking almost, stress the almost, matronly, but terrific. Their acting as such was perhaps never their strong point but they deliver the goods as required by script and subject. Willis O'Brien was in charge of the SFX and they are pretty good except for the close ups which are terrible and probably not him. These Scorpions move fast. Perhaps the film is 10mins too long (88 mins) for a film of this kind, and while it is no classic it is well worth a watch. (P.S. Why is the price on U/K Amazon £70???)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2017
I love these old Si Fi movies and I had been hunting for this one long time. It's a great old time movie
I had ONLY one problem with it when I got it and tried playing it in my DVD player it wouldn't read it took me 3 or 4
try's to get it to play. Afterwards I took it out and the back was sticky there was something on it so I tried wiping it with a soft
cloth the stuff was still on there.
So finally I used some window cleaner on it let it set then cleaned it and now it works good
I recommend this movie to people like myself who loves these old Si Fi monster movies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 24, 2014
I have a VHS copy of this movie, but the DVD is a MUCH nicer looking version. This is something of an obscure movie. It has some genuine thrills and chills, mostly from the Willis o'Brian special effect stop-motion scenes. It has some non-Politically Correct scenes, like where the male lead comments on an infant orphaned by the giant scorpions "I'll feed my babies beans and tortillas so I can sleep at night!" and another scene with a scientist who's substituting tequila for coffee on a coffee break. Offensive, but they're worth overlooking. Not a bad movie overall. Mara Corday is typically gorgeous, a real 1950s movie queen. Worth collecting, a fun movie. Difficult to find.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2015
Great movie. It scared the crap out of me the first time that I saw it as a young kid. Great special effects. The actress in it was a real beauty and simply stunning. You would think that after seeing her in the movie that you thought she was Mexican, but no she was an American Gringo. She is still alive as of this review and living in CA. I have probably watched this ten or more times since I received it, and I have loved every minute of it. It's a great addition to any Sci-Fy collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
A fun movie from the 50's story in poor, the acting is so so, the special effects are mixed good and bad, they used clips from the King Kong move that were cut from that movie and did do some good stop action effects, the modeling could have been done better and some of the effects are down right bad (showing the shadow of the scorpion thru a screen to simulate people being chased) but the over all film is just bad enough to make it a good watch, especially if you watched it when you were 8 the first time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2014
This movie was not all that bad. It has it's moments and even has a decent story. The special effects are dated but Ray Harryhausen is superb at his craft. I used to get this film confused with "The Monster From Green Hell", but no more. This is truly the better flick. If you like the nostalgia of these films, by all means, watch Black Scorpion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2015
Giant scorpions picking up passenger train cars and emptying people into the scorpions mouth. Stinger the size of telephone poles causes death before the poison. Classic horror and a change from the new sci fi. Close-up of scorpion shows two eyes. We all know scorpions have compound eyes. However, these are mutants anyway that are constantly drooling. Worth watching on a boring summer day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2016
I like the 1950's giant animal and bug movies. The animation is pretty good for the time period and the story is different. They do not blame everything on atomic energy and it takes place in Mexico. If you like the movie THEM, you should give this one a chance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2016
This is a classic monster film from the golden age of the 1950s. Set in Mexico, the tale deals with a massive volcanic explosion opening a crevice into the earth's deep caverns. Of course, gigantic scorpions find their way out and wreak havoc on the surrounding villagers and ranchers. Richard Denning leads the cast in a formulaic camp monster film. But, it is fun with some neat special effects creatures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2010
THE BLACK SCORPION (1957) 88 minutes

Any SciFi movie with Mara Corday is for me. Playboy pin-up Miss October 1957 has had other grade B sci-Fi roles in the "unforgettable " Giant Claw and also in Tarantula.
The premise for the movie is volcano's and earthquakes cause giant fissures in the earths crust and thru these passages come the giant black scorpion and his fellow arachnida to wreck havoc on the unprepared citizens of Mexico City.
Special effects were co-designed with King Kong's Willis (Obie) O'brien. All I can say is the special effects were not near the level of King Kong shot some 24 years earlier. Minatures looked like minatures, the black scorpion at times was just a black shaded figure which looked just plain bad.
Some goofs that I caught :
......In the scene where the scorpion attacks the passenger train, on the lead engine you can plainly see " Lionel Lines", which of course is the famous toy train manufacturer.
......When the scorpion attacks Mexico City , a couple a shots actually show the Empire State building in the background.
.....In some of the lab scenes you can actually see the shadow of the boom mikes on the sets walls.
The extra's provided on this DVD were more interesting than the feature movie:
...." Stop-Motion-Masters" with an interview with Ray Harryhausen.
.... Never before seen test footage of some Willis O'Brien idea's that were never filmed. " The Las-Vegas Monster" and " The Beetlemen" These looked great.
....A 1956 Harryhausen + O'Brien animated dinosaur sequence from Irwin Allen's " The Animal World " Just some amazing stuff for its time, I have never seen this before.
I could'nt go wrong with the price of this DVD. Bought this for a cheap price of $5.79 thru Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here