Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 280 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 448 reviews
on August 18, 2016
This is one of my all time favorite movies. We watch it at least twice a year! Christina Ricci and Samuel L Jackson give wonderful performances! Nothing racial about it. It is just full of energy and power. I can almost see this actually happening. It is worth a buy not just a rent!
The plot does not slow down as it follows the lives of two very different people thrown into each others lives.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon October 21, 2014
It's not often that a film is just as widely enjoyed and known for its soundtrack as it is for the story, acting and actors, but Black Snake Moan is one the exceptions. Plenty of reviewers here have already provided thorough summaries and opinions of the storyline so I will focus solely upon the actual quality of the transfer from Standard Def DVD to the Blu Ray format.
Keep in mind that the quality of what you see and hear also depends upon the quality of TV monitor you are using and its accompanying home theater processor and speakers. I have a pretty high end, esoteric system and am judging the Blu Ray off of that.

VIDEO QUALITY....
The video transfer is very good all around. Color grading is warm with a natural feeling and some slight color saturation. Nothing false about the coloration that I could detect. Deep blacks are everywhere and, for the age of this film, I was surprised that they were as good as they were. Contrast is excellent though some smaller details like hair and skin do not quite have the razor sharpness of films shot on video. This is not a bad thing as there is a definite filmic look to the movie. The transfer is very clean with no dropouts or aliasing and artifacts from beginning to end. The Mbps rate varies from the high teens to the low thirties. The video transfer is the star of the film....which it shouldn't be since the audio is such an important part of the movie. 5 Stars

AUDIO QUALITY.....
This is why I gave the Blu Ray version of Black Snake Moan 4 stars. The film has a fantastic soundtrack and yet the producers of this Blu Ray have only used a lossy soundtrack rather than a more uncompressed lossless one. The 5.1 Dolby Digital soundtrack tends to be slightly uneven in the volume levels when it comes to dialogue. A few times I had to go to the remote to up the volume to catch what was being said. It's not that the dialogue is not transparent, it is, it is that the volume levels tended to go up or down. While all the dialogue is steered out of the center channel, the majority of the film's audio is contained to the front audio stage. Music is spread across the left front, center and right front of the audio stage quite nicely but there was very little use of any discreet directionality to any of the front surrounds and almost nothing to the side or rear surrounds. The sub LFE channel gets a great workout in many areas of the film, especially during the powerful music and thunderstorm scene. The audio should be the technical star of this transfer but there is no excuse for sticking a lossy audio codec to this Blu Ray. 4 stars.

EXTRAS.....
Some fine extras on this disc and I can't say I have watched them all as yet. However, the documentary 'Making of' was one of the more interesting 'making of's' I have watched in some time. One of the extras explores the audio soundtrack and the musicians brought into the score which I found very interesting as well. Also included are deleted scenes and how the film is rooted in the blues, my favorite music genre.

Super happy that I finally have this film on Blu Ray. Super sad that they cheaped out by not transcoding the audio to a lossless soundtrack.

I hope this type of review covering only the quality of the transfer to Blu Ray has been of some Help to you in deciding your purchase.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
This is an odd but affecting instance of a production whose values include, more or less unapologetically, a goodly amount of fairly explicit sex, with an unusual amount of sly and alluring bondage, but also boasts generally good scriptwriting, acting, directing, and cinematography, not to mention blues music, signaled by the title. If you've an eye and ear for any of these matters, as well as for Christina Ricci and Samuel L. Jackson, see this movie, but not with little kids or anyone sexually oversensitive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2017
Christina Ricci has grown up. It's a film about a woman who is a sex manic, married to an Army reject who has panic attack when ever he hears a loud noise. It's a film that would not have been made years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2016
Neurotic teens. White trash. Loud music. Racism. Drug & alcohol abuse. A glimpse of nude Christina Ricci. Samuel L. "Muthafuggin" Jackson. Who could ask for more?

Saml. L. shouldn't give up his day job, but does a pretty decent cover of Stagger-Lee.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2013
It took me a while to get around to this movie (2013), but there are a lot of very good older movies
to watch that don't cost you $20.00 a pop, and this is one of them.
Being a Blues,Jazz,Rock guitar player, I really fell in love with the simple 12 bar blues tunes that Jackson
knocked out.
I did leave another review of the soundtrack where I get into the guts (guitar tab) of main song.
This is a great watch, and at under $7.00, how can you go wrong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2015
this was a fantastic movie dispite the controversy it's basicly a story of salvation between the characters of Samuel l Jackson and Christina ricci and also with Justin timberlake this is a true gritty story wrapped in some great delta blue I even got the soundrack as well for my mp3 I am glad to add this to my collections of other grit movies like joe place beyond the pines winters bone straw dogs and out of the furnace
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2016
Christina Ricci deserved an Oscar for her performance in Black Snake Moan. She was at every end of the psychological / emotional spectrum in this film. Samuel L. Jackson delivered a role unlike any he has ever done, portraying a man with an unbendable moral compass. His singing is actually not bad at all - great to see him in something other than the highly annoying Capital One Credit Card commercials.

I bought this movie. I'll watch it at least once a year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2012
Not one of my favorites of all time, but I watched it twice. I really did like it. And I really enjoyed watching the commentary, as well. The commentary enhanced the whole package.
It's definitely a strange story. But, it was compelling in a down home sort of way. I bought it after reading many reviews that heralded the acting. I found that I agreed with those acting reviews. All of the actors-yes. But especially Jackson and Ricci. And especially Samuel L Jackson. Initially, I saw it as purely an exploitation movie
and wondered why an actor of Jackson's stature would stoop to that level. He was wonderful in a really understated manner. The movie has heart. And for all the in your face brutality, it is warm and has enormous sensitivity. It is, in my opinion, an indy that hits the mark. Because it takes place in the deep South, many social elements dictate the course of events and the sound tract reflects that locale. Thumbs up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2007
Director Craig Brewer follows up his stellar work in Hustle n Flow with another provocative southern drama but this time he takes us from the halls of hip hop to the down and dirty bars of the blues. Hustle n Flow was about a man with a dream, Black Snake Moan is about what happens to those who no longer have them.

This film is energized from beginning to end with the kind of images that will excite your senses and perhaps even make you a bit uncomfortable. If the thought of an intimidating black man chaining up a white woman to his radiator doesn't quite fit with your world perspective then this film is clearly not for you. Samuel L. Jackson is Lazerus, a man who just lost his wife of many years to another man. He speaks with the kind of authority and thunder that can only come out of the bible days. When he speaks other characters listen and that's just how it goes. Christina Ricci plays Ray a girl who wants nothing more then to just stay at home with her lover, played by Justin Timberlake, but when he goes off to war she goes into one of her many nymphomaniac fits and eagerly seeks out the most nearby rod on which to satisfy her urges. After one particularly bad night of drinking and sex she ends up on Lazerus' doorstep, beaten and knocked out, this is where both of their lives will change forever.

There are some very strong images in this film, besides of course the obvious one of Ray tied up in chains. Its like the south is getting revenge for all those years of slavery. It's a racially charged image and when it hits you you're not quite sure what to do with it. Even more so when she embraces them in order to calm down one of her carnal fits. Sexual tension is ripe in the air as Ray tries to tempt the noble Lazerus who finds enough strength to turn down her advances and try to truly help this lost soul. Lazerus never comes off righteous as he even admits to Ray that he is not a perfect man, in one particular scene he goes into a fit mistaking Ray for his wife ranting and yelling at her because he just couldn't hold onto her. Strangely now he gets his control over this one particular woman, although of course with the best of intentions.

These are just a few of the many underlying themes explored in the film. The situation itself is downright absurd but it's used to such amazing effect that it truly is the best way to explore the places most films dare not tread. Another strong point in the film is the music, its electric, it soulful and haunting. The blues is a living breathing element and theirs a reason the characters sing it and you can see them live it in every frame. Even Ray gets her chance to let out her woes in one very simple yet beautiful scene where she sings the only song she knows, "this little light of mine." Somehow within the confines of all this imagery the film manages to create some very real and lovely characters. Lazerus and Ray have formed a bond that will last a lifetime.

The film is shot like its straight out of a pulp comic book. The south is never stylized but it comes off raw and carries within it a spark of blood and dirt in every scene. It's got strong characters and a well-written script. Its the kind of film that will be long forgotten come award time but those who truly seek out films that are immersive experiences will find this movie and enjoy every minute of it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse