Kindle Price: $3.99

Save $13.00 (77%)

kindle unlimited logo
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time. Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
Blackbeard: The Birth of America by [Marquis, Samuel]

Blackbeard: The Birth of America Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 69 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$3.99

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 385 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Matchbook Price: $1.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Holiday Sneak Peek
Get a sneak peek into Holiday deals on the Amazon App. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"The Coalition has a lot of good action and suspense, an unusual female assassin, and the potential to be another The Day After Tomorrow [the runaway bestseller by Allan Folsom]."
--James Patterson, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

"Blackbeard: The Birth of America is a pleasure--a historical adventure that corrects popular assumptions about the fearsome privateer through captivating and cinematic scenes."--Foreword Reviews
 
"Marquis writes quite well, but his real contribution with Blackbeard: The Birth of America is historical....An engrossing and historically grounded yarn."--Kirkus Reviews
 
"Spies of the Midnight Sun is not only a skillful, rapid-fire historical spy thriller, but also a fine source on one of the least-known and most heroic chapters of the Second World War."--Kirkus Reviews
 
"If you haven't tried a Samuel Marquis novel yet, The Fourth Pularchek is a good one to get introduced. The action is non-stop and gripping with no shortage of surprises. If you're already a fan of the award-winning novelist, this one won't disappoint."
--Dr. Wesley Britton, Bookpleasures.com (Crime & Mystery) - 5-Star Review

"Marquis is a student of history, always creative, [and] never boring...A good comparison might be Tom Clancy."
--Military.com

"Marquis is the new Follett, Silva, and Clancy rolled into one."
--Prof. J.R. Welch, Editor of Dispatches from Fort Apache

"An inherently fascinating and impressively informative read, Blackbeard: The Birth of America is an extraordinary and welcome addition to community and academic library American History collections in general, and 18th Century Piracy supplemental studies reading lists in particular."--Midwest Book Review
 
"Samuel Marquis's Spies of the Midnight Sun weaves historical truth with masterful storytelling in an action-packed and intriguing tale of covert spy operations during World War II."--Foreword Reviews
 
"The Fourth Pularchek is a thrilling story of international espionage and personal betrayal. Marquis is a master of suspense."
--Kelly Oliver, Award-Winning Author of The Jessica James Mysteries

"Marquis grabs my attention right from the beginning and never lets go."
--Gov. Roy R. Romer, 39th Governor of Colorado

"The Coalition starts with a bang, revs up its engines, and never stops until the explosive ending...Perfect for fans of James Patterson, David Baldacci, and Vince Flynn."
--Foreword Reviews
 
"In his novels Blind Thrust and Cluster of Lies, Samuel Marquis vividly combines the excitement of the best modern techno-thrillers, an education in geology, and a clarifying reminder that the choices each of us make have a profound impact on our precious planet."
--Ambassador Marc Grossman, Former U.S. Under Secretary of State

From the Author

It's fascinating that you're the ninth great-grandson of Captain Kidd. How has that relationship influenced your perspective and research on pirates?
Most of all, the ancestral connection to Captain Kidd has made me want to strive for historical accuracy because the Golden Age of Piracy and pirates like Kidd and Blackbeard have been inaccurately portrayed in books, movies, and television. Historians, authors, and filmmakers are going to have different interpretations of character and motivation, but they should never purposefully deviate from the established historical facts. In Blackbeard: The Birth of America, I have strived for historical accuracy and there is not a single character in the book that is not based on an actual historical figure (with the exception of a quartermaster to a secondary pirate captain, whose name is unknown). I owe it to my ancestor Captain Kidd to get pirate stories right.
  
Now that we're 300 years away from Blackbeard's death, what do you think the most commonly held misinformation is on his life?
That he was a violent, murderous cutthroat and villain. My book is dedicated to Blackbeard and the dedication says it best: "For the real Blackbeard--who has been maligned, co-opted, exploited, and misrepresented as a ruthless villain and sociopathic cutthroat in the name of propaganda and profit for three centuries now. May ye rest in peace." The truth is that probably half of the things attributed to Blackbeard are completely wrong--and my book goes out of the way to correct these errors, or at least not include them. For instance, the image of Edward Thache as a cruel and ruthless villain was largely created by propagandist newspaper accounts in London and America, the British Board of Trade, colonial governors like Alexander Spotswood, and Captain Charles Johnson's (Nathanial Mist's) A General History of the Robberies and Murders of the Most Notorious Pirates, first published in 1724 six years after Blackbeard's death. Unlike my ancestor Captain Kidd, whom famous pirate writer-illustrator Howard Pyle said should be "relegated to the dull ranks of simply respectable people," Blackbeard has attained a mythical status. Yet he is perhaps the most misunderstood and historically misrepresented of all the sea captains who went on the account in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Blackbeard: The Birth of America aims to correct that.
  
How will readers of your other books connect with "Blackbeard," your first pirate story?
All my books are historical fiction-suspense novels with multiple-point-of view characters from diverse backgrounds and a high degree of historical detail and authenticity--and Blackbeard: The Birth of America is no different. Readers who enjoy my books will like this historical thriller, maybe even more since it is pure history. I believe they will also enjoy the novel because it tells the story of the birth of America and one of the first American revolutionaries in the War of Independence against the British Crown.
  

Product details

  • File Size: 837 KB
  • Print Length: 385 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Mount Sopris Publishing (February 6, 2018)
  • Publication Date: February 6, 2018
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B078YMVZ8F
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #25,888 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


69 customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 69 reviews

April 13, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
May 25, 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
August 14, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
August 28, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
August 13, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
August 10, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
September 7, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
September 9, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Blackbeard: The Birth of America
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Blackbeard: The Birth of America