Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99

Save $6.00 (32%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Blacktongue Thief by [Christopher Buehlman]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Blacktongue Thief Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 3,349 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99
Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download

Discover new virtual experiences at low prices
Amazon Explore Browse now

Books In This Series (1 Books)
Complete Series

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Hardly since The Lies of Locke Lamora have I been so impressed with a fantasy debut... The Blacktongue Thief is a bonafide instant classic, and I sure as hell can’t wait to see what Buehlman comes up with next.”―Grimdark Magazine

“Readers of epic fantasy novelists, like Tolkien or Brandon Sanderson, will enjoy this journey, which is by turns fun, magical, or terrifying for the travelers. . . .
this title is transporting.”―Library Journal (starred review)

Dazzling. I heartily recommend this one.”―Robin Hobb, New York Times bestselling author of the Farseer Trilogy

“Wow! Truly outstanding.
I can't say enough about how good The Blacktongue Thief is. Damned good stuff.”―Glen Cook, author of The Black Company

A delight from start to finish. Buehlman takes the well-worn tropes of fantasy and weaves them into a new and vibrant tapestry.”―Anthony Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of Blood Song

Fast and fun and filled with crazy magic. I can't wait to see what Christopher Buehlman does next." - Brent Weeks, New York Times bestselling author of the Lightbringer series

“Chock-full of wry wit, foul language, and characters who arrive on the page with savage, sordid pasts hot on their heels. Often humorous, occasionally horrifying, and sometimes incredibly poignant,
I love every single page of this book. Every sentence, even. It's that good.”―Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the Wyld

Equal parts fairy tale, D&D adventure, and acid trip. Buehlman has successfully blended the essences of these elements into something at once familiar and fresh. I look forward to returning to this evocative and f*cked up world!”―Jonathan French, author of The Grey Bastards

The Blacktongue Thief is a masterclass in voice and thoughtful world design, with a wonderful cast and a protagonist who grabs you instantly. Fans of Lynch's The Lies of Locke Lamora will love this one.”―Django Wexler, author of The Thousand Names

Dark, gritty, lightning-fast, intelligent, irreverent . . . I loved it.”―Anna Smith Spark, author of The Court of Broken Knives

“Masterfully woven,
joyfully mischievous, but also tragic and so heartfelt. Fans of Nicholas Eames and Joe Abercrombie will love The Blacktongue Thief.”―Brian Naslund, author of Blood of an Exile

“Buehlman's prose floats nimbly from grisly to lyrical and back again, evoking a damaged world that's by turns bleak and starkly beautiful.
A fantastical road trip with a hard-boiled sensibility, complete with shape-shifting assassins, murderous kraken and some delightfully gruesome magic.”―A. K. Larkwood, author of The Unspoken Name

“Nobody combines the lyrical and visceral quite like Christopher Buehlman.
The Blacktongue Thief is fantasy of distinction―in its wit, its hard magic, its chiseled detail. Prepare to be transported.”―Andrew Pyper, author of The Demonologist and The Homecoming

Instantly immersive, with wit as sharp as a thief's blade and the most frightening take on goblins I've ever read.”―David Dalglish, author of the Shadowdance series

The Blacktongue Thief is fated to steal a lot of reader’s hearts with its charm, humor, intensity, and unrelenting fun”―Novel Notions

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

About the Author

CHRISTOPHER BUEHLMAN (he/him) is an author, comedian, and screenwriter from St. Petersburg, Florida he tours the country most years, writing fantasy and horror and performing at Renaissance festivals. He and his wife, Jenn, travel with their rescue dog, Duck, and a black cat named Jane Mansfield, who is proficient in ninjutsu. --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08GJQFFDX
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Tor Books (May 25, 2021)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ May 25, 2021
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 11879 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 413 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 3,349 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Christopher Buehlman is a native Floridian and author of the literary horror novels 'Those Across the River' and 'Between Two Fires.' He is the winner of the 2007 Bridport Prize in poetry, and the author of several provocative plays, including Hot Nights for the War Wives of Ithaka. Many know him as comedian Christophe the Insultor, something of a cult figure on the renaissance festival circuit. He lives in St. Petersburg, Florida. His first novel, 'Those Across the River,' was nominated for a World Fantasy Award for best novel in 2012.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
3,349 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 17, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on April 18, 2022
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 25, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 7, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on July 22, 2022
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 14, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 4, 2022
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on July 29, 2022

Top reviews from other countries

Lagoon
4.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful world.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 27, 2021
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Rick P
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that good really.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on July 6, 2021
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
JC
4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to score.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on December 14, 2021
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Manda Scott
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, intelligent, beautiful, wild
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on December 5, 2021
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Craftycat
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh how I enjoyed this
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on January 23, 2022
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?