Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Blockbusters: The Five Keys to Developing GREAT New Products
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
9
5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 28, 2002
Blockbusters brings home the key elements of bringing a true winner to the market. You will not be suprised at the elements they bring to your attention, but will be pleasantly reminded of the fundamental points that you often forget. Excellent business analogies make the reading not only informative and educational, but also enjoyable. Knowing the problems that some of these larger companies faced and overcome helps put other business problems into perspective. I have already implemented their Dirty Dozen questions into the team plan and I am building the War Room as we speak. I think they have created their own blockbuster and I look forward to further work from these authors
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2003
Blockbusters is one of those rare business books that once you start reading, you just can't stop. I read this book in maybe 2 sittings, because each chapter created a strong curiosity to learn quickly, "what is the next key step." I couldn't wait to finish so I could go into my company and begin implementing some of these steps.
Like most business books, Blockbuster has theory, but backed by solid data and many years of research; however, unlike other business books, it written in a very practical manner, particularly for the working business profressional.
The authors, Drs. Lynn and Reilly, seem to have a very good understanding of what goes on inside companies when teams work together to design and launch new products. In my opinion, they were able to successfully identify the key areas that all business leaders must be aware of if they are to be successful in product launches. The case histories of real product successes, both industrial and consumer, showed me the power of having a solid product development process.
I highly recommend Blockbusters to senior management or anyone that is involved in the new product development process, whether the products are consumer, industrial, or services.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2006
Based on conclusive research, the authors teach you how to apply the keys they discovered for radical "blockbuster" products. The research component extended over a decade. Some of the things they found reinforce what one would expect, other finds show assumptions to be inaccurate. For example, having a specific "due date" pushed teams members to find a way to get things done. Positive interpersonal relations among team members, however, was not found to be that significant.

Lynn and Reilly do not advocate "management by walking around." Their research indicates that senior executives who are passionately involved in the day-to-day decisions of bringing a new product to market get the job done, not those who have a passive, casual interest in the team's efforts. Therefore, they say it involves a lot more than just popping in occasionally to see how things are going.

Particularly useful is the discussion they have on creating products so radical that customers don't even know they want them because nothing comparable exists. In such cases, they describe how to be your own customer in bringing such products into being. They cite a couple of examples of people who did so, and because very wealthy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2015
Excellent read! Very informative without boring me to death. Recommended reading for MBA / Marketing students or professionals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2002
Blockbusters brings home the key elements of bringing a true winner to the market. You will not be surprised at the elements they bring to your attention, but will be pleasantly reminded of the fundamental points that you often forget. Excellent business analogies make the reading not only informative and educational, but also enjoyable. Knowing the problems that some of these larger companies faced and overcome helps put other business problems into perspective. I have already implemented their Dirty Dozen questions into the team plan and I am building the War Room as we speak. I think they have created their own blockbuster and I look forward to further work from these authors
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2003
It is difficult to find a well-written book that addresses the real-world application of New Product Development and "blockbusters" - Drs. Lynn and Reilly solved this problem!
Whilst their work is based on in-depth surveys and an extensive analysis, they convey the success factors to practitioners in an easy-to-read and understandable format. "Bottom-line" information is found here.
My MBA students (New York) are intolerant of all theory and no practical application - they love this book!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2002
Dr.s Lynn and Reilly have created an easy to read, must have book for those in industry seeking to make blockbuster products happen. Regardless of the industry, the key elements that Dr. Lynn and Reilly summarize are clearly universal for any product or industry. Highly recommend and as with Dr. Lynn's outstanding prior work, this book is a classic for any business library or for anyone seeking for the clues to make their products and companies outstanding successes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2002
Blockbusters brings home the key elements of bringing a true winner to the market. You will not be suprised at the elements they bring to your attention, but will be pleasantly reminded of the fundamental points that you often forget. Excellent business analogies make the reading not only informative and educational, but also enjoyable. Knowing the problems that some of these larger companies faced and overcome helps put other business problems into perspective. I have alreay implemented their Dirty Dozen questions into the team plan and I am building the War Room as we speak. I think they have created their own blockbuster and I look forward to further work from these authors
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2002
Every year companies spend spend hundreds of thousands and even millions of dollars guessing what it takes to create just one hugely successful product. A large portion of that money could be saved if new product development teams would read Blockbusters and take its message to heart. The real world examples evaluated by Lynn and Reilly include high and low tech "blockbuster" products created by well-funded corporations and a struggling garage start-up. The authors teach five keys to success that are shared by all. Well worth buying and reading thoroughly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here