Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Assassin's Creed Origins Shop now HTL17_gno



on May 3, 2015
Based on Tanya Huff's books, the Vickie Nelson detective series, I was delighted at how well the Canadian production company handled these paranormal stories. (So many US movies and TV series based on books are a huge disappointment!)
Here, the casting is superb, the chemistry between the three main characters is terrific, and the new stories blend nicely with Tanya's work.
One personal issue for me, this series avoids the physical romance lines. True, there's plenty of sexual tension, jealousy between the Vampire and Homicide detective, but the love story(s) stop there.
I highly recommend reading Tanya Huff's Blood series first. Then enjoy this collection, two seasons worth of DVDs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 28, 2016
Pretty different from the books in terms of plots but I think the writers did well with the 3 main characters. This was my first exposure to Tanya Huff, so of course I had to get the five novels and short story collection (found in three two volume sets).
Highly recommended as an appetizer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 11, 2010
This is a review of the actual product for Blood Ties: The Complete Series [Blu-ray], not the series itself (though I enjoyed it very much). This is NOT a review of the Blood Ties TV movie from 1991.

Blood Ties: The Complete Series on Blu-ray is presented in Widescreen (1.78:1) 1080 High Definition (HD), not 1.33:1 Standard Definition (SD) letterbox like the separate Season One and Season Two DVD releases. (The format info on the back of the Blu-ray box is incorrect.)

Features:

Twenty-two episodes on four discs (HD)

24-minute Behind the Scenes featurette (SD)

Three-minute Series trailer (SD)

32-second Season 1 DVD trailer (SD)

Five-minute photo gallery (HD, about 30 pictures, including production stills, art and Blood Price covers.)

Two-channel DTS (Stereo) for each episode, but no commentaries (subtract one star from rating) or alternate language dubbing.

Optional English subtitles.

Eight-page booklet with synopses of each episode.

Verdict: This Blu-ray release is superior to the DVD, and a much better deal, too! Most TV series are now produced in HD, but they are usually released on inferior DVD's instead of Blu-ray (Moonlight, Castle, Legend of the Seeker, The Mentalist, etc.) This release is a rarity. If you watch TV shows broadcast in HD, as I do, and you want to see them released in an HD format also, then buy this series on Blu-ray.
66 comments| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 9, 2015
I remember watching this show when it was on Lifetime and I missed it so much when they took it off the air. It's been at least seven years since I've seen it and the dvd is as great as I remember it. It is so incredibly good to see it again! The characters are exactly as I remember them and the story lines are as entertaining as ever. Henry was such a unique vampire; wise and religious. I don't think I've ever seen one like him. The only bad thing about it is that there weren't more episodes made.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon March 24, 2010
Vampires are all the rage on the small screen. Just look at recent entries Moonlight - The Complete Series,True Blood: The Complete First Season (HBO Series), or the CW's "The Vampire Diaries."

Blood Ties is a Canadian TV production that was filmed as a 22-episode season. In the US, Lifetime TV decided to split was was actually one season into two, with the first eleven episodes ("Blood Price" to "Post Partum") as Season One and the remaining eleven ("Norman" to "Deep Dark") as Season Two. This box set collects all 22 episodes for the first time in North America (the British box set that was released several years ago features all 22 episodes, but no extras). The TV budget doesn't allow top-notch special effects, but the show really works with what it has (the set designs are great, but the CGI is largely lacking), and its strength is in the writing and performances.

Blood Ties revolves around Victoria "Vicki" Nelson, an ex-cop with Toronto's Metro police. Vicki was forced to resign due to a degenerative eye disease, retinitis pigmentosa, and is trying to make a living as a private investigator. Her fiery romance with fellow cop Mike Celluci is an on-again, off-again affair, and her first case as a PI gives her more than she bargained for: someone is summoning demonic forces, and Henry Fitzroy, her new partner on the case, just happens to be a 480-year-old vampire and is the illegitimate son of Henry VIII.

The series pilot Blood Price is faithfully based on Tanya Huff's Blood Price (BLOOD SERIES). The remainder of the season finds Vicki exploring demons, incubi, reanimated corpses, shapeshifters, mummies, voodoo, ghosts...while caught in a crackling love triangle between former flame Mike and sensual, deadly Henry (Kyle Schmid beat out RPatz as sexiest vampire in a recent poll). Vicki's new assistant is the perky Goth Coreen, who also has her eye on Henry.

Blood Ties consistently satisfies my cravings for an intelligently handled supernatural cop drama. Its premise sounds promising in print, but without Blood Ties' cleverly crafted story arcs and meaningful character interaction, it would amount to little more than a tired monster-movie-of-the-week retread. This is a show that wisely knows not to take itself too seriously, leading to fast and furious one-liners, visual gags and impeccable comedic timing. The entire Canadian cast and crew does a consistently amazing job of bringing Blood Ties to life, and it's great to see a Canadian production receive airtime in the States.

The show's setting is Toronto but is filmed in Vancouver (with exterior shots of identifying Toronto landmarks), but it's still Canadian through-and-through, a rarity in days where tired Toronto is expected to double as Everyamericancity. This may be the first show since Forever Knight - The Trilogy, Part 1 (1992 - 1993) and Due South: The Ultimate Collection - Three Complete Seasons that revels in its Canadianness.

Although Blood Ties is currently off the air, its fan base continues to spread through word of mouth, Blood Ties hidden object game featuring characters, locations, and audio from the show, and Internet groups, thereby bringing new viewers into the fold. It has been at least a decade since I felt so strongly about a TV show; I was so moved by Blood Ties' strong female role model and intriguing blend of romance, police procedural, and the supernatural that I downloaded several episodes via iTunes and recruited several friends to the show.

Blood Ties remains my favorite post-Forever Knight - The Trilogy, Part 1 (1992 - 1993) for its enchanting blend of humor, passion, action, moral dilemmas, and the mortal (and immortal) ties that bind. Tanya Huff's source material has been toned down enough to allow families to enjoy Blood Ties together. Blood Ties protagonist Vicki Nelson (Christina Cox) is a strong positive role model for women through her physicality, self-reliance despite disability, and intelligence.

It's instantly obvious (except to American/Canadian networks who were reluctant to pick up the show for a second season, grrr...) why Blood Ties was nominated for numerous awards such as Constellation and Leo Awards. The entire cast, headed by Christina Cox (Vicki), Kyle Schmid (Henry), Dylan Neal (Mike), and Gina Holden (Coreen), has an outstanding chemistry that shines on-screen, and I can't wait to finally own the complete Blood Ties on DVD!
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 8, 2014
I received this awesome T.V. show within a week of when I ordered it. It is so much more than a vampire show. There are many supernatural crimes, Kyle Schmid, and hilarious moments of sarcasm and whit. This show was awesome and it's a shame there are no new episodes.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 2, 2016
Fantastic show read the books love the show christina cox rocks as vicki perfect job if you loved the books by tanya huff you will love this show. great acting and great characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 11, 2012
Blood Ties is a different type of crime drama. Intense,sexy,funny and suspenseful all at the same time. It pulls the viewer into a whole new world that takes on a life of it's own. A strong, sexy private eye teams up with an equally sexy and charismatic vampire to solve cases that involve the supernatural. They join forces to protect others from evil. The chemistry between the characters is sizzling and you wonder where things will end up. Enjoyed both seasons and was disappointed when the series ended. The story line could have continued for another few seasons.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 26, 2014
ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE BLOOD BOOKS BY TANYA HUFF, AND THE TV SHOW FINALLY MADE FROM THEM WAS REALLY GREAT!!! SO SAD IT WAS CANCELLED AS ACTORS/ACTING, PRODUCTION VALUES,, ETC WERE EXCELLENT. HOPE IN THE FUTURE THE POWERS THAT BE AT TELEVISION WORLD WILL TAKE A SECOND LOOK AND TRY AGAIN. WILL KEEP MY HOPES UP!!!!!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 14, 2010
My husband and myself loved the Canadian series Blood Ties when it was available on TV a couple of years ago. We were both sad when we learned that the series was not going to be renewed and that our favorite characters: Vickie, Henry and Mike Celluci were retired for good. I was tickled to purchase this complete Blood Ties series for my husband for our anniversary. We have both enjoyed it and the purchase was a great one. The DVD's were perfect and delivered in short order. We watched all the episodes with interest and some nostalgia. Friends of ours, who were not familiar with the series, have already put requests in to borrow it once we can let it go for awhile. If you like the supernatural, vampires and detective stories...you will love the Blood Ties Series!!! Check it out!!

Kat P.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse