List Price: $27.99 Details

The List Price is the suggested retail price of a new product as provided by a manufacturer, supplier, or seller. Except for books, Amazon will display a List Price if the product was purchased by customers on Amazon or offered by other retailers at or above the List Price in at least the past 90 days. List prices may not necessarily reflect the product's prevailing market price.
Learn more
Save: $8.70 (31%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Thursday, February 2 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Or fastest delivery Tuesday, January 31. Order within 8 hrs 36 mins
In Stock.
[{"displayPrice":"$19.29","priceAmount":19.29,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"19","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"29","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"O13VHH0Bq7%2BN0ppEuo2HTeC4ubDgXwcwcEKO8c5qLbxr9HUGg8rMILKa3H2l%2FI3AplJIusMqre2kH5vikkMrzJ3gIDLSynsLuvE2LGbCh15umT4maja8nEfGeWrR0TUCAtlkE2%2BFRGoPpZzj2eNj%2BQ%3D%3D","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"NEW"},{"displayPrice":"$11.80","priceAmount":11.80,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"11","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"80","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"gH0gy0hbl172qmBKjdqG4et%2BZk7p%2BHntXNj7SzFshFzvln3FwtkRrvVBeFUROjOZSOtxiSw%2FISUfBu719xn1Hxd14OeRyJJmK2Qg3%2FjYBRgDMWVzdzu4Z%2BEH9oz8e7DfyKsNJ%2BvrV8MskrrtRry%2BVRnC%2F7tb8%2FK4oew6w2h7%2Bcp7N3GkQW0TKA%3D%3D","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"USED"}]
$$19.29 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$19.29
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Eligible for Return, Refund or Replacement within 30 days of receipt
This item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt.
The Blood Trials (The Blo... has been added to your Cart
FREE delivery February 7 - 10. Details
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by BookOutlet USA
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: New, unread publisher overstock copy. Ships next business day for fast delivery. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Quantity discounts available on many of our titles in Amazon Business.
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
Have one to sell?
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$22.19
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: Barci Media
Sold by: Barci Media
(263 ratings)
100% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$22.12
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: indoobestsellers
Sold by: indoobestsellers
(233927 ratings)
91% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$22.39
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Fifty Third Street Books
Sold by: Fifty Third Street Books
(9106 ratings)
95% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle for Web.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Blood Trials (The Blood Gift Duology, 1) Hardcover – April 5, 2022

4.6 out of 5 stars 255 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$19.29
$19.15 $9.88

Enhance your purchase


Best books of 2022. Read Article pantry

Frequently bought together

  • The Blood Trials (The Blood Gift Duology, 1)
  • +
  • Blood Scion
  • +
  • Bloodmarked (2) (The Legendborn Cycle)
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Davenport debuts with an ambitious epic that blurs genre lines, setting futuristic technology against a historical fantasy backdrop...this invigorating debut marks Davenport as a writer to watch.” — Publishers Weekly

"Davenport’s ambitious debut is gritty and bloody, and balances emotional arcs with fast action. Fans of Pierce Brown’s Red Rising and Evan Winter’s The Rage of Dragons will find similarities in Ikenna’s journey." — Library Journal

"The Blood Trials is one of my top reads of the year—a riveting story with richly-drawn characters caught in a tangle of political intrigue, systemic racism, and nonstop peril. Don't miss this one!" — Melissa Marr, New York Times Bestselling Author of Wicked Lovely

"The Blood Trials is a fresh, intense gut punch of a book that has everything I love most in sci-fi and fantasy. I rooted for Ikenna, the trials gripped me, and the political mystery at the heart of it all kept me constantly on my toes." — Susan Dennard, New York Times Bestselling author of the Witchlands series

“The plotting is an intricate mix of action, intrigue, and betrayal, with a fast pace and a high body count… Thankfully, this is book one of a proposed duology, because revenge is a dish best served cold.” — Booklist

“With a high-octane sci-fi setting, a twisty murder mystery, and a badass heroine, THE BLOOD TRIALS is a damn good time.” — Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For the Wolf

“The Blood Trials is an electrifying debut that deftly incorporates the best elements of science fiction and fantasy. A must-read!”
Alexis Henderson, author of The Year of the Witching

"An action packed adventure paired with luscious world building makes The Blood Trials an enthralling, unputdownable read. Davenport is a force to be reckoned with." 
Bestselling author of Cinderella Is Dead, Kalynn Bayron

"If you want to be on the edge of your seat, find another book, because this one hands you a blade, shoves you right into the action, and demands you start running if you want to keep up. It is action, mystery, and heartfelt character--all balanced perfectly on the tip of a knife."
Scott Reintgen, Bestselling author of the Nyxia series

“Each bloody scene has depth and leads to more answers that compel you to keep reading, which was one of my favorite aspects of Davenport’s writing.” — Lightspeed Magazine

"The Blood Trials is an ambitious debut by N.E. Davenport had me on the edge of my seat the entire time and constantly guessing. This story beautifully tackles some difficult themes that resonated with me deeply and imagined the main character that I fell in love with." — Bookish Brews

About the Author

N. E. Davenportis the science fiction/fantasy author of The Blood Trials and its sequel. She attended the University of Southern California and studied biological sciences and theatre arts. She also has an M.A. in secondary education. She teaches English and biology to amazing students. When she isn’t writing, she enjoys vacationing with her family, skiing, and being a huge foodie. She’s an advocate for diverse perspectives and protagonists in literature. You can find her on Twitter or on Instagram, where she talks about bingeworthy TV, killer movies, and great books. She lives in Texas with her husband and kids.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Harper Voyager (April 5, 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 464 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0063058480
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0063058484
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 1 pounds
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 6 x 1.41 x 9 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 255 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Nia "N.E." Davenport is the Science Fiction/Fantasy author of "The Blood Trials" and a forthcoming sequel. When she isn’t writing, she enjoys vacationing with her family, skiing, and being a huge foodie. She’s an advocate for diverse, reflective perspectives and protagonists in literature. You can find her online at www.nedavenport.com, on Twitter @nia_davenport, or on Instagram @nia.davenport, where she talks about binge-worthy TV, fun movies, killer books, and a variety of other shenanigans.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
255 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on January 19, 2023
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on May 7, 2022
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 27, 2022
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 7, 2022
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 7, 2022
This book is a sci-fi masterpiece. It's starts off fast and the author didn't hit the brakes. Reach post of the story had a smooth transition. The character development character arcs ate masterfully done. You will feel as though you know each character. You will laugh, you will cry and you will probably get angry. But these emotions take you on a one of s kind emotional roller coaster with Ikenns and her friends(?)

Take a chance and read this amazing book. I can't wait for the next one.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on October 14, 2022
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on May 23, 2022
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on October 11, 2022
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on May 20, 2022
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Cheryl M-M
5.0 out of 5 stars Fierce main character - loved this fantasy
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 30, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Rose Kindred
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional piece of Scifi-Fantasy
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on January 4, 2023
mrls
4.0 out of 5 stars Already read that type..
Reviewed in France 🇫🇷 on July 19, 2022