Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 66 reviews
on July 20, 2015
Fascinating book about the origins, and mid life of one of the greatest enterprises ever undertaken. Geek does good, and changes 3 or 4 industries in the process. The Bloomberg terminal is ubiquitous on Wall Street, Bloomberg News has become one of the most respected independent sources in the world, and market data/economic releases are the industry standard. A microscopic look at the dynamics at Salomon Brothers, and probably the greatest employee firing in history. Begs for an update by the man himself for 2015.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2017
Michael Bloomberg didn't run for mayor of New York City until 2001, but "Bloomberg by Bloomberg" (copyright 1997) was plainly written with the possibility in mind. Plenty of public figures have written autobiographical introductions; this one, quite fortunately, avoids most of the pure sugar-coating and actually delivers an interesting story. Bloomberg is undoubtedly a textbook case for making "luck", as the saying has it, out of the intersection of preparation and opportunity. Though co-written, it captures Bloomberg's voice with ease and contains a hefty amount of solid, no-frills business advice that makes it decidedly worth reading for anyone who takes an interest in commerce

As a "how I made my millions" story, it's one of the most user-friendly -- even 20 years after its initial publication -- and Bloomberg's characteristic get-it-done style makes it an easy read. The entire book has a refreshing undertone of an unwritten but implied "Let's cut the crap. Here's what I want you to know."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2017
I am an admirer of Bloomberg. I think he's one the greatest business and government leaders of our time. Unfortunately, he is not a strong writer. Parts of this book read like an advertisement for working at Bloomberg. Other parts project coming technical changes that were probably platitudes at the time and history now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2015
I consider Bloomberg, a company which is always on top of everything, it is without a doubt the most important source of business news and information. After reading, this book i understand why. Michael bloomberg show us how he created his company, why prefer do it by himself than buying other companies, seeing improvements every day and beleive in his people. I know understand why he said succes does not get by revolutionary things if not by evolutionary things. Hard word, share, lucky and honesty by yourself and your people and have a good ego help to obtain what you want. Great book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2016
Michael Bloomberg telling his story of being Bloomberg--billionaire from the working class, brilliant workaholic, egomaniac and narcissistic character, caring leader of family-like team, zealous capitalist nurturing socialism in his company, stubborn and innovative, honest and clear-thinking leader. The book uncover the complex character of Michael Bloomberg, a man who influenced the whole way of doing information business and who managed to deliver IT project on time and within budget. I like very much his stories of Bloomberg raise and especially Management 101 section. Contrary I find Chapters on family and philanthropy quite weak. The former could be summarized as “Not your business!”. The latter concludes “I have no plans to run for public office” (written in 1997), which contradicts with decision taken 3 years later to run for NY Mayor.
Overall this is the great book by the great business leader, if you takes his egoism with a grain of salt.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2017
good autobiography but it ends in 2001 so we learn nothing about Bloomberg as Mayor of New York during the One World Trade Center construction because there are incredible coincidences between Mister BLOOMberg and Leopold BLOOM the hero of James Joyce Ulysses as I have read in this fabulous book “Jack the Ripper James Joyce Stanley Kubrick, the real story and his identities”Jack the Ripper James Joyce Stanley Kubrick: the real story and his identities
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2014
"Bloomberg by Bloomberg" is pretty good. Published before 9/11 (July 2001), the author writes mostly about his business experience, managerial wisdom, suggestions for living a quality life, philanthropy, and a lot about himself, though you won't find anything about his campaign or three terms serving the city as mayor. I recommend this title for anyone who is looking for a casual, organically-written book about business. The author is funny and wise, and the writing oozes with optimism and charisma. At the end of the day, I think you'll find it a pretty decent book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2011
Reading Bloomberg's perspective on his own success was revelatory on several levels. The transformation from a terminal based business to a news service provider to a communications platform demonstrated tremendous vision and boldness in executing on the idea that there was a demand for improved financial information disemination and speed. Providing and pushing the frontier for real time news and price updates has been a great business model. The places they went and progress they made in different arenas based on this one idea is just great.
Bloomberg has many strong views on management and shares his corporate philosophy of 'us' versus 'them,' of paying in equity from a common pool, of never rehiring someone who's left. From his perspective, it is clear Bloomberg is continuously innovative, an interesting contrast with some current outsider perspectives that in some ways the Bloomberg terminal interface exemplifies an antiquated technology persisting as a legacy system. Keeping in mind that he wrote this book ages ago, pre-governorship and at the time claiming to have no political ambitions, I wonder if companies all inevitably age as their founders age, if companies that produce products that were revolutionary at the time inevitably stop innovating at such a high level.
His background in sales shines through and seems to have had a large contribution to his success. His belief that his company is the best and his ability to sell that belief to others makes me to realize you can't overemphasize the importance of sales when it comes to business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2017
A good read about the life of a successful entrepreneur in the highly competitive financial services sector. The second half of the book reads more like a management book than a biography, but I found some of Mr Bloomberg's views to be refreshingly anti-establishment and non-PC.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2017
What a book! Bloomberg is a character, leader and fantastic narrator.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse