Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Blue Economy: 10 Years, 100 Innovations, 100 Million Jobs
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 3, 2012
I was excited about this book especially given all of the positive reviews, but this one is too vague to be taken seriously. I enjoyed Upsizing by the same author because it really shows you how these systems work and how they work together. The Blue Economy does not do that. It consists mostly of lots of ideas and no thoughts on how to implement them. So termite mounds all over the world maintain the same temperature and humidity levels. How? By their geometry. Could we get some more specifics? If the length and shape of the tunnels make the mounds work, why not describe how? It's all well and good to say that we should design houses the way termite mounds are designed so that they don't use any outside energy, but if you don't show us a diagram or a more detailed description then how are we supposed to act on that information? Visual information is severely lacking in this book. The projections about the number of jobs that could be created using these ideas are pie in the sky. Gunther Pauli is a brilliant guy, and his organization, ZERI, does some great stuff, but their main focus seems to be to tantalize the world with their ideas, then charge you lots of money to take their class if you really want any specifics. They hold their cards very close to their chest and are not interested in sharing or helping anyone who really wants to do anything about the climate crisis.
66 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2011
Gunter Pauli's writing may be a little stilted but there is nothing stilted about the vision on display. Changing business from a pipeline that connects the mine to trash heap demands that we approach business in a different way. Seminal books like Cradle to Cradle and Natural Capitalism introduced us to a new way of thinking, but were short on examples of technology and ideas that would allow us to move quickly to cleaner, more responsible commerce. Gunther Pauli's Blue Economy serves up a veritable banquet of examples. I personally have followed up on several of the products listed in the book for utilization purposes.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2010
Gunter Pauli illustrates a dramatic change in paradigm of business. Instead of the traditional capitalism - massive, linear, and economy focused, Pauli calls upon the wisdom of biomimicry to design a business and industrial structure that focuses on the interconnectedness of systems, the scope of the business model, and the integral need of the synergies between environment, economy, and society. A must read for anyone who plans on studying business, starting a company, running a company, working for a company, or buying a product produced from a company. Scratch that... you should read this book if you breath air and drink water.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2013
Somebody has got it figured out. Gunter Pauli knows what he is doing and how we can change the world and the environment for the better. Many case studies. His web site also is a good read for even more information. Business and government need to put the subject of this book on the table and get going on solving problems.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2013
After reading this insightful book it has inspired me to commence a campaign to help improve the welfare of the planet. It is great to be aware there are people of this caliber with courage and knowledge to coordinate world wide projects often based on simple technologies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2013
Blue Economy is a collection of solutions that have the power to reinvent communities and cities. These solutions offer win-win outcomes as they dramatically improve the financial, environmental and social outcomes of enterprises. There is great inspiration in the thinking and now it is time to implement the best and most attractive ideas in our communities.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2010
To our detriment we expend too much effort understanding the minutia, and not nearly enough time learning about the underlying systems - with all manner of unintended consequences. In The Blue Economy, Gunter Pauli reminds us that what ultimately matters is systems. This book should be standard reading for designers, engineers, chemists, business people - and academia.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2015
It is a huge list of different projects, which are nice to know but I missed the information what does this mean for the own business (case).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2011
After hearing Gunter Pauli on my local NPR station a year ago I have been waiting, impatiently, for this publication. He was an inspiration and an exciting thinker. This newest piece is chocked full of goodies for those of us looking for hopeful, useful positive change. He is also the author of a children's book series for little ones teaching science in a wonderful manner. I am very sad to say the entire series 40 or 50 in number seem no longer to be published. A genuine loss to the cause of changing the world with information and practical sustainability.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2016
Revolutionary, introduces with details the concept of Sustainable Economy and propose it as the paradigm of the future economic standard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse