Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Blue River / Gone to Texas
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Price:$5.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 14, 2010
I like just about anything Sam Elliot is in, but his westerns are all one of a kind. He never leaves you wanting. His performances are all hard hitting and his persona seems to have been made for western movies. Even in the tired old Gone to Texas screen play rewrites He still keeps you on the edge of your seat.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2011
We ordered this DVD for the Gone to Texas video and it was very good. Blue River was an extra for us. It too was very good, but only a cameo showcase for Sam Elliott. Both were worth the purchase if you are a Sam Elliott fan.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2012
I bought this because Sam Elliott was in both features, but is only a guest appearance in Blue River so have not yet watched this.
Gone to Texas however gave me a wider understanding of Houston's life and career so will lead to wider reading and research. I was however distracted by poor make up, particularly beards and sideburns of the characters as these were easily identified as false in fact in some sideburns the stitching was visible at the edges.

Another pleasant surprise was Katherine Ross as an Alamo survivor, along with Travis's slave sent to warn Houston and his army of what would befall them should Santa Anna capture them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2014
Pathetic. Trashed it after watching both part way. I love Sam Elliott's character and most of his movies, but these two were sorry, and they didn't even make it to the 1/2 way mark before they got ejected. Low budget, sorry script. No good character and no morals was my main issue. I can watch new trash any day of the week by just turning on the tube. Was looking for something better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2012
Enjoyed this western Sam Elliott is a very good actor plenty of action well worth watching. Blue River was not so good thought it may have been a western but turned out to be more modern action movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2015
I like both films because they have Sam Elliott in them, but "Gone to Texas" does tend to drag on and on. One just wants to get going to the main
part of the story.
Both have great scenery and good acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2011
poor choice. Apparently old TV movies, or at least of that caliber. Not the Sam Elliott i was looking forward to. Gone To Texas is the better of the two -- it was interesting but weak. Blue River? Not a western, not entertaining.
Look elsewhere. You can do better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2015
Gone to Texas is a very historically accurate movie about a larger than life man who was governor of Tennessee, president of the Republic of Texas,first U.S. Senator from Texas and governor of Texas. He was removed as governor because he refused to swear allegience to the Confederacy.
It centers on Sam Houston's life through the Battle of San Jacinto. A fun part of the movie is seeing if you can find Emily Morgan, the Yellow Rose of Texas. She appears twice for a few seconds each time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2011
Blue River had only a guest appearance of Sam Elliot, Gone to Texas dragged, Boring, Don't waste your time or money on this one........
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2011
My husband and I just love westerns. We realy like Sam Elliott.. all of his movies are great. I had not see this on cable or tv and we were suprised at how good the movie was.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here