Lyft Vehicles Review Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
24
Bluegrass Mandolin
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$23.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on November 4, 2017
The book is very good. However, ​in its previous format, it had an accompanying soundtrack, very disappointed that it was not included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 21, 2015
The collection of bluegrass tunes in this book is fantastic! The way Jack Tottle also takes the beginner mandolin player through each section is great too! Nice mandolin book for both beginners and intermediate players!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 14, 2002
Tottle starts with some musical fundamentals -- general points like reading TAB and musical notation, time signatures, rhythm, etc., as well as mandolin-specific issues like tuning. If you have another instrument under your belt, this makes quick reading and then Tottle immediately starts you on learning simple pieces. Since I already play the guitar, for instance, I opened this book and almost immediately learned my first rag.
After you have half a dozen dance numbers under your belt, Tottle breaks out a small chord dictionary and introduces the idea of the structured bluegrass song, with instrumental breaks in between verses. Starting with "The Banks of the Ohio", he then demonstrates how to construct a mandolin break around a song's melody. As he adds numbers, Tottle increases in complexity, and it pretty quickly adds up to an impressive repertoire.
Tottle's writing is clear and straightforward. All music is presented in standard notation and in tablature. Occasional charming photographs of mandolin greats add a nice touch.
The book I have does not have the CD, but the CD can only add to what is a great instructional book.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 21, 2015
Highly recommended for beginners. His scope of various styles is wide. Focused on standard notation, not so much tablature. This book should work very well for those trained in classical musical beginnings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2017
Purchased for husband. He is a beginner. Said he would use it more once he learns to play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 14, 2015
recommended by my guitar teacher
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 4, 2015
i like it a lot very readable,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 30, 2015
gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon January 30, 2015
This is one of my favorite books for learning mandolin. I learned with an earlier version of the book back in the late '70s and decided to pick up something newer since my original book fell into tatters sometime in the 90s.

I recommend it highly to anyone starting out on mando.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 10, 2013
This book has a lot of classic bluegrass songs and breaks them down from simple to more complicated. It's easy to learn from and is a must have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse