Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$12.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,017 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,312 reviews
on December 19, 2015
What's not to love? After falling in love with this movie as a pre-pubescent teenager when it was first released, I recently watched it with my son (who's also a pre-pubescent teenager) and it withstood the test of time. Actually, it's even better than I remembered (if that's possible).

This movie has it all: first and foremost a great collection of musicians showcasing their talent, multiple car chases, church members dancing in the aisles, a great horn section, Nazis getting their comeuppance, both kinds of music: country AND western, a penguin with a mean yardstick, lines you'll be quoting for years, and, best of all, a lesson in what could happen when you get a calling to go on a "mission from God." I could go on, but I have other things to do. You get the idea.

Run, don't walk, to your nearest couch and watch this now; you will not be disappointed.

This movie is rated R for what I can only believe to be language. There's no steamy sex scenes (or any for that matter, although there is a steamy sauna scene) or blood and guts violence (no one appears to be injured in any of the shenanigans). If this were made today, it'd probably get a PG-13 rating.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2013
After building up the duo's popularity through recordings and several performances on SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE, John Belushi and Dan Aykroyd as "legendary" Chicago blues brothers(Jake and Elwood Blues)--took their act to the big screen in this action-packed hit from mid 1980.

As Jake and Elwood struggle to reunite their old band and save the Chicago orphanage where they were raised, they wreak enough good-natured havoc to attract the entire Cook County police force. The result is a big-budget stunt-fest on a scale rarely attempted before or since, including extended car chases that result in the wanton destruction of shopping malls and more police cars than you can count.

Along the way there's plenty of music to punctuate the action, including performances by Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, Cab Calloway, and James Brown that are guaranteed to knock you out. As played with deadpan wit by Belushi and Aykroyd, the Blues Bros. are "On A Mission From God," and that gives them a kind of reckless glee that keeps the movie from losing its comedic appeal.

Otherwise this might have been just a bloated marathon of mayhem that quickly wears out its welcome (which is how some critics described this film and its 1998 sequel). Keep an eye out for Steven Spielberg as the city clerk who stamps some crucial paperwork near the end of the film.

THE BLUES BROS. also amassed 115,229, 890 at the Box office in the Summer of 1980, but production was delayed when filming began in the Summer of 1979, due to John Belushi's serious drug abuse which only continued to worsen, plus Aykroyd & Belushi left SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE at the end of the previous season, especially since Belushi's fame & reputation was going down the toilet at the end of 1979.

This musical comedy flick also had notable singers like
*John Lee Hooker as musician on Maxwell Street and non-musical supporting cast such as
*Director(John Landis)as State Trooper
*John Candy as Det. Burton Mercer
*Kathleen Freeman as Sister Mary
*Steve Lawrence as Maury Sline
*Steve Williams as Trooper Mount
*Twiggy as Chic Lady
*Henry Gibson as Head Nazi
*Frank Oz as Corrections Officer
*Famous director(Steven Spielberg) as Cook County Assessor clerk
*Chaka Khan as Choir soloist
*Paul Reubens(aka Pee-Wee Herman)as the ritzy Chez Paul restaurant waiter

THE BLUES BROS. was also claimed to be the 1st American flick to gross more money overseas than it did in America.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2016
An all-time classic, that should be watched every few years or so. Not only is the movie extremely funny, but it sends a good message that even the small-time law breakers, Jake and Elwood Blues, can do good in the world. They finally have a chance to make their lives count by helping the orphanage that raised them.

For the viewer born after 1995, it gives a good introduction to many of the famous blues musicians who influenced the music we all hear today (google the names during the end credits).

The Blues Brothers movie may be a bit slow to start, but just like an epic blues song, it picks up the pace until you feel yourself "flying off the cliff."
You can't stop laughing...

PD
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I wanted to sit through this movie from start to finish but I didn't want to pay four dollars to stream it once. (Funny that back in the 90's I could rent this for about two dollars, but now I have to pay four dollars to stream it. Well, beats driving to Blockbuster I guess.)

Thankfully for just a bit more than the cost of streaming i found a nice used copy, and now I can watch it again, or lend it to someone, or sell it to someone, and the soundtrack sounds great played locally off a high-end DVD player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
One of my favorite movies! Dan Aykrod and John Belushi are fantastic. I love that they weren't from SNL skits to making it into a movie. Which doesn't always work out, but in this case it did! A lot of the greats were in this movie! John Candy, Cab Calloway, James Brown, Ray Charles and so many others!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2014
I can remember when I saw this movie on TV with my dad when I was about 8 or 9 years old. Now being 27, and remembering how much I enjoyed all the action even at such a young age, I decided to pick this up on instant video. I have absolutely no regrets.

Upon watching this for the first time in almost 20 years, it was all coming back to me. The chaotic car chases, destruction of the mall, Nazis jumping off the bridge... who could ask for more? Equally hilarious was how Jake and Elwood remained relatively un-phased by all the destruction and mayhem they were causing, as if it never even happened - PRICELESS! Also not to mention is that the music that went along with all the action fit perfectly and did a superb job of enhancing the experience for the viewer.

Speaking of music, the fact that this movie featured the appearances of legendary musicians such as James Brown, John Lee Hooker, Aretha Franklin, Ray Charles, plus many others I may have missed, was definitely a bonus, especially for an avid music lover like myself.

Seriously, this movie is one of the best that has ever been made in the history of filmmaking. Dan Aykroyd and John Belushi (R.I.P.)are true legends, and will always be renowned for everything they've done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2017
How could you not like this completely silly movie. Yes, it was a bit over the top, but the music was fantastic. I saw the Blues Brother Review in Branson MO and loved it too. Belushi was great. If you like the old blues and rock and roll you'll like this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2014
Watching The Blues Brothers on blu-ray is like watching the film for the first time. Even though, I've watched this movie over and over again for over 20 years, it's still refreshing to see it so clear. The Hi-Def sound is absolutely amazing and the music will blow you away. The steelbook case is flawless in detail. Inside however, the Blu-ray disc doesn't have any artwork and is rather plain. The dvd included is just a cheap double sided dvd from a previous release and just sits in the case as if it isn't really there. You can also watch the original theatrical release that we are so familiar with or the extended version which contains alot of useless deleted scenes that John Landis edited out because the film was too long. The documentaries are also great and gives some insight into Dan Aykroyd perspective to what he thought the movie should have been. But I think John Landis did an excellent job editing the film. Can't go wrong with this one. If you want a collectors version to Blues Brothers, then pick this one up. It's worth it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2016
Its got a cop motor, cop tires, and cop suspension. It's a model made before catalytic converters so it'll run good on regular gas. So whadd'ya say ? Is it the new Blues mobile or what ??

Fix the cigarette lighter.......
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
This film is still hysterical after all these years. It is super clean as far as sexual content and violence. There are NO scantily clad women, no "bedroom" scenes, One of the main characters does kiss a former girlfriend one time, and one character asks a woman to meet him at a motel (but they do not get together). There is no violence in the sense of person on person, there are more car crashes than any other movie I can recall.
The one downside is the cussing. The "F" word is used repeatedly. God's name is also used at times. Just a warning in case it matters to you.
If it had been made without the crazy cussing, I would have given it five stars.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse