Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 86 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 206 reviews
on October 1, 2015
Terrific tour document by D. A. Pennebaker, this 1965 effort captures Dylan behind the scenes transitioning from folk hero to urbane rock icon. (He had already recorded Bringing It All Back Home when he makes this tour of England.) Dylan is transfixing on stage and a petulant brat backstage, enabled by a sycophantic entourage including boorish manager Albert Grossman, an irritating Joan Baez (along for the ride expecting an invitation to perform with him. It never came.), and road manager/partner-in-cynicism Bob Neuwirth. They were young, hipper-than-thou, and stardom had gone to their heads. But what remains is the quality of Dylan's post folk acoustic songwriting and performance. Though Dylan would claim to be bored with performing solo at this point at this point, you wouldn't know it from his stage craft; steely and dramatic under one bold spotlight. Pennebaker scores brilliantly with the concert footage, though intentionally "not a concert film".

For a stark contrast of just how much Dylan's persona had changed in a brief 2 years, a 1963 clip of him earnestly singing Only A Pawn In Their game at a Voter's Registration Rally at a rural farm in Greenwood, Mississippi (filmed by another) is included.

As for the extras in this Deluxe set, the hefty price ($64.95) does not justify it. There is a book that includes a word for word transcript of the dialogue in the film, and a little flip book of the Subterranean Homesick Blues film clip. Though novel collector's items, I've yet to take either out of the box. The desirable feature is the extra disc called '65 Revised that contains additional performance and documentary footage. The extended performance footage is brilliant and the commentary track is highly informative; Pennebaker and Neuwirth discussing film technique and intent and Dylan's skill as a stage artist in hindsight. Neuwirth's role, though at first seeming to be simply a hanger on, of providing the fuel of wit and creative spark for Dylan, is not to be underestimated.
It's a 5 star film, given only 4 stars here for the bloated price of this particular edition. But check out Criterion's newer edition that includes '65 Revisited and a bunch of other special features for about a third of this price!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2014
In the hotel room scene there's a piece that is cut - the second song that Bob sings to Donovan - Love minus Zero/No Limit isn't their! I was just sick to see that it was cut especially from a deluxe edition like the one I ordered. Of course I loved the whole party scene in the Hotel room and wish that it had been longer - been great if that had been half the movie it looked so cool (loved seeing Brian Pendleton of the Pretty Things so drunk/stoned he ends up on the floor by Dylan & Donovan). So, if it were me I would not buy this edition again if I had known that part had been cut out. The clip can be scene on Youtube - I just don't understand why it couldn't be included here.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
See Bob as he was in the early days,a great talent well filmed.this is a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2009
This is the young Bob Dylan on a three week concert tour of England in 1965. It is a tour de force of cinema verite. It is fascinating to watch a young artist of extraordinary talent being asked questions about the meaning of his music.

Dylan's incredulous manner in response is funny, ironic, and at times very sarcastic; especially with the totally "out of it" reporter from Time Magazine. The interview is one of the subjects of a very informative commentary by director and documentary genius D.A. Pennebaker and Bob Neuwirth, the tour manager.

His treatment of his young fans is a sweet counterpoint to his sarcastic treatment of the press. He is kind and very solicitous of a gaggle of young girls he has up to his room before a performance.

An added pleasure is the snatches of the beautiful voice of Joan Baez who accompanied him on the tour. Her offstage voice is as beautiful and radiant as onstage; strong and pure.

The deluxe edition has full tracks sung by Dylan while on the tour, including It Ain't Me Babe, It's All Over Now Baby Blue, Love Minus Zero/No Limit, The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll, and To Ramonna. They are great.

This a "must see" for Dylan fans. See it before you see "No Direction Home", a brilliant follow-up by Martin Scorsese about a subsequent much more controversial English Dylan concert tour when Dylan had switched from acoustic to electric.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2012
I really wanted this sooner but it came at perfect timing. I paid standard shipping on the 15th, it shipped the 16th, and it said it would arrive on the 26th of November or 11th of December after I paid for it (which disappointed me). I would check everyday for this to come on my doorstep and track it too EVERYDAY, because I was to leave on the 21st my birthday to a resort which I wanted to see during the car ride. Maybe an 1hr and a half before we left it came, on my birthday, before we left :D I was so happy!! So happy..tears were falling and when I opened it..wow it was just so perfect. IT COMES WITH:
A Subterranean Homesick Blues tiny flip book
2 Disc's
And a book with dialogue inside of thee interviews

I LOVE IT with all my heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2011
The deluxe version of Don't Look Back includes an amazing outtakes DVD with footage of Dylan performing many of his best songs of this period in their entirety. I think there must be 8 or 9 songs in the "1965 Revisited" DVD. Definitely a must-see if you're a Dylan fan. The descriptions of the deluxe DVD are not really clear about this--some make it sound as if it's only the audio portion of the song, but I was thrilled to discover that it is both video and audio of Dylan at his prime doing She Belongs to Me; It's All Over Now, Baby Blue; It Ain't Me Babe; and several others, all fully rendered. This must be the best available collection of live Dylan in his prime.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2012
I received my order, in good condition. However, no where in the review of this DVD did it state that this concert was not compete. Nowhere did it state that many of the songs, from the original recording (VHS) were deleted on the DVD I purchased. I expected the same concert that I purchased on VHS to be on the DVD copy I purchased through Amazon. I contacted the company that was the supplier of this DVD, but didn't get much help from them. I would not recommend doing business there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2008
The original version of DLB was and still is a groundbreaking documentary of a pivotal moment in the career of Bob Dylan, and rock music in general, but it is less about the music than it is about the drama and pettiness that Dylan was involved in behind the scenes. The new 65 Revisited disc shows more of the softer side of Bob, particularly towards his adoring British fans, and also presents the song performances in their full, unedited forms. "To Ramona" in Sheffield and "It Ain't Me Babe" in Manchester are absolutely wonderful! I would highly recommend this new expanded version of DLB, even if you already own a copy of the old version. The special packaging, books and postcards included are a nice bonus.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2001
This poet is sensitive and sassy. He makes you comfortable then catches you off guard. His genius shines behind his very human texture. It's full of history and great music. You're going to learn a few new things about Dylan, no matter how well you think you know him. He cuts and heals in the same sentence. He takes you on a journey that not only amazes the viewer but, also, this young man still wobbling and finding his footing. He has a sophisticated coarseness with a wry and dry sense of humor. The film is not high tech, which adds to the storyline, remember, filming this behind the scenes event was long before our digital lenses and technology had more imput than the director. The commentary is excellent. The added footage is excellent. If you like Dylan this is a must, even if you don't have a DVD player yet, store in away until you do.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2015
I am glad Bob Dylan had himself filmed. He looks very iconic and everyone just looks cool, Love seeing this "reality tv" during the 60s.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse