Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 3 Bodies and a Biscotti (Lexy Baker Cozy Mystery Series Book 4)
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 4, 2013
If you've been keeping up with the Lexy Baker cozy mystery series, then you know that Lexy has a propensity for tripping over murder victims -- and usually she is a suspect. Now in this book the stakes are raised, big time. That's because people are dying at the retirement center where Lexy's grandmother, Nans, lives -- and Nans or her friends could be next. Problem is, the serial killer is so sneaky that even the police think the victims are dying of natural causes.

This is a fun book that will have you puzzling over the killer while giggling as you get a peek inside the lives of some of Lexy's and Nan's friends. Whether you've read all the books in the series or this is your introduction, you'll enjoy the balance of humor, a touch of romance, and of course mystery.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2013
This is the 2nd book I read by this author. It appears to be from a series of books about Lexy Baker. It is a not too intense murder mystery that is fun to read. If you like a lot of suspense type of murders, this probably is not the book for you. I enjoyed the change of pace that gave me a few smiles and a couple of chuckles (mostly from the cat). I will probably read more stories from this series in small doses just for the relaxation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2013
I enjoyed reading my first Lexus Baker cozy mystery. I like a good mystery ala Christie, but at times I like to read the banter between friends and the escapades they get in to ...Dobbs brings that aspect, friendly chat, humor and a touch of romance with a mystery all rolled into one. I'll be looking for another of her books.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
almost any book less than 300 pages. A black and red wedding dress? (Not the protagonist.) With red hair to match and a black veil and bridesmaids attired all in black?? What happened to the time-honored custom that wearing black at a wedding is unlucky?? And since when do the participants wear their tuxes and gowns for wedding rehearsals, and after it's over, repair to the venue's (in this case a restaurant) bar for the rest of the evening? Characters had no depth, plot premise was fair except predictable and the murderer and drug tie-in were obvious from the gate, as was the late-stage proposal. Talk about telegraphing a plot. If the pre-published effort was read or edited, it was either by someone without a pulse or who was half asleep at the time. Among them: "Either he knew about this set up or was complacent in it," and "Her and Jack didn't always see eye to eye,". And far too many biscotti to suit me, but that could just be me since I can't stand the stuff, and I could easily have done without the farting grannies - that hasn't been funny since Blazing Saddles. I MAY try one more in this series but if it's of the same ilk as this one, I'll give subsequent efforts a very large miss.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2015
This was a very nice quick read. After having read the first three books in this sequence, honestly I did not know quite what to expect because the first three books were fun, but a bit silly. Although I am not crazy about the occasional curse word, the way this book was written was a definite improvement over the others I have read in this series and so much better than I expected. The characters' personality traits and behaviors were much more believable and the storyline was so interesting that I read the book from beginning to end without stopping. Also, the special "happening" at the end to make a reader want to read the next one was charming, It seems as though this series is maturing and I am enjoying it more and more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2015
Just like all of Leighann Dobbs books, this one too is very light and fun. One thing you can be certain of, is that there are not any raunchy dirty scenes or vulgar words. They are all tastefully written, so much so, that anyone can read them. This one could have been a little longer. It seemed like she looked at the clock and said "oops, time is up," and just wrapped it up. I will read the next one and any to come after that, simply because I really enjoy her stories. I would also suggest it to anyone who likes a nice, fun, clean story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
3 Bodies and a Biscotti is the fourth book of the Lexy Baker cozy mystery series, and it is one of the best. Because the author includes the main characters in each story, it's fun to see how they become like family to us readers. In this case, people are dying at the retirement center and Nans and the rest of the gals are concerned for their friends. As they begin their investigation, they realize Lexy's police detective friend, Jack, seems to be working on a similar case and warns Lexy to stay out of things.

Well, we all know that's not going to happen. The ladies' concerns increase as the body count increases, and they talk Lexy into helping them, against Jack's instructions. The results will have you turning pages until the very end.

Another thread to the story is the upcoming wedding of Cassie and John, with Lexy and Jack as their maid of honor and best man, respectively. Those roles seem to plant major seeds in Lexy and Jack's mind. But, are they ready to take that big a step?

This story was a fun read, as were the other three. It's a series that can continue for as long as the author can come up with a delicious new tale. The author has added a couple of recipes for readers to try. We are looking forward to the next installment of this interesting series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2013
If you are looking for a quick enjoyable read, this book is perfect. Although people die, it is not gory or creepy. The characters are lovable, there is a dash of both humor and romance, and it is perfect for someone who can't spend a lot of time reading but wants to complete a book in one sitting.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
A quick read in a cute series. And more adventures with the ladies at the home, who are delightful as always. I was a little surprised that Lexy is starting to worry about what she eats, but I guess that happens to us all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2013
Strong mystery for a cozy! Lexy's Nans and her friends believe that a friend was murdered, but the doctor at the retirement home has signed it off as death by natural causes. When a second suspicious death occurs, they are able to search the room before it is cleared out and find one possible clue. Considering the connection to other retirement facilities, the group checks out another retirement home using Lexy little dog Sprinkles as an excuse to visit. The information they get seems to reinforce their suspicions, but the police are not interested. When an obvious murder occurs the investigation takes off, but the police still are not looking at the first two deaths as murder, so Lexy and her friends stay on the case.

Lexy seemed a bit whiny about her boyfriend but at least she kept it to herself. Otherwise I found the book to be quite enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse