Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 39 reviews
on July 8, 2016
The ladies at our church are reading Body of Divinity together and meeting once a month to discuss it together. This is the edition that we purchased for our study, and while Watson's work is absolutely OUTSTANDING, this is a very poor publication of his writing. About 80-90% of the verse references are incorrect, and so our discussion leader is having to go through and give us the correct references to change in our books. For example, page 31 has 6 out of 7 references incorrect; page 32 has 3 out of 4 references incorrect; page 33 has 5 out of 7 references incorrect; page 34 has 5 out of 8 references incorrect...we've had to correct verse references on literally every single page. References are accurate on other editions of Body of Divinity, and I'm not sure why this edition ended up incorrect. There is no publication company listed anywhere on the book, only "Made in the USA. Lexington, KY. 15 August 2015."
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
Quotes from this entry include:

"The great truth is asserted, that the end of every man's living should be to glorify God. Glorifying God has respect to all the persons in the Trinity; it respects God the Father who gave us life; God the Son, who lost his life for us; and God the Holy Ghost, who produces a new life in us; we must bring glory to the whole Trinity....There is a twofold glory: [1] The glory that God has in himself, his intrinsic glory....[2] The glory which is ascribed to God, or which his creatures labor to bring to him."

"The Word of God, which is contained in the scriptures of the Old and New Testaments, is the only rule to direct us how we may glorify and enjoy him....the Scriptures are the very word of God....The Papists cannot deny that the Scripture is divine and sacred; but they affirm quoad nos, with respect to us, it receives its divine authority from the church...The Council of Trent says, that the traditions of the church of Rome are to be received pari pietatis affectu, with the same devotion that Scripture is to be received; so bringing themselves under the curse. Rev 22:18."

"God is a Spirit, infinite, eternal, and unchangeable, in his being, wisdom, power, holiness, justice, goodness, and truth....The world is full of practical atheism; most people live as if they did not believe there was a God."

"Thoughts speak as loud in God's ears as words do in ours. All our actions, though never so subtly contrived, and secretly conveyed, are visible to the eye of Omniscience. Isa 66:18....Viewing ourselves as under the eye of God's omniscience, would cause reverence in the worship of God. God sees the frame and carriage of our hearts when we come before him."

"There is a two-fold will of God, Voluntas praecepti et decreti; 'the will of God's precept, and of his decree' While the wicked resist the will of God's precept, they fulfill the will of his permissive decree."

"God is but one, yet are there three distinct persons subsisting in one Godhead. This is a sacred mystery, which the light within man could never have discovered. As the two natures in Christ, yet but one person, is a wonder; so three persons, yet but one Godhead. Here is a great deep, the Father God, the Son God, the Holy Ghost God; yet not three Gods, but one God. The three persons in the blessed Trinity are distinguished, but not divided; three substances, but one essence. This is a divine riddle where one makes three, and three make one."

"There is no such thing as blind fate, but there is a providence that guides and governs the world....What this providence is. I answer, Providence is God's ordering all issues and events of things, after the counsel of his will, to his own glory."

"Justification is the very hinge and pillar of Christianity....It is verbum forense, a word borrowed from law-courts, wherein a person arraigned is pronounced righteous, and is openly absolved. God, in justifying a person, pronounces him to be righteous, and looks upon him as if he had not sinned....The causa, the inward impellant motive or ground of justification, is the free grace of God...The ground of our justification is Christ's satisfaction made to his Father. If it be asked, how can it stand with God's justice and holiness to pronounce us innocent when we are guilty? the answer is, that Christ having made satisfaction for our fault, God may, in equity and justice, pronounce us righteous. Wherein lies the method of our justification? In the imputation of Christ's righteousness to us."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
Fantastic work by Watson. Love it! BUT, this printing has such small print that it is not practical to read. I have to return it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2014
Thomas Watson has such a clear way of presenting doctrine. You will enjoy his Q&A and his outline/list format presentation. He also gives you plenty of "USE" examples for your new knowlege. I find this book also a super reference book to use when looking up topics for teaching and/or witnessing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2015
I am using it for a ladies' Bible study. It is so great that I reordered ten more copies. He is the easiest Puritan writer to read. He expresses his thoughts about God like I wish I were able to do and makes my heart beat rapidly. All serios Chritians will benefit from reading any of his books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2015
I only read to page seven and noted six verse errors on page seven! One error I could pass off as typo but not this many. I looked other versions of this book and they had the correct verses!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2017
Thorough, well thought-out, and on the mark.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2016
Excellent product - Delivered on time and I am very pleased with the item!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2016
Great book on the Westminster Catechism
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2016
Wonderful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse