Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 319 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 467 reviews
on August 12, 2017
I was thinking, before seeing the film again after all these years, that there are way too many films that combine sensuality and violence, and here's one that doesn't. Well the joke's on me and an obvious memory lapse regarding the plot. I was surprised at how unnaturally and early-soap operaish the first scenes, depicting the protagonists' impassioned attraction, come off, but then equally surprised at how sexually explicit some scenes are for an American film released in 1981. The film is reminiscent of some of the French "art," often "noir" ones, shown in boutique-like theaters of the period. The score is often hyper-suspenseful and overdone in that regard. The acting is good, not great. But hey, it's a really good film, a smart and totally absorbing mystery and, for me, sometimes hide-your-eyes scary. Apart from the unconvincing, even giggle-inducing start, I loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2015
This is one of my favorite movies. Kind of a modern "noir movie" set in the overbearing heat of Florida. You literally see and feel the heat and humidity throughout the movie. The actors were perfectly cast and Kathleen Turner (Mattie) is about as sexy as one can get in a movie. I love her sexy coolness and the passion she brings to the screen. She's a modern woman into sex and she brings it. Not some dumb bimbo. She certainly does a number on William Hurt (Ned) He was set up like a bowling pin. Mickey Rourke plays a small but entertaining role in the movie. A well done noir drama-mystery in my view.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2013
I'm not sure that this was William Hurt's absolutely BEST performance, but he was young and dewy-eyed, and a big dumb joy to watch. Ted Danson as Lowenstein, flouncing around in Fred Astaire poses, pre-'Cheers', is incredible. Kathleen Turner, not yet been defeated by the Battle of the Flab and other serious diseases, outdoes all the femmes fatales of the 1940s. Mickey Rourke's stardom was really rooted in his supporting performance in this film, as an ex-con hood who knows how to make a bomb and is slightly smarter than his lawyer Ed Racine (Hurt). Richard Crenna manages to keep his post-TV movie career still simmering with a thankless role as Kathleen Turner's dull, snobbish husband.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2009
William Hurt and Kathleen Turner strike sparks in Lawrence Kasdan's Body Heat, a sexy, haunting tale of desire and skullduggery that echoes 1940s film noirs but is charged with an energy and passion that could only flare in the '80s. Aided by a sultry John Barry score, Kasdan's assured directorial debut foreshadowed the emotional textures he would bring to later films The Big Chill, The Accidental Tourist and Grand Canyon. Sit back and bask in this contemporary classic's wicked warmth.

This Lawrence Kasdan film that was released in the Summer of 1981 launched Kathleen Turner's movie career was inspired by "Double Indenity" pertaining to during an intense Florida heatwave, an inept sleazy womanizing lawyer Ned Racine(William Hurt)starts an intimate affair with an unsavory wealthy businessman's wife Matty Walker(Kathleen Turner)who goes to great lengths to keep their affair a secret like a bitch-in-heat giving Ned more ass than a toilet seat.

Matty soon makes it clear to Ned that she wants to leave her husband Edmund Walker(Richard Crenna), but also wants his money explaining that a divorce would leave her with very little of his fortune, due to a prenuptial agreement, so Ned helps Matty kill Edmund after Matty tries to get Ned to change Edmund's will to prevent Edmund's niece from getting half the fortune, but Ned refuses to change the will in order to avoid suspicious activity incriminating Ned to the homicide.

Eventually, Ned gets caught and convicted of Edmund's murder and winds up in prison while Matty ends up inheriting Edmund's entire fortune leaving Ned high and dry and off while Matty fakes her death and moves off to a paradise island with another man to mooch off of.

This also had to Kathleen Turner's sexiest movie where she was looking her best too since she's naked a lot in this movie and even shows us the 3B's(Breast, Bush, and Butt)along with the fact that Turner and Hurt are smoking hot in this drama with a lot of steamy sex.

BODY HEAT also takes me all the way back to memory lane to when we had all those budget cuts going on from the recession we had in 1981-1982 when Ronald Regan was president since BODY HEAT had its theatrical release in the Summer of 1981 along with the fact that I was 9 years old in the 3rd grade at Rockwood Elementry School in Calexico, CA and living in my hometown(El Centro, CA)at the time since I was growing up in the Imperial Valley back then.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2017
Awesome!! I love vintage cinema that includes classic actors such as Kathleen Turner and William Hurt. Plenty of drinking, cigarette smoking, sexy costumes, and Florida architecture to spend two awesome hours on New Years Eve...thumbs up!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2017
It was fun to watch it again, after many years. Maybe I'm just getting old, or perhaps because I knew how it ended, but it didn't seem as erotic as I remember from when I watched it way back then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2016
Body Heat is a masterpiece film noir. Expertly crafted with excellent performances, top notch direction, an amazing score and a tone thats hot, icy cool, soothing and unsettling all rolled
into one. This is a movie for film lovers of great cinema that is almost non existent today sadly. This is also during a time when Kathleen Turner was
smoking hot if you can believe that. This
masterpiece is a reminder of why the 70s-90s were the best 3 decades for movies, why William Hurt and Mickey
Rourke are such a great actors, that Ted Danson is hilarious and when effort was actually used in making movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2016
This 1980 noir, written and directed by Lawrence Kasdan, is intelligently crafted and steamy in every sense of the word. Mickey Rourke and Ted Danson have small pivotal roles that will knock those socks off and that's a lot considering the extent of the nudity in the sex scenes-which really are an intrinsic part of the thematic development. And as if that's not enough the score is saxophone fueled jazz hot. Sex, saxophone, arson, West Palm Beach in the summer and young Kathleen Turner - See this movie with the AC turned to comfortably cool.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2015
Body Heat is a good film but the Blu-ray transfer is very poor. It has an unnatural smooth look and there are no details. I can bet they did not remaster or restore this film from original film elements. It feels like they just took an old copy and just converted to HD format. Very lazy production. I think this movie deserves a better treatment and a better Blu-ray transfer.

Body Heat is quite effective as a film although its plot structure is a bit too similar to Double Indemnity which I think is a superior film. I think Body Heat could have worked better as black and white movie. I think black and white photography fits film noir style better. Soundtrack is probably the best feature of the film; it was truly a great piece of music and elevated the atmosphere of the movie. Both William Hurt and Kathleen Turner gave terrific performances as heated romantic partners. There are some interesting brief appearances by some other familiar faces such as Mickey Rourke and Ted Danson.

If you have an old copy and wish to convert to Blu-ray, I guess you can purchase this but do not expect a high quality Blu-ray. There are some extra features about the making of the film and interviews with the director and the actors, which are quite enjoyable to watch.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2017
A great noir movie with lots of suspense and heat. Great acting highlighted by one of Ted Danson's first appearances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse