Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Noah Gundersen Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$10.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 60 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 63 reviews
on December 2, 2016
What a brilliant job these two brothers have done! I saw their Battle of Britain documentary a year ago, and even after a rather vast amount of reading on the topic (my distant cousin was apparently a Battle of Britain RAF Spitfire pilot, killed a year later, in 1941), I still found quite a bit in that documentary that I hadn't known! Regarding this one, I just finished it w/in the hour past, and I'm still thrilled by the intelligent scope and sensitive moral treatment that they gave! Hats off to these two! Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2017
this is more like a reality show than a movie. the information is interesting, but i was expecting something else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2014
Lots of information from this DVD. Enjoyed the balance between learning to fly the current Lancaster and what it took in the 1940's. Bomber Harris is discussed. If you have an interest in WW2 aviation this DVD won't disappoint you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2017
having been one of them, it was exceptionally well done. Would have liked a bit more war footage, although hard to get. The interviews were spot on. Lost a lot of my mates on bombers. I flew in Halifaxes which never got the same PR as the Lancaster, rather like the Hurricane/Spitfire debate as to which was the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2016
Not a grand documentary, but a good one about the British Lancaster bombers and their crews in WWII. Was surprised Ewan and brother pulled it off as more than a side bit. Learned a lot, and I'm a WWII military brat. Good information if you want to understand flyboys and the hell they went through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2013
The RAF bomber crews were much maligned after the war because of the bombing raid on Dresden. The war was almost over and many felt that the raid on Dresden was overkill. However, you have to be there, to have endured and suffered the devastation of your homeland, the deaths of your loved ones and the desire to give it back to the enemy. The sons of a RAF Crewman go through this docu-drama to learn what it was like for their father and the rest of the bomber crews. There is much information that was kept secret in the British archives that were released to make this film. The statistics they revealed was startling but I'll save that for the film.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2015
This DVD arrived on time and in good condition. This was very well done by the brothers, it was informative and enjoyable and the subject matter was dealt with in a sensitive and respectful manner. We both learned something and enjoyed it, we would recommend it to our friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2014
I really enjoyed the scenes of one of the last two Lancaster bombers in flying condition. It was very dramatic and well contrasted with the scenes of dozens of Lancasters flying in another movie, "The Dam Busters" which I received shortly thereafter. I was very moved by the lack of recognition in Britain of the men who flew their bombers for five long years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2013
One of the best ever documentaries of the WW11 Bomber Boys from the RAF. Highly recommended. The actor Ewan McGregor and his pilot brother do extroardinary interviews, and land up being allowed to actually fly the only remain Lancaster bomber in the UK.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2015
Quite a good dvd. From the description I had thought that this was a feature film. This is a documemtary about the Lancaster bomber - and a very good documentary at that. This is a good addition to an avistion buff's collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.99

Need customer service? Click here