Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Bone: Quest for the Spark #2
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on July 14, 2016
This has been well-recieved by the kids I have bought it for, and they have a real love for anything Jeff Smith does. Can you blame them? Jeff is truly in a class of his own. You know that Jeff didn't do the writing, but it is still kid-friendly and engaging . It was a good buy, and I am looking forward to the next one for the young readers in my life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2015
This is the second book in the Quest for the Spark series. This series wraps up with volume three. This was a great continuation of the story that started in book 1, and is full of adventure and excitement.

The Nacht is taking deeper and deeper hold in the Waking World. Tom and crew are the unlikely heroes trying to find the pieces of the Spark and stand against the Nacht. In this book they deal with some scheming bears and venture into a beehive of gigantic bees to find yet another piece of the Spark. Unfortunately things turn even more dire when they find out that one of their own has been turned against them.

I continue to enjoy this story. It’s not as good as the original Bone graphic novel series, but it is still full of wonderful adventure and very entertaining. I enjoy our group of unlikely heroes and the crazy things they run into on their journey.

I love the questing nature of the story as well and how our heroes try to gather more and more pieces of the Spark together. The pictures throughout are full color and very well done (although I wish there were more of them). I also enjoyed the banter of the two Rat Creatures who have joined our heroes.

Overall this was a fun and entertaining addition to this series. I would recommend to middle grader and older readers who enjoy fantasy and adventure. This book is a pretty easy read and deals with an unlikely group of characters. I enjoyed it and am eager to see how things wrap up in book 3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2012
Since Jeff Smith created his unprecedented comic series "Bone" no other author had ever worked with his unique and wonderful characters until he and Tom Sniegoski published "Stupid, Stupid Rat-Tails: The Adventures of Big Johnson Bone." Now the epic world that Jeff opened continues in the novel series trilogy: "Question for the Spark: Legacy" written by Tom and Illustrated by Jeff. Tom writes in as much a captivating way as Jeff drew his original Bone series. There is just enough exposition to lay the ground notes for the action that lies over each hill as Tom weaves a wonderful tale of adventure, mystery and suspense that is enjoyable and exciting for readers young and old. The brilliant humor of the two stupid Rat Creatures and their decaying, less-than edible, Frederick is palpable.

Two pieces of the Spark have been found. The evil dragon, the Nacht, contemplates his next move as the shadow of darkness threatens the Valley, but the magical place called the Dreaming has found their Champion and the Waking World still has a chance. As the quest continues our unlikely Heroes venture to find the remaining pieces of the Spark, a stone that was a fragment of the very first ray of light which drove back the darkness and nightmares at the beginning of time. The Nacht's power is growing, spreading across the lands, and now even the mighty Dragons are held in its monstrous grasp.

In Spark Book 1 we were introduced to Tom Elm, the boy turnip farmer, the Dreaming's Champion who continues to lead his companions on this ill-fated quest on board the Queen of the Sky, Percival Bone's sky ship. Along with Percy, his niece and nephew Abbey and Barclay, Roderick the raccoon, a Veni Yan Warrior priest Randolf Clearmeadow, Lorimar (a supernatural being, who belongs to the First Folk destroyed when they tried to help the dragons defeat the Lord of the Locust), and the two stupid Rat Creatures (Stinky & Smelly), having escaped from evil spirits living inside Constable Roarke and his deputies, the Rat Creature King Agak and his army.

The saga continues in Book 2 when the gang must land their ship to look for previsions in the market of Wolf's Hollow. But before long Roderick, Abbey and Barclay run into Constable Roarke and King Agak. Tom and Randolf must face off with their attackers while the others race back to the ship. Meanwhile, Lorimar has been reaching out to the voices of her people who are still alive and asking for help. But the Nacht hatches an evil plan and for Lorimar to save her people she might have to betray her companions. Tom and the gang are later introduced to three unique bears, Bobby, Joey and Al "Is it spring yet?" (with a slight narcoleptic disorder), who have a somewhat different agenda. Enter a smoking machine, very large angry bees and a hive full of honeycomb, with the Constable and King Agak close on their heels and only the great Red Dragon may hold the answers as to what will happen next. Don't miss out on this second installment of a great new Bone adventure!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2016
BEST series. My son has been reading this series since 2nd grade/8 years old. Do not hesitate to buy the entire set, we did! I only wish there were more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2014
If you are looking for a continuation of the wonderful Bone series or something similar, or if you think you are getting a graphic novel, you do not want these books. They are clearly written for children. For contrast, I read and enjoyed Terry Pratchett's Tiffany Aching books and loved them; while they are clearly YA books, they are written in a style that an adult can read without cringing. And I am equally sure that Sniegoski is a wonderful writer for a younger audience. These are not graphic novels, the illustrations are sparse (if great) and I am grateful to Amazon for allowing me to return them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2017
My son loves these
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2016
Not the graphic novel, I should have read the description better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
Our grandkids love these books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2016
Great book. My son loved it and the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2017
great story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse