Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 33 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 42 reviews
on March 14, 2013
What I liked about this book is its fairly succinct history of the highlights of the game. I never took the time to learn the history and legends of the game even if I love baseball and this book helped give me the feeling I could hang with the best of them at a sports bar, at least when a baseball game is on the screen. It breaks the game into historical background, legendary players, and all the tidbits you need to make it sound like you know of what you speak. Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2016
I bought the third edition of one of my favorite baseball books because I didn't know how not to! This is an easy read as the author clearly has a broad knowledge of baseball, its history and its importance to culture. But it is also so incredibly educational I bet ANY baseball fan will learn something new if they read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
This book is what its title suggests - a kind of primer on professional baseball, with sections on historically important figures, statistics, ballparks, terminology, etc. Martinez is not shy about making judgments and advancing opinions, but he's sound on the whole. It's an easy, interesting read for a long-time fan, but its real value is for a newcomer to fandom. You should know, however, that it doesn't really present the basic rules of the game systematically - it's more background information on major league baseball.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2014
A Truly Well Researched Book on All Phases of this Great Game of Baseball. Each Section of this Book Brings out Great Stories, Hidden Facts and Fantastic Gems to Keep the Reader going All 9 Innings. I have the First Two Editions and Now The 3rd. Edition. Thank You, David Martinez for this Awesome New Edition.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
Find a quiet spot, get a cold drink and thumb through this compendium of baseball lore. There will be a requisite number of "Wow", "I didn't know that!" "Oh My". The diehard won;t read it. The diehard will savor it.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2014
I found this book to be very interesting and enlightening. I like anything "Baseball" and this certainly was baseball. For those who claim that baseball is boring, although this may not be the book they would choose, it certainly adds to one's knowledge of the game. It is a fun read and I am glad I had the chance to add it to my collection. Thank you David Martinez.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2013
An encyclopedia is not something which you will sit down and read. However, if you are looking for reference, this book is usually too brief compared to online sources. What it does, it does well - short articles about baseball, organized into chapters. A good collection of basic baseball knowledge. But that's just not enough value added in the Wikipedia age. If you ever want to read about WAR or Yogi Berra, you no longer turn to an encyclopedia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2015
This is the book you give your girlfriend to page through and take a look at a few times before you take her to a ball game. Of course, unless she really is a baseball fan, she's only going because you want her to and you like baseball.

And actually - any fan would enjoy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2016
A must add to the library of any ardent baseball fan...very concise definitions of terms...a really great addition to your sports library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2014
Though there was not much that was new to me after studying baseball for 50+years, this was a amusing and through book. Liked Mr. Martinez' style and his occasional personal opinions. Would recommend for all dedicated baseballers and for newbies to the game. 5 stars up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse