A Book of Chrissyisms: The Only Way to Find Art is to Lose Touch with Reality 1st Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 4 ratings
ISBN-13: 978-0995186583
ISBN-10: 0995186588
Why is ISBN important?
ISBN
This bar-code number lets you verify that you're getting exactly the right version or edition of a book. The 13-digit and 10-digit formats both work.
Scan an ISBN with your phone
Use the Amazon App to scan ISBNs and compare prices.
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Buy new:
$7.99
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Friday, March 5 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Monday, March 1
Order within 19 hrs and 32 mins
Details
6 new from $7.99
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime

A Book of Chrissyisms: Th... has been added to your Cart


Amazon First Reads | Editors' picks at exclusive prices
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Christina Strigas, a trilingual, Canadian raised by immigrants from Greece, she has been featured by CBC Books in "Your ultimate Canadian poetry list: 69 poetry collections recommended by you." Christina Strigas is an author, poet, and teacher. She writes dark, romantic poetry in a stream of consciousness narrative prose. She has published three poetry books and five novels. Her influences include Anne Sexton, Sylvia Plath, Mary Oliver, Pablo Neruda, and The Romantic Poets.

Product details

  • Publisher : Christina Strigas; 1st edition (August 17, 2018)
  • Language : English
  • Paperback : 134 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0995186588
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0995186583
  • Item Weight : 5.4 ounces
  • Dimensions : 5 x 0.34 x 8 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    5.0 out of 5 stars 4 ratings

Fearless and inspiring
Discover Black voices on Audible. Learn more

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 out of 5
4 global ratings
5 star
100%
4 star 0% (0%) 0%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on October 8, 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 4, 2019
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars An Indulgence for Lovers of the Poetry Hybrid Genre: A Fun & Inspiring Page-turner
By Alex on March 4, 2019
About "A Book of Chrissyisms"
"Chrissyisms" is an indulgence for lovers of the poetry-hybrid genre--133 pages of poems, essays, short stories, and quotes. It's particularly great for readers who enjoy contemporary pop-poetry, though "Chrissyisms" is (generally speaking) more mature in its content. Also, Strigas amassed many of her most popular lines/quotes from social media to elaborate upon their meanings; what inspired them, what she learned, and so forth. It's great for readers interested in getting to know Strigas as an author, and the book isn't an egotistical read.

It's for writers and it focuses on the creative process and life as a writer, though not everything is about writing. The book is certainly relatable for all. What I enjoyed is that it's humorous and vulnerable and easy to digest without being a childish. There's (in my opinion) a ton of bland, soulless dribble in the pop gene--"Chrissyms" is unique and thoughtful.

Girls and women of all ages, and from different backgrounds will enjoy this--it's zany, inspiring, and interesting. It's been marketed as light-hearted; a keepsake, beach read, or even a coffee-table book. If you enjoy what you've been reading online, then this certainly won't disappoint; older readers might find "Chrissyisms" refreshing, perhaps even 'redemptive' of the contemporary, pop-poetry movement. Go ahead and give it a read!

Book Design:
It's a beautiful design reminiscent of a diary (appropriate being that her journals inspired this book). There are no doodles/scribbles. There are no large, empty, white pages.

*Fans of Christina's Lit Mag Publications & Poetry Books:
"Chrissyisms" is nothing like her other books or individual publications which are dark, mature, and intense (many reviewers have coined her style as 'Bukowski meets Sexton').
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image Customer image Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer imageCustomer imageCustomer imageCustomer image
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 6, 2019
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Dane s
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting
Reviewed in Australia on August 22, 2020
Verified Purchase