Amazon Vehicles Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB DG Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 37 reviews
on December 17, 2011
Straight from the birthplace of Gangsta Rap (Compton) and one of the legends of west coast rap; as well as one of the best hip-hop producers ever (not just the west coast), DJ Quik returns with his 8th solo album, 5 ½ years since his last one. Since a teenager in the late 80's Quik has been in the rap game steady, and released his first solo album in late 1990. Over 20 years later he is still doing his thing and has been one of the most consistent out, and his longevity and the demand for working with him easily proves that (even though not too many people on this coast (East), other than fans and those of us with a good knowledge of rap music, would be able to honestly say they've known about him that whole time). He also has a mixtape or 2 & two group albums he's been a part of; Tha Fixxers w/ AMG (which got shelved & never came out) and his BlaQKout album w/ Kurupt of Tha Dogg Pound(that I own & am aware of). So even though he hasn't put out too many albums considering how long he's been around, he has a nice catalog and always puts out quality. Not to mention he is a GREAT producer and gifted musician, talented in using many instruments, sounds, and machines; which has made him a top-knotch, highly respected & sought after producer. This album compared to his others, is on the lower end of the spectrum, but still deserving of 4 stars. Here is how I'd compare it to his other releases:

"Quik is the Name" --- (12/90) --- 4.5 stars
"Way 2 Fonky" --- (7/92) --- 4/4.5 stars
"Safe + Sound" --- (2/95) --- CLASSIC 5 star album & one of the greatest rap releases of all time
"Rhythm-Al-Ism" --- (11/98) --- 4.5/5 stars
"Balance + Options" --- (5/00) --- 4 stars
"Under tha Influence" --- (6/02) --- 4 stars
"Trauma" --- (9/05) --- 4/4.5 stars
"Trauma Mixtape" --- (8/05) --- 4/4.5 stars (only had maybe 6 new songs with a lot of older ones/remixes)
"BlaQKout" (album w/ Kurupt) --- (6/09) --- 4 stars

This one is a little longer than his normal ones; with 16 songs. You get 1 almost classic, 5 that are average, and the other 10 are good or real good songs. Guests are a little heavy on here as well, appearing on all but 2 of the songs; rapping on 10 and doing the hooks on 4 others. Production is nice and that should be expected since DJ Quik handled it himself on every song, getting help on 4 of the 16; most notably one of his old go-to's, George "G-One" Archie, and the newer, but very talented Terrace Martin. Though not his best release, definitely worth picking up from a veteran and legend in the rap game.

#1 - 7.5
#2 - 9 (f/ KK (of 2nd II None) & Jon B. -- nice upbeat track)
#3 - 8.5 (f/ George "G-One" Archie -- good beat, and I think he's dissin' his own sister)
#4 - 9 (f/ Gift -- nice beat)
#5 - 8.5 (f/ Bizzy Bone & KK (of 2nd II None) -- good beat)
#6 - 9 (nice beat)
#7 - 7.5 (f/ Jon B.)
#8 - 7 (f/ KK (of 2nd II None)
#9 - 7.5 (f/ Gift & Jon B.)
#10 - 8.5 (f/ Bizzy Bone & Bun B)
#11 - 9.5 (f/ one time friend, turned enemy, and friend again: Suga Free -- great beat)
#12 - 8 (f/ Ice Cube)
#13 - 8.5 (f/ Kurupt -- nice beat)
#14 - 9 (f/ KK (of 2nd II None) --- Quik only does the hook -- tight beat)
#15 - 7.5 (f/ Dwele -- slower track like one of the couple toward the end of his "Rhythm-Al-ism" album)
#16 - 8.5 (f/ Garry Shider, who sings for 2+ mins. As an intro to the song (and not needed at all)

David Blake --- b. 1/8/70 --- Compton, CA
Check all my reviews
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2011
All I have to say is thank you DJ Quik. From the bottom of my heart this album is so clean that there isn't words that do it justice. Just...thank you Quik and please come out with one or two or three more before you hang up the mic and you better be producing for other people til the day you die. Masterpiece
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2011
I don't write many reviews, but I had to say at least this much.

In the month since The R.E.D. album came out people have come on here, youtube, and Yahoo Answers claiming it could be the album of the year......lmao.. it's not even close to being Game's best album. I've only checked out 3 albums this year, 1. Book Of David, 2. Hell The Sequel, and 3. The R.E.D. Album. Of the three, Book of David is by far the best.

Imo, it's better than BlaQKout and Trauma, and equal to Under Tha Influence. I thought Quik was just gonna keep deteriorating, but he really came with it this time.

The guest appeearnces were good, Ice Cube, Kurupt, Bizzy Bone, Suga Free, and Bun B (not really a fan) as well as some lesser know artists.

Quik definitely still got it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2014
4Star Album Legit Bass Line Funky Beats All Round a Platinum Sound I Don't Want Bore Your Eyes With Words That Your Ears Could Do Better Be You a Young'in or an OG Quik Been Bringin Tha Funk To Our Ears Since The Hay-Day of West Coast Hip-Hop & Not Just Through His Music But Also Tha Mad Production Most Peple Don't Take The Time To Look For His Examples: 2Pac; Snoop Doggy Dogg; Game; Maroon 5; Eazy-E But Because I'm Bringing The Bore Do You Self a Favor & Cop This Album 4 The Next Block Party
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2013
Ive been rocking with dj quik since day one. Since "pitch it on a party days" "summer breeze" days. I love his unique style, his classy yet hard hitting beats. I only heard two songs on this album prior to purchasing and ended up 5 stars all across the board. Dj quik brings hip hop back in a real way. And the cameo with quik and cube "Classik". You will not be dissapointed in this album it was worth every penny and I cannot ride in my car without it.! I love QUIK!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2011
DJ Quik has been doing it real big since the 80's. So far every album he drops is a classic. I was in 7th grade when Safe + Sound dropped and from there it was over. If your from SoCal like me, u know who DJ Quik is. As a producer, he is up there with Dr Dre if not better. As a rapper, he is a melo type dude I can relate too. I was a DJ in the 90s to Y2k and when I played at gangsta parties, you had to mix in Quik. This album is just another classic disc. From beginning to end, leave it in. Peace
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2013
Been a fan since he came out. His beats are fat. His flow is original and tight. This album is no different than his other ones meaning its tight. No brainer to pick this up. Seen him in concert in Vegas 2011/2012 in November. Tight, Tight, Tight. Got a contact high off all of the people that was smoking. Everything was way cool. Keep doing your thang brah.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2014
Quick older and wiser - has not missed a beat... I would still love him to bring that entire 'QUICK is the NAME' feel back... however, that being said - tight album - Quick's Groove #9 is worth the kop by itself....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2011
DJ Quik came with it on this album. It's tight all the way through, definately worth buying with all this fake rap going on now. Quik brings the creativity level up a notch showing why he's still relevant in the game. the standouts on here are boogie till you conk out, ghetto rondevous and the end?, great tribute to Gary Shider! love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2015
Thanks! J
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse