Digital List Price: $17.99
Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $8.00 (44%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
The Book of Pearl by [de Fombelle, Timothee]

The Book of Pearl Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 11 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 368 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Age Level: 12 and up Grade Level: 7 - 9

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 5 Up—In this stirring French fantasy, a Pearl is far more than a precious gem. A Pearl is a member of the talented Jewish family who has a gift for producing magnificent artisanal marshmallows in their charming patisserie. During a rainstorm, Monsieur Jacques Pearl rescues and adopts a boy he spies standing frightened and alone in the downpour. It quickly becomes clear that the boy is not of this world; he is from a world of fairy tales, complete with enchanting fay, usurped kings, and dastardly assassins who are on the hunt for the disappeared prince. Chapters set in this fantasy world are interspersed among those that take place in France before, during, and after World War II. Although de Fombelle excels in his romantic and ornate descriptions of the different worlds and characters, readers might find it difficult to follow the disparate narratives. This is not helped by the narrator, a seemingly random character who literally stumbles into the story. Frustratingly, his significance and contribution to the main story remains purposefully muddled for much of the book. However, at its heart, this is a fascinating and epic tale of forbidden love that spans years and universes. The events of World War II make a surprisingly accurate parallel for lost and broken children looking for remnants of their former lives, while elements of the impossible love story resound beautifully throughout. VERDICT Fans of Inkheart and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children will enjoy this fantastical and romantic book, while the sophisticated language, literary devices, and historical background may make this a fine option for a class book study.—Maria Alegre, The Dalton School, New York City

Review

A compelling story of a first love that defines a lifetime. * The Bookseller * This sweeping fairy tale of love and memory will bewitch readers * BookTrust * Sophisticated tale * School Library Association * "[...] quite simply, a stunning example of the power of quality storytelling that will entrance young adult readers. [...]This is fiction - young adult or otherwise - at its best." * Young Post *

Product details

  • File Size: 1705 KB
  • Print Length: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Candlewick Press (February 6, 2018)
  • Publication Date: February 6, 2018
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0788FK7TY
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,122,199 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 11 customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

February 6, 2018
Format: Hardcover
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
February 13, 2018
Format: Hardcover
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
December 6, 2017
Format: Paperback
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Book of Pearl
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Book of Pearl