Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 49 reviews
on August 20, 2017
From the introduction: "The account presented in these pages of 19th Century America's most famous murder case is excerpted and adapted from the unpublished memoirs of a (thus far) unknown lady of Fall River, Massachusetts. Since the typewritten, unedited manuscript came to light at a 1990 estate sale, its provenance has been established to a satisfying degree. As part of the contents of an unopened trunk, it resided since the turn of the century in the basement of a private archive in Boston."

No page numbers in the book; on a page with a drawing of Andrew J. Borden, near the back of the book, a newspaper article from The Fall River Herald - has a statement from the servant, Bridget Sullivan, to the police that she was in the attic washing windows at the time of Andrew Borden's murder and that she didn't see anyone enter or leave the house. Emphasis on LEAVE! Her bedroom window overlooks the back yard and she has a view of the barn door! So much for Lizzie's alibi! Remember, Bridget was said to have been laying on her bed resting before starting the noon meal on the day of the murders. All kinds of gems in this well done book; very glad I bought and read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2011
I'm not familiar with Rick Geary's other books, but I'm a big fan of Lizzie Borden (ever since reading "You Be the Judge, You Be the Jury in fourth grade)! I added this book to my library before going to stay at the Lizzie Borden B&B, and sleeping in the JV Morse room where Abby took her whacks! This book is loaded with content. Maps of the town, drawings of the house layout, newspaper clippings, etc. The illustrated story is told from the perspective of a family friend, and combines several testimonials. Plus, the style of the book makes the dense, murky pile of evidence used in the case a little more palatable to those of us who go blank during the "Order" part of "Law and Order."

A couple comments: the book is entirely in black and white. beautifully drawn graphic novel, but the lack of color is disappointing. Also, the graphic novel little more text heavy than some might like. Finally, I would have enjoyed if there had been some more photos of the key players, murders, autopsy, house, etc. That would have made it more of a "treasury" in my opinion.

Overall, if you're a fan of Lizzie, this is a must. You might find a lot of it repetitive with what you already know, but it's an entertaining collection and less academic-heavy. If you're a fan of serial killers, gore, mystery, history, etc, this is a good addition. If you're just a fan of quality graphic novels, however, this might leave you a little underwhelmed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2014
Rick Geary's retelling of the case of Lizzie Borden is enhanced by his strong graphic style. He doesn't dwell on the grotesque, but his. Illustrations are nonetheless eerie. Perfect nonfiction read for a middle schooler, too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2008
Too often, comics are thought of as "kid stuff". But Rick Geary has created a well-researched account of the infamous Borden murders in cartoon format, & it is useful for adults & children alike.

Filled with illustrations dervived from old photos, maps & blueprints, the reader gets an excellent feel for the events.

It is also well-written. Geary makes plain many features & details, such as the oppressively hot Summer temperatures (this kept most people off the street), the single eyewitness that saw Lizzy in the yard, clean & un-bloodstained, & many other documented facts that are neglected or ignored by careless or less objective authors.

This early era in American History come across well, & the cartoon approach makes the "horse & buggy" period comprehensible to the Internet Generation.

The Hipster gives it a Big Thumbs UP!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2000
Geary is one of the best and most under-appreciated illustrators of our time. His Victorian Murder series is both fascinating and beautifully illustrated. "The Borden Tragedy" is especially well done. Every drawing is something to be carefully examined and enjoyed. My only complaint - and it's a big one - is the fault of his publisher. If this is indeed a "Series" then it should look like one, and not haphazard accidents of design. Only the recent two volumes have a similar look, and even then, one has a bio of Geary and other doesn't! These icredible works should be reissued as a set, with consistent design treatments. This would be a wonderful opportunity to mimic period book design!. Afterall, the Victorians LOVED multi-volumed book sets! Nevertheless, well done ...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2016
I did not realize this was a graphic novel. Of course most of us are familiar with the story. This is an interesting take on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2013
Particularly enjoyed the treatment of the story as a graphic novel. I've always been intrigued by the case, (even visited the house last year) & have also read other books on the case. This one is a simple down to brass tacks approach. I also ordered the "Jack the ripper" book by the same author. Both well done & worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2012
Kudos to Mr. Geary for an outstanding book! I have never purchased a graphic novel and this one is amazing! More than just the excellent artwork that gives you a bird's eye view of the Borden home's rooms, this book covers the timeline of the murders and the evidence. I would love to know the identity of the mystery author Mr. Geary bases his story upon. Well done! A new fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2013
Black and white, engaging real telling of LB mystery. If you are expecting a novel, do not buy this. It is a graphic novel and each page is well illustrated. Nice touch with the newsclippings but hard to read on my phone. Better detail on the Kindle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2011
I've long been fascinated with the whole Lizzie Borden legend, this is a pretty cool version of the story. We drove by the house once years ago, and I was so sad it was already closed for the day. Now I really want to return to Fall River and walk those creepy hallways myself. If you have that macabre side to you, this grown up comicbook is for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse