Customer Reviews: Born in Fire (Irish Born Trilogy)
4-month subscription Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 New Professional Skin Care Cozy Knits Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon fall24 fall24 fall24  All-New Echo Dot Introducing new colors All-New Kindle for Kids Edition Frank Sinatra Shop Cycling on Amazon

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 30, 2001
The first book in NR's 'Born In' series is wonderful, you don't want to miss it! "Born In Fire" focuses on Maggie Concannon, a tempermental and loyal woman who is also a gifted artist. Gallery owner Rogan Sweeney takes an interest in Maggie's fabulous glass creations, and soon after takes a personal interest in Maggie herself. Maggie is a wonderful character, stubborn and flawed, yet still caring. Nora does a fabulous job of developing Maggie, and does it in a way that she seems like a real person. Rogan is an extremely likeable hero. Maggie's sister, Brianna, is her complete opposite; quiet, sweet, and calm. The relationship between the two sisters, however, is very touching and very real. This book is full of colourful characters, some we love and some we hate. The romance between Rogan and Maggie is wonderful. Basically, I just can't say enough good things about this book. You will love it!
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2008
Maggie Concannon is a very gifted artist specializing in glassblowing. While her craft has taken her around the world, the untimely death of her father has brought her home to the small village in Ireland. Maggie has a very strained relationship with her remaining family. Her mother blames her for dreams not realized, and her sister is her polar opposite.

Maggie is content with her life until Rogan Sweeney barges in and tries to take charge. He is a wealthy gallery owner, and wants to represent and display Maggie's work. Rogan is sure he can make her a star and wealthier than her wildest dreams. She throws him a curve when she informs him that she loves her work and each piece is what is important, not the money. They instantly clash, but yet are still very attracted to each other. Maggie is a fiery emotional red head that is never afraid to say what is on her mind. Rogan is tall dark and very controlled. Never a dull moment for these two.

This was a good light read, but not my favorite NR book.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2013
Please be aware. This is an older Nora Roberts Trilogy, with new names and covers. This will be a disappointment if you have read it before.
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2009
As a reader who most often prefers historical romance, I was skeptical when my bookseller urged me to read Born In Fire, the first of a trilogy set in modern Ireland. I have often said that I can only enter the fantasy world romance offers when the time and place is long ago and far away. Well, I was wrong, at least in terms of the time. But the place, well, Nora's Irish setting, both in Dublin and County Clare, offered me a wonderful fantasy world, and that's due to her phenomenal skill as the creator of characters and story-lines.

Born In Fire is the story of Margaret Mary Concannon, a brilliant and tormented artist whose medium is glass. After the death of her beloved father, she is determined to live her life alone. After all, while she loves her sweet sister Brianna, she had seen no love between her parents, and her mother despises her very being.

In walks Rogan Sweeney, wealthy and handsome gallery owner. He wants to make her a star. He sees in her art something he must possess, and he soon comes to see that in her as well. Like the water and hot glass that form her art, Maggie and Rogan are destined to be together, even though it's going to take him some time and finesse to convince her.

In a nice change of pace, it is not Rogan who is the tormented soul. No, that distinction belongs to Maggie, and I wouldn't have wanted it any other way. The manner in which the author describes her torment is heart-wrenching. The manner in which the author uses that torment to fuel Maggie's art is beautiful. I had no trouble seeing in my mind's eye the works of art Maggie created, and when Rogan assists Maggie on a particular piece, I felt I was in the room with them.

The imagery used by Nora Roberts to describe not only the art Maggie creates but the process as well is incredibly well done, and these were the scenes that put the book over the top for me. Maggie's creativity, Rogan's commanding persona, along with his comforting patience made a devastating combination.

The cast of secondary characters only added to the richness of the story, and there's at least one small yet strong secondary love story for readers to savor. What especially appealed to me about Maggie's mother was in the lack of resolution of their battles, which rang true to life - after all, not everything can be tied in a package with a neat little bow. Maggie's sister Brianna was more difficult for me to care about and seemed too much like a doormat, but whether that's because I was seeing her through Maggie's eyes or because Brianna becomes stronger in the second book of the trilogy, I am not certain.

I am certain that Margaret Mary and Rogan's love was definitely born in fire, but that Rogan's patience and skill will allow the fire not to consume them in a quick fit of passion but to burn slowly for the rest of their lives. This is one wonderful hero! I greatly anticipate the next books in the series and can only hope that Brianna finds a man who completes her as well as Maggie did.

This is the first part of Nora Robert's "Born in" trilogy.
1. Born in Fire
2. Born in Ice
3. Born in Shame
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2014
Ok so I'm going to just put it out there and say that I never really 'got' the Nora Roberts mania back in the day. My book club raved over her and bought every book she ever published but I remained 'iffy'. Out of desperation and lack of good material here in Europe, I began reading some of her books again recently but never caught the bug until this series. Finally I've had a glimpse of what my friends really enjoyed about her writing; earthy, real main characters that the reader can relate too. The writing allows the reader to imagine the very vivid scenes the author creates. I don't consider myself to be artistic, yet I can appreciate the art in this book. The h in this first book is not a particularly likeable character but she is someone to be admired and respected. The H is unique and the absolute ideal in terms of a romantic hero. I fell in love with the characters and just had to read more about this wonderful family.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2005
Maggie Concannon is a glass artist and a free spirit who lives alone in a small cottage in Ireland, just concentrating on her superb glass blowing skills while trying to block out the eternal carping and whining of her mother who lives nearby with Maggie's sister Brie. When Maggie is offered an exhibition in a Dublin gallery by breathtakingly handsome Rogan Sweeney, she fights against an instant attraction but soon succumbs, accepting him as a lover but refusing to tie herself down in marriage. The book describes magnificent scenery in France and in Paris itself, but is mainly concerned with steamy sex scenes on floors, couches, beds and almost antwhere else convenient. It's the first in a trilogy and seems to have captured the imaginations of vast numbers of readers, so who am I to quibble?
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2005
this is the first in the "born in" series by nora roberts. it tells of the romance of maggie and rogan.

maggie is a red-headed irish girl who's tempermental, candid, brash at times, sexual, and afraid of marriage. she's a gifted glass blower who is on the cusp of stardom, although she's not aware of it yet, living in a small town in ireland.

rogan is a black-haired hunk with blue eyes and a focus on his business. he's the opposite of maggie in that he's more emotionally controlled, holds his tongue more times than not for appearance sake, is uncomfortable with the idea of losing control sexually (at least initially), and values marriage over just a sexual relationship. he is immediately enamored with maggie's artwork and wants to display it in his galleries. the conflict begins when he wants to take control and she doesn't want it because she's always controlled everything in her world up until then.

i loved maggie because she was comfortable with her sexuality and was committed to her art. she was outspoken and didn't hold her tongue if she felt something needed to be said. there wasn't any coy games going on with her when it came to rogan. she let him know early on she was interested in him sexually.

it was really cool watching rogan lose control of the situation, when he was so used to having control over every aspect of his life. i loved how the two characters came together sexually, too. it was definitely HOT, although i wish roberts had spent a little more time describing more of the interludes.

and the banter between the two was hilarious. maggie had an uncanny way of getting under rogan's skin, and the arguments between these two were almost as entertaining as the sexual encounters.

there were a few weak points of this book, though. for one, there was an unnecessary amount of time spent on them at work. while i understand the need to educate the reader on the process of glass blowing, sometimes i found myself wanting to skim over it so i could get to the interaction between maggie and rogan. i wish there had been more of it in the book. it wouldn't have been a bad thing if the storyline was interesting when they were apart, but it really wasn't. the only time it got interesting outside of the romance was when maggie and her mom were going at it.

if you want a strong female character who's funny and knows what she wants and like the idea of watching a man's control unravel, and you like reading about spontaneous and heated sexual encounters after reading uninteresting stuff for about thirty pages prior, this is the book for you. i thought it was aiight, but i'm not pressed to read it ever again.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2014
I have read many of Nora Roberts books, as well as others as I am a romance novel enthusiast. Well, I have to say, this trilogy is probably the best I have ever read. I read the book and then the second and then the third in three days because I couldn't put them down. The story in each one carries over into the next so that you can't wait to see what happens next. All the characters add to the story as a whole as their new individual family units are built.

I love the women in each book as they are all so brilliant, albeit in different ways. I applaud the author for recognizing the worth in all of them and how she makes you admire each woman for her own individual talents. The men in their lives are the stuff dreams are made of. She made you want to jump on the first plane available and go to Ireland . I want to go to meet a family like this and see a place like their little town.

Nora Roberts is a fabulous story teller and quickly hooks you in to the characters lives. The only criticism I have is that she never gives an epilogue to her stories. To me an epilogue is a wonderful element to a book and always gives such satisfying closure..

I don't care if this trilogy was reissued with new covers or new names. I am just happy they were so I didn't miss them 10 years later. Thanks Nora, for a wonderful story beautifully told.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2013
While this is an older trilogy, and that is reflected in the style of writing, the Born-In series has a roundness to it's characters that is lacking in many recent series. More reminiscent of the Dallas and Roarke series, these characters are developed throughout the series, with surprising depth.

Maggie and her "Jackeen" Sweeney have a tempestuous relationship that will remind Robb fans of the early "In Death" books, and Roberts fans of the Ardmore trilogy, but the interrelationships with secondary (future primary and true secondary) charaters distinguish them from those series, and there is a distinct theme throughout the book of confronting inner fears and demons - the less attractive forms of self, and the fears that prey on you when you acknowledge your own weaknesses, desires, and what you do to make it through the day. The fears you face when you take true stock of your self, and admit to yourself the traits you've chosen and the traits you think you may have inherited. Themes of family run strongly through her novels and this is no exception.

This is my personal favorite of the trilogy, as I related most strongly to Maggie over her sisters, but the series was a solid one, and a classic of Roberts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2016
Love the story line. The characters are wonderful. Keep this type of story coming. Ireland comes to life, the characters are so believable. This type of story can and does happen in our world. Very difficult to put down. One should prepare for a marathon reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse