Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$17.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 164 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 551 reviews
on March 22, 2017
This is such a good set. I ordered at the request of my wife (a serious Springsteen fan). We listened and watched and enjoyed the hell out of it. Imagine my surprise when, a few weeks later, we realized that we already owned it! I think it would be a fine idea if when you place an item in the checkout cart, Amazon would let you know that you already ordered it. In any case, one of these will make a fine gift.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2015
This is truly one of the greatest albums in rock and roll! "Thunder Road," "Backstreets," "Born to Run," and "Jungleland" are all amazing songs, while "Night" (my personal favorite on the album) and "She's The One" are very underrated songs. "Meeting Across the River" is a good song if you really listen to it (i.e. the vocals) and the soft trumpet adds to the feel. "Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out" is more of a fun song than a good song; you may like it but I don't care as much for it. If you actually listen to the vocals of all the songs and don't mind the extended instrumental breaks (they aren't even solos most of the time, just break periods; they add to the effect but can still be annoying). Highly recommended, especially for people new to Springsteen!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2016
We recently started buying CDs of our favorite albums from the 1970s and 1980s. We import them into iTunes, then export them as high quality audio onto a thumb drive we carry in the car for road trips. A real bonus when you buy certain CDs from Amazon is that you can them stream them from your Amazon music account. Bruce Springsteen is still great after all these years, and it was great to bring this music back into our collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2017
Candor from a world-class act. Springsteen has revealed the full depth of his character, a rare reality among persons in very visible public places. I raced through the book, with pleasure on every page and regretted only the discovery that this gifted man has been troubled by depression for much of his life. The book is well-written and free of lace and sugar; instead it deals with the hard truths of an artist's life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2015
This particular version of Born To Run is actually the first Springsteen related thing I ever bought. I bought this last year, and I was really pleased with this release. I enjoyed the album itself, but I really enjoyed the concert movie that came with the set. The documentary was interesting as well, and I plan on watching it again. If you’re thinking of starting a Bruce Springsteen collection, I would say start with this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2006
Without a doubt, the highlight is the DVD of the 1975 show in London. "Born to Run," the album, had put him on the cover of "Time" and "Newsweek" the same week in October, 1975, one of the very few times that has happened for a non-news story.

The publicity and hype generated by Columbia records was so overwhelming that there was a backlash: "Nobody can be that good."

So here we see his first show ever in the UK, playing to an audience of professional critics and amateur skeptics, people thinking, "hey, 'Rock and Roll Future,' this is the land of the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, The Who - who do you think you're kidding. No unknown kid from America deserves 'Time' and 'Newsweek.'"

The show begins in almost total darkness, a piano softly plays, then harmonica, and a soft spotlight lights the kid from New Jersey who sings "Thunder Road," accompanied by only piano. An unknown song at the time, "Thunder Road" has become a Springsteen classic. IMHO, especially given the expectations, it is a perfect understated opening.

The DVD has the entire show, including everything from the hard rock of "She's the One," and "Born to Run," the song, to a much slowed down version of "For You," an underated sleeper on his first album, "Greeting From Asbuty park, NJ." Bruce accompanies himself on the piano and I swear, this version of "For You" is so beautiful it could be the scruffy New Jersey kid channeling god.

Any skeptic who walked out of this show thinking Springsteen was merely hype has no ears, no taste, or was xenophobic. The show gives more than a big hint that this Springsteen guy is for real, as a songwriter and performer, and that "Born to Run," especially, is an extraodinary album. There are only eight songs, but none are fill. Repeated listenings of the four corners of the album (before CDs) "Backstreets," "Jungleland," Thunder Road," and the title song are so good they become... well, addictive, works of genius, and lead to still more listening. "Tenth Avenue Freeze Out," "Night," and especially "She's the One" could each be the centerpiece of almost any other album. Even the whispered "Meeting Across the River," fits and helps the album become a coherent whole. The songs taken together are more than the sum of the parts.

As a footnote I'll offer the opinion that Bruce only wrote one other album that is as good as "Born to Run" and that is his next one, "Darkness on the Edge of Town." Everything he has released is good; a good bit of it is great, but I don't think anything else matches "Born To Run" or "Darkness." I don't know if two other back to back albums this good have ever been released.

The DVD of the show gives us a big early peek at the guy who would develop into rock's greatest performer. By 1985 he would be the biggest rock star in the world, selling out multiple nights at football stadiums.

The remastered CD is nothing special to my ears. Perhaps an audiophile could hear improvement. The DVD, "The Making of 'Born to Run,'" is interesting, but will probably appeal mainly to fans.

However the DVD of the 1975 London show ought to appeal to anyone who likes Bruce, or rock & roll, or showmanship, or history. Its a treat.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2007
Having been an impressionable fifteen year old when BORN TO RUN first ran, it's hard, thirty two (!) years later to adequately measure the impact this album had. The changes it wrought in the young people who first heard it were very nearly on the cellular level (that's biology, not telephony, you 21st century yahoos!). The only reason that BORN TO RUN did not acquire near biblical status amongst my immediate peers was because Springsteen was a Jerseyite, not a Long Islander (that's "Lawn Guylander" to you, man), and while bopping back forties in the schoolyard at night and choking down red-pack Marlboros by the handful, we still managed to sneer a bit at "B.S.", that yokel from the swamplands that stretched "from the coastline to The City."

Of course, even the sneeringest, the most Billy Joelic, Good Ratsish, and Twisted Sisterite of us couldn't deny that Springsteen had created a work of aural cinematography with BORN TO RUN. Virtually every song is not only memorable but visceral in a way that rock albums have not been for so long since then. Sure, those New Jersey people obviously lived in hog pens and drank budget beer, but just like us, they dreamed of taking Dad's old Musclecar ("Hemipowered drones") on a 120 MPH rip down Route 80 toward the setting sun. Go West, young man. Go West.

And yet, there's more here than wish fulfillment. There's real depth. When Bruce sings of the "skeleton frames of burned-out Chevrolets," he unconsciously echoes Allen Ginsberg in 'Sunflower Sutra': "Jack Kerouac sat beside me on a busted rusty iron pipe. 'Look at the sunflower,' he said." Springsteen gave us our own flowering in the sun.

BORN TO RUN spoke so loudly and meaningfully because it spoke so universally. Trapped in seemingly dead-end suburban small towns (just within sight of the New York skyline, but oh, so far away) we wanted so desperately to run, we dreamed of hearing that long, mournful train whistle blow, we wanted Dylan's vision of the soul in BLOOD ON THE TRACKS, but we also wanted the brash unrestrained energy of Bruce S. on a hot, neon-encrusted night.

A Shaman with a guitar, he gave us visions: "...She dances across the porch as the radio plays." The blonde wore Wayfarers. Her name was Wendy. Or Mary. Or maybe it didn't matter as long as "her eyes shone like the Midnight Sun. She was the one."
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2008
You can't miss this one, even if it is for the excellent 90 minutes documentary. The album itself we all know, but a remastered version is always useful.

The show at the Hammersmith Odeon, 1975, is also obligatory, since it's the only official DVD release of the E-Street Band up to 2000! (line-up here was classic The Boss, Bittan, Clarence, Van Zandt, Federici, Tallent e Weinberg). Yes, it's dark and all, but it's still has satisfactory quality e sound is amazing.

The booklet also is very good, a work of art.

All in all, you can't skip this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2010
Happy 40th birthday, "Born To Run" by "The Boss" Mr. Bruce Springsteen. It was released August 25,1975.
After 2 moderate selling albums "Greetings" #60 and "Innocent" #59, this record surprised everybody, the hooks and the anthems were everywhere. Led by the new E-Street Band, Roy Bittan, Clarence "Big Man" Clemons, Danny Federici,Gerry Tallent, Stevie Van Zandt and Max Weinberg, Bruce and the boys would have 8 songs that still get played in concerts today. With classic rockers like the hit title track #23, "Thunder Road", "She's the One", "Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out" #83 and "Night", and the classic anthems "Jungleland" and "Backstreets". And the pensive ballad "Meeting Across The River". "Born to Run" hit #3 in the charts and they have never looked back. Saw Bruce perform the "Born To Run" album in St.Louis on his last tour, Awesome! Again Happy Birthday "Born To Run" 40 years old, today. One of rock's classic covers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
To me, this is one of the greatest albums in American rock history. It is the soundtrack to so many of us who grew up in blue collar families, working on and racing muscle cars around, trying to impress the girls. Yet it's not an album of frivolous fun. It's poignant, dark at times, and even a little haunting. It's a beautiful masterpiece and if you are getting back into vinyl, it should be one of your first purchases. The sound on this remastered rerelease is beyond exceptional.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here