Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Boy Meets World: Season 6
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
114
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 2, 2011
Following very quickly after the release of Season 5, Lionsgate put out Season 6 of Boy Meets World. These episodes are a bit strange compared to the more relatable stories of season 2-5, but they're still enjoyable. Some of the memorable moments include Rachel joining the permanent cast, Chet Hunter's death, Joshua Matthews' birth, and Cory's experiences in college.

Packaging is basically the same as the other 5 seasons as released by Lionsgate. There are 5 screenshots on the back of the box along with a basic summary of the season in text. As you can also tell from looking at the cover image, this season is the first to include more than Cory, Shawn, Topanga, and Eric on the cover. Jack, Angela, and Rachel join the others, and the picture is a nice image for this season. There is no episode listing anywhere on the set besides the DVD menus. Also note that this season has 22 episodes, which is a bit shorter than other seasons.

The discs have the same yellow-green background color as the main packaging insert and feature Cory, Topanga, and Shawn on discs 1, 2, and 3 respectively. The menus continue to feature the Season 4 theme song in the background, which is odd for this set since seasons 5-7 use a different opening song.

The episodes look great. This season was filmed in the late 1990s. It ran from 1998-99 on ABC's TGIF block. The transfer is as good as one would expect. The audio quality is also very good (again, keeping things in perspective).

The set loses 1 star for its lack of extras. I debated that because it's great to finally get this series out on DVD, and Lionsgate deserves tremendous credit for releasing seasons 4-6 in a 6-month timeframe (with 7 apparently looking at a September launch window). But as a standalone DVD product, release context notwithstanding, it does fall a bit short for its lack of extras.

Overall, by this point you're either buying these or you're not. If you fondly remember this series (which you likely do by the fact that you're bothering to look at this page on Amazon), this is a great set. If you never watched Boy Meets World, it's still a fun series to watch, but the real joy was watching it in the 1990s and literally growing up with Cory and the gang. For anyone who grew up in the 1990s, this is a fantastic piece of nostalgia that you should definitely pick up.

And as a final note, one of the last episodes on this set, "The Truth About Honesty," has the characters being honest with each other and exploring the ramifications of Cory's excessive honesty (at one point, he tells Topanga that whoever arranged her hair in the way she had it should be tied down and made to look at it). Eric brings a date to a party and he hasn't been honest with her about literally anything since the beginning of their brief relationship. Then, at the very end of the episode, he makes the outrageous and bizarre statement, "I'm Batman." This is the only truthful thing he tells her the entire time, as he was recently cast to play Terry McGinnis in WB's Batman Beyond animated series. Terry is the new Batman and replacement for Bruce Wayne. Thus, Eric, or more precisely, Will Friedle IS in fact Batman.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2011
The second last season of this classic 90's/2000's sitcom is finally going to be made available on DVD. There will once again be no special features but fans will be happy to at least own the episodes in decent quality. While the show does seem to trek along a more outlandish route than the coming of age relatability of earlier years, it nevertheless maintains a feeling of family and a sense of heart. These are the college years.

It begins where season four left off. Topanga has proposed to Corey and he says yes, when their friends and family have mixed feelings it leads the pair to elope. Topanga then has trouble saying some very important words. At the same time, Eric and Jack get a new roommate, and the writers get new story possibilities, with the addition of (new main castmember) Rachel. Many stories this season involve Eric and Jack fighting for Rachel's attention in various ways.

In the more relatable stories: Corey tries to take on more than he can handle at college. Shawn and Angela break up. Corey is concerned to find out that Angela doesn't consider him a friend. Corey worries he is mediocre. Corey worries that Shawn and Topanga might have feelings for eachother. Corey has issues with his engangement ring while out with the boys. Corey betrays Shawn's trust by publicly reading a poem he wrote about Angela. Eric gets a job as a mall Santa and gets everyone into the true spirit of Christmas while Corey and Topanga try to get Shawn and Angela back together. Topanga and Corey live together to test married life. Eric has an arc with an orphan named Tommy that helps him mature.

In some serious stories: Shawn and Jack's father (Chet) comes back to town but has a heart attack. Shawn and Corey head off on a soulsearching road trip in the aftermath of the heart attack. When the new Matthews baby is born premature the entire family faces a crisis, a touching moment finds Corey wanting the old free spirited Topanga back (in reference to earlier seasons).

On the sillier side: Mr. Feeny goes to college! Mr. Feeny, not long after, begins teaching college! Eric decides to broadcast his life from a camera in his apartment (a reference to a Jim Carey movie that many viewer's probably won't remember). Corey throws his mother (Amy) a baby shower that more closely resembles a bachelorette party. Corey and Shawn try to help Feeny win Dean Bolander's affection over her impressive world traveller ex-husband. Corey and Topanga's honesty pact begins to upset people. Corey has dreams about killing Shawn that have deeper meaning. The gang crashes a lavish wedding and Corey is offered a million dollars to marry the bride.

There is also the classic episode where seemingly cool Professor Stuart (Fred Savage) makes a move on Topanga, a move which prompts Corey to make one of his own. It all leads to a campus hearing debating Corey's explusion in which everyone tries to determine what really happened and Mr. Feeny realizes the kids are growing up and need to learn to fend for themselves.

Finally everything comes back around to Corey, Topanga and marriage. As Feeny and the Dean Bollander tie the knot, in the Matthew's living room of all places, Topanga's parents reveal they are getting divorced which throws Corey and Topanga's own wedding plans onto an uncertain path.

One more season left. Hopefully LionsGate delivers it as quickly as they did the fourth and fifth!
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2015
I was never crazy about this show, but watched it growing up as a kid because it was the only show at that 8pm -10pm time slot that offered laughter. Everything on TGIF's lineup was all sitcoms. The show had a great cast and Ben Savage was truly adorable (before he got that horrible nose job). It was great to watch such beautiful youngsters try to be comedians. Season 6 starts right after season 5's graduation episode and of course the marriage proposal gets dragged out all season like any other show.

I can't recall watching every single episode when this was on TV so I'm so thankful for the DVDs which give me an opportunity to catch up on what I missed. Seeing everyone brings back fond memories. However, like every TGIF Friday sitcom (i.e. Family Matters and Step by Step) this show fell into what every sitcom falls victim to and that's more "drama" and fewer "laughs". It's natural people grow up and have kids and all shows seem to go that route in the plot department (i.e. Sex and the City) and things just aren't that funny anymore and a sitcom suddenly becomes a "dramedy". Anyways, except more ridiculous slapstick in this season, more heart, and a few less chuckles. This season had death, and a baby born premature that could have possibly not survived, but this being a sitcom, the baby had life way before it was even born.

I'm almost finish with my BMW marathon and can't wait to get to the final 7th season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 21, 2015
Many Boy Meets World fans see a stark divide between the high school and college years, with the high school years being more about life lessons while the college years are more a little more crazy. While this viewpoint has some validity, one really has to remember that BMW was always kind of silly—I Once Was A Teenage Spy among a number of high school episodes. While the tenor of this show seemed to change with the college years, I think the argument itself is a little overblown.

This season had such terrific life lessons episodes such as Better Than Average Cory where Cory struggles with the idea that he’s not special that I connected with on a personal level. Other standouts include Shawn dealing with his father’s death, and the rather famous Everybody Loves Stuart where Corey hits the new popular teacher after he hits on Topanga and Mr. Feeny learns that he can’t protect them from the world anymore. From this perspective, the life lessons many people love are still here, one just has to dig deeper to find them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2011
a lot of fans of this fantastic show prefer the earlier seasons but after watching over again all the season six episodes im not one of those fans.i love season six the season had so much going on,the shawn and angela thing the death of mr. hunter,shawns search to find himself,the new baby,fenney getting married,the whole marriage on the rocks with topangas parents.most shows don't have this much happening in a whole series never mind a season.no im happy to say that season six of boy meets world is one of my favorites possibly my favorite.the episodes are well written and well acted,i really miss this show.brought me back to a different period in my life,perhaps this why we love these dvd collections of these classic programs.i can hardly wait for season seven .lionsgate needs a big round of applause for having the guts to finish releasing this great underrated show.thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2011
Episodes from Season 6 of Boy Meets World:

His Answer (Part 1)
Her Answer (Part 2)
Ain't College Great?
Friendly Persuasion
Better Than the Average Cory
Hogs and Kisses
Everybody Loves Stuart
You're Married, You're Dead
Poetic License: An Ode to Holden Caulfield
And in Case I Don't See Ya...
Santa's Little Helpers
Cutting the Cord
We'll Have a Good Time Then...
Getting Hitched
Road Trip
My Baby Valentine
Resurrection
Can I Help to Cheer You?
Bee True
The Truth About Honesty
The Psychotic Episode
State of the Unions

Hopefully this season has some extras (I really liked the commentaries in first couple season). If nothing else...just one more season to go!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Welcome to college. That’s right, after five years of watching the gang travel from sixth grade to twelfth grade (don’t ask), the main characters on Boy Meets World are prepared to go to college in season 6. This was the first full season I watched, and I remembered it being a bit over the top. What surprised me was just how serious the show was at the same time.

If you are new to the show, it follows the misadventures and misunderstandings of new college freshman Cory Matthews (Ben Savage) and his friends and family. That includes his longtime girlfriend Topanga Lawrence (Danielle Fishel), his best friend Shawn Hunter (Rider Strong), and Shawn’s girlfriend and Topanga’s friend Angela Moore (Tina McGee). There’s also Cory’s brother Eric (Will Friedle), who is rooming with Shawn’s long lost half-brother Jack (Matthew Lawrence). We also get next-door neighbor and teacher from sixth grade on up Mr. Feeny (William Daniels). Rounding out the cast are Cory’s parents Alan and Amy (William Russ and Betsy Randle) and younger sister Morgan (Lindsay Ridgeway).

Of course, before we can get to college, we must deal with the season five cliffhanger. The show picks up right where it left off as Topang has just proposed to Cory at their high school graduation. The reactions to that are decidedly mixed, and the end result almost leaves us with a wedding. Meanwhile, Mr. Feeny has retired and moved to Wyoming only to find himself drawn home, where he winds up teaching at the college where all the students are now attending. He’s also crushing hard on the school’s dean (William Daniels’ real life wife Bonnie Bartlett in a recurring guest star role).

While Cory and Topanga are now engaged, they move into the dorms down the hall from each other. Naturally, this means that Cory is rooming with Shawn and Topanga is rooming with Angela. Things get a little awkward early on when Shawn and Angela break up, but the gang soon learns how to still hang out as friends. Meanwhile, Eric and Jack get a beautiful new roommate, Rachel (Maitland Ward), who sends the best friends into competition mode trying to win their new roommate as a girlfriend.

Over the course of the season, Cory almost ruins his college career before it even begins, the gang learns that honesty can have its drawbacks, Eric turns Rachel into a star a la The Truman Show (this was 1998 and 1999 after all), a new professor (played by Ben’s brother Fred Savage) crosses the line with Topanga (in a PG rates way that fits the show), a new Matthews is born, and someone gets married.

As I said earlier, I remembered this season as being a bit over the top, and there is definitely plenty of that here. Most of it comes from Eric, who has descended to a level of goofy that would only work on a sitcom. Granted, he was never smart, but he seems to get dumber with each season. Not that Cory is far behind. He can overreact with the best of them, too, but he is still a great main character. The constant sub-plots involving Rachel, Eric, and Jack and the guys trying to impress their new roommate are a bit repetitive as well.

And yet….

About half way through this season, the show takes a turn toward the serious and hits us with one episode after another. It all starts when Shawn and Jack’s father comes to visit and has a heart attack, which sends Shawn into a tailspin. Then, when Amy Matthews goes into labor early, the baby boy is extremely sick and has to stay in infant ICU. In a storyline that actually shows some maturity in Eric, he become a big brother for a boy in an orphanage and then must make a decision when a family on the other side of the country wants to adopt him. It’s one thing after another, and I found myself tearing up as I watched many of these episodes.

Yes, the show still has laughs, but these storylines definitely make things more serious. But here’s the thing, I always wanted to go beyond the two episodes I was planning to watch every night. It was hard to stop because I had to see what would happen next with the characters. And I’d seen these episodes when they first aired, so I had very, very fuzzy memories of some of these storylines, too. Somehow, the more serious tone works.

Actually, I think it works because we like the characters. When these episodes first aired, I had only started watching in season 5. I still felt the pull to know what was happening to them. Now that I’ve watched the series from the beginning, I’m finding that my connection to the characters is even stronger, so I feel the pull more.

Obviously, that means the acting is sharp. The cast knows their characters, and they hit these scenes dead on. Whether we are supposed to be laughing or feeling, it is truly great.

I’ve got to mention the writers, too, who find that perfect balance between laughs and serious moments while fully bringing the viewers along for the ride.

Like the last few seasons, this is a bare bones season set. We get all 22 episodes on three discs in their native full frame and stereo sound. Nothing in the way of extras is offered.

If you are new to the show, this might be a different season to hook you on Cory and the rest. But if you have been enjoying Boy Meets World, you’ll definitely want to continue their adventures in season 6.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
Words can't describe how much I love this show. I've wanted to get all the seasons for a while and when I started looking around to see how much they were I couldn't believe how inexpensive they were on here! This show has it all, drama, romance, comedy; I love it. Eric's the best =)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2013
I am so excited to finally get all of the BMW Seasons! They were my favorite throughout my childhood and I still love watching them. What a great wholesome show compared to the others that are on tv these days. Gotta love the 90s!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2013
This is a purchase I made for my daughter. We love watching this show on TV but hate commercials. I purchased the entire series to add to our already large G-rated library. It is a wonderful program that allows you to spend 30 minutes per episode living with a wonderful family while learning valuable life lessons. This is a highly recommended series. Watch it without the fear of any inappropriate language issues or subject matter that might be offensive to any audience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse