Spring Deals Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno

Bravely Default - Nintendo 3DS
Platform: Nintendo 3DS|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:$41.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on March 4, 2014
When you start playing Bravely Default, you may definitely enjoy the visuals. The towns are rendered very well. The graphics are actually pretty good overall. You may also end up liking the optional mini games like town building, or can skip doing those if they're not your cup of tea. You don't even have to spend on the SP points but it's an option for people who would.

You might enjoy trying out all the different jobs the game has to offer. The characters aren't much other than Ringabel and Edea who will probably have the most enjoyable dialog going on in the game.

When I played the demo it was enough to get me into the full game. So I bought it. I loved it...then Chapter 5 and the rest happened.

Let me go into the mechanics of the game. In fact, people really enjoy these features. You have the ability to change difficulty and random encounters during the game. This is in fact fantastic. However, people probably don't realize why in recent localization it was put into the game.

Those later chapters I mentioned, are the reason these mechanics have been put in the game. Imagine having to be forced to repeat all your quests and not be able to turn off random encounters or you're stuck on a difficulty level that just makes you lose interest in the game.

I will try to keep it spoiler free but while I do understand on one level why the later Chapters go into a repetitive mode, I also feel like it was lazy development because of budget reasons. It should not feel like the last disc of Xenogears (if anyone gets the reference). When you play it you realize it doesn't feel like storytelling but more like lazy gameplay.

One other thing that is a bit baffling is when you are revealed more of the story, it makes you go "Really?" with some of the characters, even as entertaining as they may be. I mean you can pretty much read quite a bit of a spoiler by just reading D's journal.

If you can put up with that or are just very forgiving then you may feel my rating is a bit harsh, but I can't see in all honesty why so much wasted development in the later chapters of the game.
77 comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 26, 2017
If you are looking for a great RPG and loved the old turn based Final Fantasy games than you should pick this up. The game has a great story that fallows a group of teens that are trying to save the elemental crystals of the world.

The Job system is really great. The game doesn't do the usual class system like other games, Instead you have different job that you get as you go through the game. each job can be leveled up with any character you like. So if you don't like that job with that character you can change the job anytime. Each character has different base stats but the jobs can decreases or increase these stats and give them different abilities. This is great as different players can play the game differently with what jobs that chose to give the characters. The job system is one reason I really enjoyed the game.

The difficulty of the game isn't that bad and the encounter rates of enemies spawning can be change. So if you looking to to grind some EX you can change the encounter rate to +100% or you may just want to get to the next town without battling anything so you can put it at -100%. The encounter rate can be change from 100%, +50%, +-0%, -50%, or -100% which is really nice.

The battles are really fun as you have an ability called brave where you can defend and wait a turn up to 4 if I recall correctly and than do 4 attacks in one turn. This lets you pull of nice combos and get some nice damage out. You can even attack up to 4 time in one turn with use using brave but than you will have to wait that many turns.

So why do I give this 4 stars over 5. The reason is that its a really long time and if you want to know the whole story it can be a little bit repetitive. Other than that its a really great game and anyone who loves turn based RPGs should take a shot at this video game..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 24, 2015
This is a standard JRPG with characters who look prepubescent and the women are overly sexualized. One character is basically a rapist with an Elvis haircut and the other is a doorstop that can't muster more than 2 sentences before crying or groaning in depression. The main female lead is basically a sex doll with a one track mind and the other female lead is a ballbreaking harridan that is stubborn and annoying. The plot is a standard "save the elemental crystals!" one, and most of the tasks are repetitive: go to town, buy new gear, go to 3 floor dungeon, fight boss, return to town, get next quest, repeat. The plot itself is thin, but the art, backgrounds and 3D work to at least make each area novel and distinct. The battle system, based around taking turns one at a time or front loading and taking them all at once, then being left open for a few turns is pretty good. It allows you to blast through non-boss battles to get money or experience and there is strategy with boss battles. The jobs are all pretty good and you have to research and grind level each one to get the assembled perks that will make each character strong. It's fun to try the different combos and it's equally fun to be rewarded during a boss fight by slamming the big enemy with massive attacks....or suffering no damage because you found a good loadout! The only let down in the first half is the music. It's orchestral just to be orchestral and every single track seems to have to rattle your tiny little speakers with brass blasts and kettledrums. Most of the music is jarring and doesn't contribute to the atmosphere, at ALL. It's so annoying and repetitive that I turn it off and listen to other music on my stereo system, instead.

Where the game gets its negative star is after Chapter 5, where you basically run out of story and get into Mega Man-styled boss fight repeats. That's it. You just fight bosses you fought before and get one or two sentences of extra text out of them. You then fight combinations of bosses you fought before....and after all that, you get to fight a unique boss and I assume the game is over. I got through the first 3 boss fight repeats and then this game got put away. It is the HEIGHT of laziness and an insult to the players to make repetitive boss fights the entire second half of the game. If 40 hours was all you had, then so be it. At least that 40 hours was 4 or 5 stars based on fun. Grinding old bosses over and over is NOT FUN.

I will probably end up trading this game for something else, since I already finished the story that I started. I will watch the "good" ending on YouTube and save myself another 45 hours of worthless gameplay.

This game is like an 8 course meal where the first 4 courses are delicious and the second 4 courses are soup bowls filled with vomited-up remains of the first 4 courses. NO THANK YOU.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 19, 2017
A throwback to the classical era of JRPG on the SNES, Bravely default has been out now for some time. It's currently out of print, so your best bet is going to be getting this used until Sqenix/Nintendo decides to make more or possibly bundle this game together with Bravely second (sequel also released on the 3ds) on the Switch. Fingers crossed!

Interesting, quirky characters keep the simple-enough story plotting along. The storyline is very much Final Fantasy for the NES, at least at the beginning. Dialogue is well written, and will frequently put a smile on your face just by the goofy nature of a few characters.

On gameplay- this game has enough depth in its combat to keep you gripped for the dozens of hours it will take to finish. Each character in your party will be able to change jobs, ie class, inbetween battles. Each job is leveled up individually, and you'll be rewarded with cool dynamics between primary and secondary active and passive abilities. The braving and defaulting system is also a cool way to reward knowledge of fight dynamics and windows of opportunity.

Overall, if you have so much as a passing interest in JRPGs, you've likely already at least heard of this game. If you havent, try to find this !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 23, 2018
Not a USA copy. Had a sticker over the U.A.E., Saudi Arabia, Malaysia, Singapore logo. The cart was also loose in the case.
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 4, 2014
Bravely Default is Final Fantasy for those of us who are tired of random encounters. This game comes with many options to streamline gameplay (such as the ability to turn OFF all random encounters). You still have to grind to level up but now you can do it on your own terms. The game has a vast array of jobs with endless skill combinations. The voice acting was fun, and the graphics felt right for this type of game. The world is a little small for a RPG of this caliber and the game gets VERY repetitive in the last 1/3, but this is still one of the BEST games for the 3DS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 1, 2014
This is the best classic Final Fantasy style JRPG in a long time. Sure, some of the characters are annoying, and the last chapter is a piece of trash, but everything else about it is fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 14, 2017
delivered on time, as expected. Good purchase! Have not played the game yet, but i'm sure the game is fine and that there are no issues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 26, 2016
Excellent price and fast shipping!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 29, 2015
This is what happens when you get classic Final Fantasy style mixed with FF Tactics job systems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 31 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here