Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Platform: Nintendo 3DS|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:$47.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 513 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 626 reviews
on July 26, 2017
If you are looking for a great RPG and loved the old turn based Final Fantasy games than you should pick this up. The game has a great story that fallows a group of teens that are trying to save the elemental crystals of the world.

The Job system is really great. The game doesn't do the usual class system like other games, Instead you have different job that you get as you go through the game. each job can be leveled up with any character you like. So if you don't like that job with that character you can change the job anytime. Each character has different base stats but the jobs can decreases or increase these stats and give them different abilities. This is great as different players can play the game differently with what jobs that chose to give the characters. The job system is one reason I really enjoyed the game.

The difficulty of the game isn't that bad and the encounter rates of enemies spawning can be change. So if you looking to to grind some EX you can change the encounter rate to +100% or you may just want to get to the next town without battling anything so you can put it at -100%. The encounter rate can be change from 100%, +50%, +-0%, -50%, or -100% which is really nice.

The battles are really fun as you have an ability called brave where you can defend and wait a turn up to 4 if I recall correctly and than do 4 attacks in one turn. This lets you pull of nice combos and get some nice damage out. You can even attack up to 4 time in one turn with use using brave but than you will have to wait that many turns.

So why do I give this 4 stars over 5. The reason is that its a really long time and if you want to know the whole story it can be a little bit repetitive. Other than that its a really great game and anyone who loves turn based RPGs should take a shot at this video game..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2017
It's a typical JRPG story with amazing features such as the ability to take multiple turns at once (braving) or defend (defaulting) to build up turns, 4 times battle speed (which skips summon animations), encounter rate control (0-200%), autosave on zone transition (even floors and buildings, keep it on), a log of every cutscene and chat in case you forgot what happened, and an amazing soundtrack (especially the battle music). It can get a little repetitive in the middle even with the side quests, but after that they start throwing multiple bosses at you at the same time instead of just drip feeding you story and it becomes interesting again. There are two possible endings but you can do both on the same save file. After you finish one it brings you back to before you made that choice so you can see the other ending. So don't worry about not saving just to see the other ending without going on youtube. Also there's optional bosses from streetpass and "netpass" (so you don't need friends that have it) that can be very difficult, harder than the final boss (which is no joke even on normal). Also, difficulty is just for your own sake. You lose nothing (no exp, money, job points) by just playing on normal instead of hard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
I have a love/hate relationship with Bravely Default. My breakdown looks like this:

pros
-----
- Beautiful music & graphics. 3D is also well done.
- Some great mechanics in battle. I enjoy the brave and default mechanic, the Norende mechanic, as well as the job system.
- Provides a good challenge and an engaging story
- You can enable/disable random battles, which saves a lot of frustration

cons
-----
- The dungeons are downright boring. Every single dungeon in the game is exactly the same format, flat, and provide little variety.
- Tons of fetch quests. "Go here! Now...go there! Now, go back there!" This is lazy game design.
- Speaking of lazy game design, much of the game is driven by "Hey, this book I got says go there. So let's go there." Seriously, half of what you do in the game is because a book told you so, not because the story gives you any reason to do it.
- The "Nemesis" mechanic is completely broken. I'm level 45, and have only level 99 nemesis to fight in Norende.
- Some framerate issues with 3d enabled
- Ringabel is a womanizer and a perv. Yes, we get it. Every single scene throws this in your face.

One thing to keep in mind, is that this game is -not- easy. Taking a page from RPGs of old, bosses will often be much more difficult than the standard enemies you encounter before them would make you believe. Every boss will force you to stop and reconsider your strategy. Fortunately the game gives you enough options, with the diverse job and ability system, to prevent this from being a mindless chore.

Will you enjoy Bravely Default? Well, if you don't mind random battles and you enjoyed RPGs of old, then I think you will. There's a lot preventing this game from being one of the best, particularly the mind-numbing dungeons and some lazy game design, but that doesn't stop it from being a memorable adventure to partake in.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2017
There are many things to love about Bravely Default:

* The turn-based combat system with a twist.
* The ability to change the difficulty to suit the needs of the player (which includes the ability to increase, decrease, and remove random encounters temporarily.)
* Beautiful artwork and music.
* Various job classes to experiment with and enjoy.

The game looks (and feels) like an upgraded version of Final Fantasy V, and I've enjoyed playing it immensely.

There is some dialogue in the game, however, that makes me reluctant to give it five stars. Many fans have argued back and forth in regards to certain comments made throughout the game, and whether they could be viewed as sexist. I am not a very sensitive person, and typically I will not notice such things. That said, there were times in which I felt irritated, and even slightly uncomfortable, by some of the comments made in this game. I do not wish to scare people away from this game - mechanically, it is one of the best RPGs I have played in a long time. However, I wouldn't feel right reviewing this product without giving fair warning regarding this issue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
Very pleased with the game. The characters are great and the dialogue and interaction between them were very well done. This is even extended to the side characters not just the 4 heroes of light. The battle system is really good and the ability to mix and match job abilities is great. It allows for some creative mixes. The presentation is also very done, the music, graphics and art were all to my liking. The 3D is also well integrated and extends beyond the typical 3d dialogue boxes from a lot of 3DS games. The ending does get repetitive which is why I removed one star. On the bright side with each new cycle come's new dialogue for the existing characters in the world. This enables you to learn more about the story, characters and the world you are in. It also enables you to fight harder bosses and combination of bosses. The final repetitive cycle has a boss rush mode which is a great challenge for any of those up to it. The optional bosses in the Norende side game are also very challenging, I would say the most difficult by far. However one is just overly cheesy and I didn't like that. If I were to sum this game up in one line is that it's really a back to basics Final Fantasy, except its called Bravely Default.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2015
I'm in love with this game. Unexpected gem I found here.
It is a Japanese RPG, expect a typical save the world story with all the cliches that japanese stories normally have. The art is from Akihiko Yoshida and will feel and look like Final Fantasy Tactics with some world structure that will remind you of Final Fantasy 9. It has a Job system similar to Tactics but the fights are much more like turned based random combats.

It has all the nostalgia elements in a very well crafter universe. If you enjoyed the PSX era with all the oriental RPGs, you will fall in love with this game.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2014
Bravely Default is a hard game to rate, because it's such an inconsistent experience. The game plods a bit in the opening acts with a plot that relies heavily on JRPG tropes and little strategy involved in combat; however, the job system keeps things interesting enough to stick around, and the ability to modify the rate of random encounters and set the characters to fight battles automatically makes it easy to grind a few levels while watching TV (I'm not sure if this is a positive feature or a problem, but it makes it easier to rush through boring parts). Somewhere around the middle, the plot begins to twist in interesting ways that actually challenge some of those tropes, and combat starts to require a bit of planning and strategy. By this point, you will have unlocked most of the jobs available in the game, which allows for a great deal of customization. In the latter acts, the game gets extremely repetitive, and taking the time to complete both endings provides little payoff in the form of additional story. While I love the way that Bravely Default rehabilitates some gameplay elements from older Final Fantasy games, the 80+ hours of gameplay it took to get both endings was excessively padded with repeated boss battles. I was also bothered by the insertion of a "pay-to-play" system, which is the last thing I want to see in a mainstream RPG.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
After Chapter Four, it constantly repeats itself until Chapter 8! What the heck? I was tedious at best. The ending is only a shocker if you have lived under a rock for years...This is not the best that Square Enix has to offer. I have no idea why everyone things this is so good...Its not. Now, it is not a total failure ...but it is annoying.
There are good parts of the game ...so it is not a total wash ...but I think they ruined it with constant repetition...I got to a point where I just could not wait for it to be over....and I put in 127 hours... I got to level 99 and got all the job asterisks...but in the end ..it was not worth that amount of time to play the game.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
This game surpassed my expectations in every possible way. I am about 30~ hours of play time into this already (according to the save game time clock) and according to friends am not even half way.

The sheer depth of content here is astounding. There are the usual things that we have come to expect from SquareEnix like jobs and elemental damage weapons, magic etc, but then they do interesting things with Special attacks by weapon type, and some of the jobs are not classic at all (I don't want to spoil it for you).

The game itself starts very old school (think FF4 or 5) and then opens up to what feels to me like a combination between Golden Sun and the classic Final Fantasies with a few twists here and there.

The battle system (for which the game is seemingly named) has 2 interesting mechanics, Brave and Default, which allow you to store up extra moves, or move extra times per turn based on a BP counter which can go between 3 to -3 depending on what you are doing. At first this seemed a bit shallow to me, but turned out to be of MAJOR strategic importance, but also seemingly makes the battles with stronger opponents a bit more forgiving (I find myself spamming a lot of heals at the same time for example).

There is also the "social" aspects to the game, thankfully are not tacked on, and honestly don't even require you to have friends on your 3DS (although it makes it better). You have the ability to "Summon" a friends attack which is quite frankly the most game breaking mechanic I have seen in a long time, but at the same time, you can't use it that often (only one summon per friend per street pass basically) so it doesn't allow you to piggy back your super leveled friend to the final boss. What it does do is get you out of pinches now and again if you feel like you want to use it, and can often help with some of the battles that are REALLY tough.

If I had to make a single complaint about the game, it is that the battle difficulty does not progress linearly or even continuously. Some bosses (and I tried to do the side quests in order so far) are WAY harder than others, and there doesn't seem to be much rhyme or reason as to which is which. You can fight a boss that will stomp you, and the immediate next major boss fight will be easy. But this is a small gripe on the whole.

This game is down right amazing, and is honestly the only 3rd party game I own on my 3DS. If you are a fan of classic RPG style games, or are looking for a nice long game with strategic depth you can sink your teeth into for a long time (and have already beaten Fire Emblem a few times) this is a must own.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2014
While it's called "Bravely Default" it's really a Final Fantasy game. The overall gameplay and battle system is one of the best that you can get on all systems. The hand-drawn backgrounds are gorgeous, especially when you stop and let the background pan out you can really see just how good looking the backgrounds are.

I cannot emphasize enough just how good the battle system is. The ability to mix and match the support abilities while having job commands from two jobs at once really makes the game play flexible and to be able to create some of the deadliest battle combos in the game. For example the pirate class has the highest strength in the game, but one of the lowest accuracies. You can work around this by getting the hawkeye skill from the ranger class to increase accuracy, and also getting the dual wield skill from ninja to be able to dual wield axes with no penalty for dual wielding. This will enable you to do extremely high amounts of damage, but this being one of the only few examples of the flexibility of the job system.

Some of the bad parts of the game are just how corny the dialogue can get, but Ringabel and Edea are by far the most interesting and fun characters in the game. Some parts of the game do indeed have some difficulty spikes and chapter 5+ does tend to get a bit of a drag. With that said, I found the difficulty spikes to not be that hard to deal with, but more to be about how to prepare for each dungeon/boss, as certain team make ups are good for one encounter, but extremely bad for another. It's all about preparation, and your party will be wiped out if you don't (unless you're playing on easy).

Overall, Bravely Default is one of the best RPG games on the 3DS and joins the likes of Fire Emblem Awakening and Shin Megami Tensei IV as one of the "must-owns" among 3DS games.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 31 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here